We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, Comfortable and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
wales
1 review
“Quiet, Comfortable and enjoyable”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed in the Rydale Suite for the weekend. The rooms were comfortable, clean and had Freeview tv, hairdryer, iron and trouser press, tea and coffee facillities. Staff friendly and welcoming. The food was very nice with a good selection. The hotel is surrounded by trees and well kept grounds, in a quiet location. Would stay there again, in the future.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    665
    320
    146
    66
See reviews for
201
1,131
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West midlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for the may day bank holiday and had a lovely time. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpfull, the atmosphere was very comfortable. We stayed in a standard double room and not sure why it was called standard as there was plenty of room, heating, tv with freeview and the en suite was very clean and included a bath. The hotel throughout is furbished to a high standard and was a pleasure to stay in. It is situated about a 15minute drive to york centre where there are park and ride facilities on route for free parking and cheap return.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serenityj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

To say this hotel is isolated is an understatement! On first approaching it, it is worrying to see 7 ambulances parked at the rear until you find out it is the HQ of the ambulance service. The room we were in was very clean and presentable and the hotel in general is the same. The staff were also very nice and accommodating. If you happen to be in a bedroom at the front when there is a wedding on then you are unlikely to get any sleep. The evening menu was not great so I decided to look for somewhere to eat. I found a real gem in The White Bear Inn in Main Street, Stillington, about 4 or 5 miles from Burn Hall Hotel. The Staff were lovely and the menu was extremely varied, piping hot and great value. Breakfast at Burn Hall was an experience! We were served very strong, lukewarm coffee and when we went out to get our buffet style breakfast, they had run out of sausages, bacon and eggs. By the time we waited to get those and return to our table, our coffee was cold. Our room was apparently reduced by £49 to £70 for the night. There was NO way our stay was worth £70 much less £119. Will we go back? No we will not.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetlagged72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights dinner bed & breakfast with bottle of wine included with deal. Basic, clean, comfortable bedroom with tea & coffee making facilities. Great en suite bathroom with overbath shower, tv with freeview. The food was great both at dinner & breakfast and the staff were very helpful & attentive. Visited York, deffinitely reccomend using the park & ride service. Lunched by the river at The Lowther & had a short yorkboat tour on the River Ouse. The weather was glorious on the Saturday. Would be happy to use this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billmarScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Just got back yesterday after a lovely stay at this hotel, yes it is a fair way from york city centre, but very relaxing. The room was spotless and the bed sooo comfortable, plenty of choice at breakfast all in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnybelle2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I stayed here for one night after having my flight to Venice cancelled from Leeds due to volcanic ash troubles.
Overall, I must say that a certain things let me down about Burn Hall. It is located 20 minutes from York city centre and basically in the middle of nowhere, so guests should definitely have a car when staying. I booked a Double room on a Bed and Breakfast rate which was only £50 so a lot cheaper than other 'halls' in York. The room was very basic and travelodge-style, the bathroom was a lot nicer though and the room had tea and coffee facilities and lots of TV 'freeview' channels so it wasn't so bad. The hotel itself definitely has potential to improve, for example, the 'green' area in which the hotel resides could be made up in to nice grounds for the place- the 'garden' consists of one lawn with 2 chairs and some outdoor picnic tables. I feel that there was no hotel facilities and maybe building a pool or spa would benefit the hall - perhaps this is because the Hall is used mainly for conferences although there was a wedding occuring at the same time.
The restaurant food was lovely. It is £19.50 for a 3 course meal each course has 3 options, the food was very tasty and the service very good. (Not intending to be nitpicky but the atmosphere in the restaurant was lacking, in such a nice room tidyness was not a priority with chairs stacked allover the place as well as crochery, highchairs, tables and piles of mess everywhere which I'm guessing had been left over from the previous wedding. Also the radio was playing loudly which I'm sure is not what people want to be listening to whilst eating an a la carte dinner.) The majority of the staff were friendly although most made it extremely evident that they didn't want to be there - one even threw a hissy fit when we had problems with our restaurant bill - leaving me feeling slightly uncomfortable! Additionally, I had requested a room with a nice view of the garden and received a room looking on to an ugly building sight! - The hotel wasn't even full either!
Overall, for the price I paid for this hotel I would probably consider staying here again the next time I visit York, although I do believe that the hotel is not matching up to its potential.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _-rachella-_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancs u.k
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2010

Just arrived home from a weekend stay at this hotel and visit to York.The room we had was spotlessly clean and lovely and warm when we arrived after a long day in York.We ate in "Richardsons" restuarant and had a really nice 3 course meal. Staff friendly and helpful.Around 6 miles out of York-we used the park and ride which cost £2.30 each and was very hassle free! I would definatly return to this hotel and advise to check out special offers ( we paid £99 for b&b and 3 course meal with a bottle of wine- FOR 2 OF US!!!!).

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
9.3 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing