We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice little hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
durham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“nice little hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

stayed 2 nights on a travel zoo deal meal was first class. breakfast was exalent..rooms were fine. hotel 15 minutes from york we would stay at this hotel again. one thing though no hot water or heating on 2nd night due to power cut ,

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank durhambrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    642
    311
    144
    65
See reviews for
198
1,089
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

We stayed here on a Travelzoo offer to which we added a further meal. Overall we were not disappointed. The location is a bit remote with no village pubs or amenties within walking distance so if you like a drink in the evening the hotel bar is the only option. The bar is a bit souless but prices are acceptable. We were very impressed with dinner and breakfast with a good choice, plentiful food which was extremely tasty and well prepared, and friendly staff. Our room was not much above basic standard but it was fine for a short stay. Given the price we can't really see how people can find anything to complain about. York and Thirsk are easily accessible by car but be careful about York car parks - they are expensive! There is a park & ride a little way down the A19. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank galiniwilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and I spent the Christmas period there and were very pleasantly surprised after reading some of the reviews. We felt it was a conference centre disguised as a friendly hotel. Staff in reception, restaurant and bar were friendly and obliging. The food was excellent - varied and well cooked and served hot and quickly. The room was comfortable with plenty of storage space and the bathroom clean and large. Our tour company gave excursions each day so its isolated location was not a problem to us.

To hotels everywhere - PLEASE LOWER THE ROOM TELEVISIONS - we had cricks in our necks!!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank p00n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2011

Got good price for this hotel, and now we know why! On a par with travel lodges but the beds are smaller! Small rooms in modern extension not shown on website! Breakfast OK, dinner major disappointment as was the bar area. Staff friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deadlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2011

My hubby and I booked our stay as a Christmas present to each other via Travel Zoo and had hopes of a few days of luxury after the Christmas madness. The room was only a little better than the designed-to-be-basic Travel lodge we had used a week previously, the promised bubbly appeared to be more Cider than sparkling wine and the food was low quality and portions tiny. To add insult to injury, having declined a wake-up call we were woken at 6.30am by a reversing bin lorry outside our window.
On the up side, it was clean and cosy, the staff were friendly and helpful, York was great, and we enjoyed ourselves despite the initial disappointment. Will we return? I doubt it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlmcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Just spent 3 nights here including New Years eve, it was really great. Considering the reasonable price I paid to stay I was expecting an okay mini break, but I was pleasantly surprised by the hotel, the food was the best hotel food I have tasted ever and the staff were really attentive. The rooms were clean, tidy and modern, my only slight grumble would be to have sky in the room instead of free-view, but that's all. It's a short drive to York and I will definitely book again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superflyStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

Just returned from a 2 night break at Burn Hall. The food was very tasty and plentiful. The staff were very attentive, friendly and made our trip special. A very quiet and rural location but easily accessible to York. The hotel was clean and freshly decorated however the room was on the small side especially as we also had a fold away bed included for our young son.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Grotbags1048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
4.6 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
11.9 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Burn Hall Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing