We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Institutional...... and out of date”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Could not possibly recommend this hotel to anyone. There are other, far better, options available at these prices. Needs to do much better. Bed unmade, showers/bath fittings did not work. Dirty trays lying in corridors for up to 24 hours. Food returned to kitchen - anything else?

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tartanpimpernel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,965)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,337 - 1,343 of 1,965 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We booked in to the hotel on a "deal", and were disappointed with the outcome. The Hall looks like a Travelodge, and is in need of an upgrade. The room was clean but seemed a bit fusty, and the smell from the bathroom wouldn't have been out of place in a hospital. Our friends had to change rooms because theirs was so bad. This same smell was evident in the main toilets near the bar and reception rooms.
We went down to the bar for our afternoon tea, but were told we could not have any at present because there was a wedding on. A bit later, others were still being served with theirs, and when we asked again, we were told no, the kitchen was too busy.
The bar was unbelievably busy too. Yes, there was a wedding on, but with one young man serving.
So, we nipped into Easingwold for an hour or so before our evening meal, but the situation hadn't improved when we got back. All credit to the barman, he wasn't flustered or anything. We complained at the front desk that he needed help, and he got assistance for a short while.
The food in the restaurant was OK, but very small helpings.
It seemed that everywhere was short staffed though, with countless tables full of empty glasses.
Breakfast the next morning was similar. Adequate, but the poor staff were frantically running about trying to clear plates, serve coffee, and re-stock the hotplates.
On checkout I explained about not getting afternoon tea, and the receptionist kindly reimbursed a round of drinks.
We had a reasonable stay, considering, but definitely won't be going back, or recommending to anybody else.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank percyneal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed 4th Feb. Executive room was plain. Room and bathroom VERY dusty. Ceiling all watermarked. Radiator broken and on full heat all the time! Corridors in darkness. Bathrobes stained. Breakfast was disgusting. Was very ill afterwards. Customer service below average.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank jozholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel was disappointing. The room was soulless it was clean and the bed firm and comfy. The room was too hot with no way of turning down the radiator. A wedding was being held both days we were there the staff were overworked but tried very hard. The tables in the bar and at breakfast weren't being cleared. Breakfast was slow and not everything was available.the staff needed more training and leadership.they were very casual but tried hard

Room Tip: Make sure there are no weddings guests were not considerate at 2am
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1959carol1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed for weekend as a birthday gift from my daughters . Bb&d also afternoon tea !!!!
Arrived at 12.45 for afternoon tea at 1pm which was the worst afternoon tea I have ever had . Just stale bread sliced into fingers . 2 hard scones with marmalade & cream . 2 warm profiteroles & 2 mini mini Ricky road slices & pots of lukewarm tea. & coffee very very disappointing ., There were other guests who asked for afternoon tea on day & theres was presented muchbetter .Also there was a wedding on in hotel which seemed to take priority . Rooms was not ready after 2pm and as we had booked on a deal were tOld by reception to come back later !!!! Complained about afternoon tea & was told we would be given a nice table in restaurant in evening . The nice table was next to a cream coloured wall splattered with food , evening meal was ok & were we given free bottle of wine for my birthday which was nice . Room was small but clean more travelodge than manor house . Breakfast ok & service was good .

Checkout : asked if stay was good . I explained about afternoon tea to which receptionist said it was because of the wedding !!!! I asked to talk to the manager but was told he was cooking & she never offered to go and get him . As someone previously said hotel needs to decide if it a hotel with guests or a wedding venue as obviously weddings take priority over guests .
Prob would not return or recommend

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned home from here. When we arrived we struggled to find a parking space so just had to abandon our car. Our room wasnt ready for us when it was supposed to be but we only had to wait an extra 20 minutes, i think the staff were kept busy by a big wedding. The room was lovely and clean. At night we struggled to sleep as the wedding geusts were extremely loud at around 2am and the room was boiling. We had room service for breakfast which was lovely and the receptionists were really nice throughout our stay.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The hotel needs to improve customer service and decide if it is predominantly a hotel that wants to delight guests or wedding venue, it cannot seem to be both? A weekend offer of cream tea, dinner, room and breakfast did not start well. The car park was full, the cream tea already over by 4 o'clock and the bar so full with wedding guests that you could not move. The dinner menu ample and the food was relatively good. The problem was that all three courses were delivered within 45 minutes not suitable for a romantic weekend but more a fast food chain. The waitresses were very polite but often forgot the cutlery. Breakfast was ample but again ruined by service issues. The bedrooms were small but clean, while the bathrooms were large a clinical. The cost of the weekend was reasonable due to a deal but if it had been full priced it would of been a different matter.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
15.8 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,781 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,684 reviews
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
12.4 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range: $60 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing