We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Secluded retreat”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

First visit to the hotel,we found staff very helpful,breakfast was excellent.rooms clean and serviced well.Good for York ,weather was awful so could not enjoy the lovely surroundings of the hotel.
Downside was two consecutive nights when fire alarm went off,so had to stand out in the freezing cold,although not hotels fault,there showers are a problem if you leave the bathroom door open there was also a wedding and stag do on and some idiot had us awake at 5 in the morning to get access to his room..also as petty as this sounds,when we checked out we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay receptionist seemed rather fed up which is now my lasting impression.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an executive for more room and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey2469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    669
    326
    148
    66
See reviews for
205
1,144
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The package for dinner, bed and breakfast for two was remarkably good value and the bedroom was very clean and of a good standard. All the staff were very friendly but we did find that the restaurant was this hotel's weak spot. Firstly the decor is rather tired but leaving that aside the breakfast range was poor when compared to other hotels that we have stayed in. We made the mistake of asking for porridge which we were told was made to order - shortly afterwards it arrived not properly cooked (how could it have been in such a short period of time if it was made to order?) and only just warm.

The same problem with barely warm food was repeated at dinner and we had to send both meals back. The staff were very polite and full of apologies and we did get replacement meals but clearly there is a problem in the kitchens. Maybe the management have cut back on kichen staff?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Found this hotel through groupon ,so although a good offer it was just worth what we paid .
A clean basic hotel out of the way near York .Most of the people in the hotel had also used this deal some using the Park and ride to see York.
Rooms clean but basic We had to ask for a plug for bath and extra pillows.
Food was average in restauurant, A good atmosphere in the bar before dinner (Possibly due to Happy Hour) Also the bar did meals and I must admit they looked nice.

Room Tip: Room on 3rd floor overlooked some sort of area hidden from front unfortunately it spoiled our view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We love burn hall it holds happy memories of a special little dog who us no longer with us.
This visit is the fist as Tulip hotel and the first impression is poor.
The reception was manned by a guy who really was not warm welcoming or smiley. He did check us in ok and move our room as requested so not all bad.
Breakfast, staff attendance very lacking, blonde young man very attentive but the managers face gave away his frustration. We did witness a disruption in the kitchen to.
There is a good choice for breakfast and the poached eggs made to order we super. However there was a long wait to refil the breakfast station
But "gravy boats" as milk jugs.....!!!!!!
The rooms are clean, tidy and very warm but the quality of the loo roll and complimentary toiletries leaves a lot to be desired.
It's a shame that Tulip have seen fit to increase the evening meal prices without changing the quality of the food.
We booked as we have in the past on a groupon deal, not sure we would again and definitely would not pay full price. It's a shame about this as the setting is gorgeous and the location perfect for my partners passion...... Fishing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDee1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2013

An excellent hotel surrounded by lovely views. Stayed for 2 nights/3 days for our wedding. Staff are amazing and cannot do enough for you. Service at the bar and restaurant are very good. The hotel has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The food is AMAZING!!!!! Big compliments goes to the Chef and kitchen staff. A big mention to the gentlemen that were looking after us for our wedding - Scott and Tom. Very personable, helpful and going the extra mile to make sure everything went to plan. Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be back for our anniversary!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daznabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirknewton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Spent two days last week at this lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and although our room was basic it was clean and comfortable. The weather was cold but the hotel was warm in all areas. Good breakfast and hope to return in Sept.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just back from a weekend at Burn Hall for a friends wedding. Cannot fault this place for it's food service,staff and beautful gardens . The old part of the building is fantastic and lives up to all expectations. The only downside is the tiny Travel Lodge style rooms clean and tidy but very basic.Beds queenside and very firm. My 6ft 2 in partner had to duck to get wet in the shower, me well i'm 5'2'' and it fitted me perfectly !
That aside this place deliverd in spades for my friends wedding.The master of ceremonies and the rest of the staff worked so very hard and did a fantastic job well done .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wittytitteecomittee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
15.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
9.0 mi away
Best Western Crown Hotel
Best Western Crown Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boroughbridge
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#20 of 46 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing