We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than other reviews has me led to believe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I booked our stay at Burn Hall from a Groupon deal but after reading some reviews, I was very apprehensive about my stay. Cold showers, horrible rooms, bad service... Proceeded our visit. When we arrived,our welcome and check in was smooth. Our room was basic but for a basic hotel, it met my expectations. If anything, the bathroom was huge and very clean. We had a few drinks in the bar, which I have to say was quite pricey, my only criticism of our stay. The bar is small and there was a wedding on so a short wait for drinks but not frustrating. As part of our deal we had breakfast included which was lovely. Nothing spectacular but what else do you need from a selection of fruits, yogurts, toast and breads and a cooked breakfast.
Overall, it was worth the money and providing you're not looking for an extravagant stay, it was perfect, but then again it's not a 5* hotel so maybe some shouldn't set their expectations too high!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,987)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,575 - 1,581 of 1,987 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Hotel looks nothing like what is shown on the hotel website. First room was dirty and tv did not work. Second room a little better bt no hot water for the whole weekend. Service was terrible at breakfast. We wer never offered any hot drinks and the girl greeting had no manners. Waiter walking around with the towel shoved down the back of his trousers. This made us not want to even try eating in the restaurant for an evening meal. Definitely not value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Northeast1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We approached our night away with trepidation after reading some of the comments on here. We needn't have worried. Admittedly if I hadn't have already read on here about the new section looking like student accommodation from the outside, I would have been really surprised. The room and bathroom were spacious and spotless. The beds were comfy. We waited quite a while for the barman to appear in the bar but, when he did, he was pleasant and friendly so quickly forgiven :). The evening meal was delicious and breakfast was very good too. We were travelling with my sister-in-law and her husband and we all were nicely surprised at the quality of the food. I can imagine that if you were to turn up at a weekend when a big wedding was on then the experience could be very different but for a mid-week break it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

After reading some of the reviews, we were a little aprehensive of our wknd break. Yes there is a modern extension built on the side, this is where our room was. The dining room and bar are in the original building and have more character.For a 3star we were pleasantly suprised to find in our room, neatly folded bath robes and slippers on the bed, and two small bottles of wine and glasses on the dressing table with a dish of fresh fruit.The room was clean and modern , spare pillows, bathroom fine. No problems with shower going hot and cold as someone else had complained.Plenty of choice on the buffet breakfast and the evening meal menu was excellant, although no pricing was a little worrying. However it turned out at £18 for 2 courses which was good value for the high standard of food.Park and ride to York,not far.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bing734
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband booked this hotel after he saw the pictures as he knows I prefer the more traditional hotel. The pictures are quite deceiving as the hotel is very modern which was a bit of a let down to be honest. Although the room was spotless with plenty of hot water and very comfortable. I cannot fault the breakfast which was ample and cooked to perfection. On the whole it was a pleasant stay just not what we expected.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice enough place. Main facade of the hotel is lovely, though it did feel slighlty anti-climatic when you walked through to the 80's brick built extension where all the rooms were. I feel a little harsh giving it 3/5 but i couldn't warrant giving it a 4. Food in the restaurant was tasty and good value. We went via a Groupon, so can't complain as it was cheap as chips!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wheresmegoggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Admittedly a groupon deal but we still expected a little more from the "executive" room we paid to upgrade to. The building looks lovely but has a large, modern 'travelodge' type extension on the back. This is a really out of the way place down a long lane which wasn't suitable for walking. We spent over £40 on taxis to York and back on the first day as the 'courtesy bus' wasn't available due to no one being available to drive it. Nor was it available the following day. We also had ordered a newspaper which didn't arrive. The room itself was clean as was the bathroom however it resembled one from a run down care home complete with rails around the toilet and (very low) bath. The toilet was without a full seat and the sealent around the bath had black mould in it. There is no excuse to offer such facilities to anyone in 2013. We had no hot water for the entire stay and my husband had to boil a kettle to shave. The heating was on full blast all night without anyway of controlling it. We ate in the restaurant on our last night and it was very poor - reheated and greasy.

On the plus side - the bar area in the olde building is comfortable and quite relaxing. The staff were very friendly and helpful but the owners need to up their game and realise that tarting up corridors with a lick of paint and a roll of wallpaper is really not enough if you want to attract business this far away from York.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsM62T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
16 mi away
The Old Lodge
The Old Lodge
#3 of 4 in Malton
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
19.8 mi away
Best Western Forest & Vale Hotel
16.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirkbymoorside
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range: $66 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing