We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Great Food - a shame about the other guests!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Great Food - a shame about the other guests!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night on Valentine's day whilst on a short break to York. We got a great deal for £69 including our dinner and breakfast - so we weren't expecting luxury. I was aprehensive after a spontaneous booking and then reading some poor reviews. Upon arrival in dreadful weather conditions I was disappointed to find no parking spaces available. However, the hotel looked presentable and the check in staff were very friendly. It did feel a little awkwward to be checking in whilst someone was having their wedding photos taken in reception though! Our room was spotlessley clean, well equipped and tidy. The bed was comfortable and there was a hairdryer, tea and coffee facilites and basic toiletries. The bathroom was very clean although slightly dated but for £69 what can I say - we were happy. The meal in the restaurant was lovely - we would have paid the best part of £60 for the meal alone. A nice atmosphere, complimentary glass of bubbly and very friendly staff. Would eat here again for sure. The downside for us came at 2am when unfortunately we were rudely awoken by loud, abusive and aggressive guests from the wedding also going on in the hotel loitering around outside our room for the best part of an hour. There was shouting, swearing, altercations, crying and it continued throughout the night, depsite complaints to reception (who, for what it's worth came along immediately to try and sort it our but were met with a barrage of abuse!). It was awful and totally spoilt our trip. This theme continued during breakfast the next morning with guests there for a different wedding the next day. Unfortunately it seems the calibre of client who had their wedding at the hotel this weekend were not the best. I am just glad I didn't have children with me to hear the language being used. We couldn't get out of there fast enough in the morning, which was a shame as we had thoroughly enjoyed our evening. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat, but not when there is a wedding on!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the function room / nowhere near the wedding guests!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    666
    320
    146
    66
See reviews for
202
1,133
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

For Valentine's Day I booked a night here for me and my partner through LastMinute which included a standard room with dinner and breakfast for £69.
Before setting off I looked on here and saw countless negative reviews which made me panic!
When we arrived it was hard to find a place to park due to a large wedding taking place, but not a major issue. The receptionist was lovely and told us about the valentine's meal that we were entitled to that night (which should have been more than the average dinner).
Our room was the same size as a Premier Inn room and was perfect for just the two of us. The only issue was that the heating was on RED HOT all day and night, even when we tried to turn it off - but open the window and it's bearable.
The 3 course Valentine's meal was absolutely incredible, there was no complaints about the food and the staff made sure everything was good for us. As well as the breakfast in the morning, I would say to go as early as you can to avoid queueing at half 9 onwards.

One large thing I would say (nothing against the hotel) but the wedding guests that night (AT ALMOST 2AM!) were incredibly loud and were bashing against doors and walls (even though we were right at the back of the hotel!) and when I tried to ask them to be quiet, I was shouted at - so I called the receptionist and they attempted to calm them down and eventually they left. So it may be a good thing to ring and ask them if there is a wedding the night you're staying and if so, ask for a room on a higher level for a bit more peace and quiet!

Overall, I would say for two students struggling for money and wanting a break away from the world - go here! the issues we had were due to other people within the hotel NOT the hotel themselves, don't focus too much on the bad reviews because most of them are exaggerated! You never know until you try!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We booked a 2 night DBB deal with Superbreak for a reasonable price, we have stayed here a couple of years ago and it was horrendous.. What a difference a new manager and staff make... We originally booked as a family as we were taking our 23 month old and after reading some earlier reviews we were concerned about the size of the room and accommodating a travel cot, so I emailed ahead and asked if it was possible to have a larger room, we certainly weren't expecting what we got.. We had been upgraded to a suite which was 2 rooms so we had his and hers bathrooms.. It was lovely.

On our arrival the receptionist was very friendly and smiley, she directed us to our room and informed us about the hotel, we had to have our meal late as it was the only timeslot left but it was fine, our room was a little chilly when we went up to it but we switched the heating on and it was lovely and warm. We had a fruit basket in our room and bottled water, the room was spacious and bright and it was very clean.. The bed was one of the comfiest we have slept in other than our own...
We went down for a pre dinner glass of wine, however there was no one on Bensons bar, which we were informed that due to the daytime not being busy the hotel only send someone down to the bar when someone needs serving, which is no big deal it makes sense in the current climate than to pay someone to sit there doing nothing all day.. The wine was rather expensive but only the same as in any other hotel. The bar staff were lovely and friendly and asked about our plans while we were in the area, we then went for our meal, which along with the service was faultless..
My husband chose the poached pear and I had the soup which were both lovely and well presented.. Only thing to point out is the bread rolls could be warm, I had the belly pork and my husband had the beef brisket which were delicious, we both chose the burn hall mess for desert and we could probably have eaten the serving again it was lovely, we ate in the Garden room due to there being a whole coach load of noisy Argentinian school kids staying at the hotel for a sporting event, and although they were a little noisy and some were rather petulant it never ruined our stay at the hotel..
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice, although the juice was rather sweet, the staff again were lovely and pleasant, the service on our second morning was second to none.. Thank you Matthew!!! Our tea and coffee was cold so we asked for fresh pots and it was no trouble to the staff..
All in all it was an enjoyable stay and we will definitely be returning in the future, hopefully for the Yorkshire Ambulance Ball.. Just hope we get as good a deal and a big room again..
Many thanks to Matthew for a great stay, your staff are a credit to you and your hotel..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Burn Hall, which cost us £103.50 each for dinner, B&B, through Teletext holidays! It far exceeded our expectations, especially the quality of the food. Starters included mussells, poached pear and blue cheese salad, main courses beef brisket (delicious) and belly pork, neither of which were fatty. All the staff were very friendly and happy to help with local information. The room was a little on the small side, but very acceptable, bathroom very large! Our only criticism is that the whole hotel is over-heated, easily managed in the bedroom by opening the window/ turning off the radiator, otherwise impossible to sleep at night!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLJDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

A nice welcoming hotel with thoughtful and friendly staff. We did eat in the hotel one evening in the well appointed Restaurant, trying out a poached pear salad and prawn cocktail for starters and beef brisket and pork belly for our mains. It was a table d'hote and we thought it was good value.

The hotel was busy due to two separate weddings taking place on the Friday and Saturday nights but it wasn't noisy and we weren't impacted by the wedding parties.

The grounds were nice with a really nice water feature.

The only slight downside which means a four star rating rather than five was that we found it impossible to control the heating possibly due to a broken thermostat on the radiator. The room was therefore far too hot overnight.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian-Laura-staffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

On arrival we thought we were in for a lovely couple of days... How wrong we were.. We bought a 2 night stay through KGB deals.. The price was good ... The main areas of the hotel looked lovely but the room was very basic... The bed was so uncomfortable and creaky that neither of us slept.. And I could hardly walk when I got up! Also all we heard all night long were guests in the corridors..There was a wedding party booked in so it seemed that they could not cope with regular guests as well as that! On the first night we ate in the restaurant... The food was ok but we were left waiting for half an hour for the dessert to arrive.... Nothing special... The second night we ordered room service.. The food arrived ( a ploughmans with chips) .. No cutlery or condiments! I'm not a heathen! I was brought up to use cutlery not my fingers! We rang reception and they took the food away and replaced it with a ham salad.. Not what we ordered! But then when we brought that to their attention .. They couldn't do anything about it as The kitchen was closed! Not my fault! I'm utterly disappointed and upset as this was supposed to be a special occasion! We ended up with no food at all... What an unprofessional set up! I've stayed in cheaper and better quality b&b's! I would wholly recommend that you do not stay here.. That have no idea how to look after their clients!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNMOW, ESSEX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel looked beautiful so was a bit disappointed to find we were in the new block and not the main house. Good value for money. Rooms warm and comfy if a little compact? Staff very friendly and helpful. Good location for York but car essential.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TINA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
9.3 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing