We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice management who go the extra mile”
Review of The White Heather

The White Heather
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Market Rasen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Heather
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was part of a group that had planned to attend to a charity event at The White Heather. When it was cancelled (due to lack of bookings and so no fault of the restaurant) the management not only refunded our payment but very kindly offered our party a free lunch which we enjoyed on Sunday.

In a previous post someone said that they had had a very good experience "by Lincolnshire standards" I travel widely and I can confidently say the meal that we had on Sunday was very good by any standards!

I was very impressed that the management went out of their way to do the right thing and I would be happy to book an event there knowing that they will really do all they can to give everyone they deal with a positive experience.

Well done and thank you!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank UKChrisM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We got married here in 2010. It was a very nice venue that we found was ideal location for my family and my husbands family being situated between the two.

The venue is one you can truly make your own and is spacious, comfy and stylish all in one. They have many people on hand to help, the wedding organiser, the chair covers lady, food and packages to suit all needs.

We had the hog roast with many luxury salads to accompany and it was just divine.

We had a chocolate fountain for after and again there was endless supplies of things to dip in.

A huge mention to Valerie the wedding organiser that we had. Although didn't use her full services, in fact hardly any, she was very willing to help to loan a stand for our home made table plan, set up our tables as we had described, and displayed our home made table centres and extras beautifully.

The venue has a great toast master, bars and all the staff were helpful. The in house dj was good he catered for our needs and he was very well dressed (we have been to other weddings with a dj in his old jeans and T-shirt in very expensive venues!)

In the morning we had breakfast in the room we got married. The sun was Beamon in the big orangery windows, the food was plentiful, the table had been beautifully laid and as there was only my husband and I we felt very much like VIPs it was a great way to end our experience.

The only slight thing that was a shame is the jacuzzi bath didn't work and we weren't told this before we moved into and set up our room.

A wedding venue that is very accommodating and was a magical wedding venue with gardens to have photos if the weathers nice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ritmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Had a family Sunday lunch and found the experience to be very good by Lincolnshire standards. The setting is quite stylish and makes a nice change from some of the competition in these parts. The food was plentiful,, hot and perfectly cooked and you really don't need two courses unless you haven't eaten for some time. Great value, nice service and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Harry Metcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First time i have been here, impressed. Pleasant and welcoming. Plenty staff behind bar and quick service, plenty beers to choose from. Large area outside to have a break and a fag if you smoke. large grounds. buffet, simple hot stuff, buns, bacon, sausage, mushrooms... excellent. good large dancefloor. all round good night.

Room Tip: taxi from lincoln is around £20 - only 3 rooms available to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebigcahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We visited this Restaurant as a family on Sunday 22nd April for their Carvary lunch. It was busy, we had a drink in the bar first, then were showen to our table.

Plenty of waiters , all of whom seemed young but very friendly and helpful.

The starters soon arrived and were very good. We then made our way to the Carvary and met by one of the chefs, who have to say was not that friendly and the meat portions not generous. That said the vegetables and potatoes were varied in choice and looked good.

Once back at the table we soon tucked in, the food was as tasty as it looked and the beef very tender, all in all very good.

We were too full to tackle a pudding! We opted for coffee and a chat.

The only niggle I would have is that as we sat chatting, the remainder of the tables and chairs around us were cleared and carried away leaving our table the only one in the middle of the dance floor - in fact a short while later two sofas passed us by along with other pieces of furniture finding their way into the function room. It kept us amused....

All in all a very good lunch, would recommend and certainly feel we will visit again.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Jimbob1393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went to a do this weekend. It's been the 2nd time for a party there. Venue is lovely and the food was 1st class. Although I do think the bar is expensive .

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellowbelly1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Market Rasen
6.3 mi away
Brampton Dales Farm
Brampton Dales Farm
#4 of 9 in Gainsborough
16 reviews
8.7 mi away
Advocate Arms Hotel
Advocate Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Rasen
276 reviews
13.2 mi away
Glebe Farm Apartments
Glebe Farm Apartments
#3 of 8 in Market Rasen
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
East Farm B&B
East Farm B&B
#7 of 18 in Market Rasen
7 reviews
8.6 mi away
The March Hare
The March Hare
#4 of 18 in Market Rasen
22 reviews
8.4 mi away
Limes Country House Hotel
Limes Country House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Market Rasen
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Heather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Heather

Address: Caenby Corner, Market Rasen LN8 2AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Market Rasen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Market Rasen
Price Range: $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Heather is a family run business by business partners Jonathan Ellis and Karen Barton which strives to provide good quality food and a friendly service. We want to provide you with a day or evening to remember and want your event to be run your way. We pride ourselves in the relationships we have with our clients and customers and look forward to hearing from you soon. We can provide any event you require and can cater from 6 to 360 covers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The White Heather Market Rasen, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing