We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“york break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“york break”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

a very nice pleasant stay little mix up at reception on arrival about room rates but we ended with a reasonable deal evening meal was excellent on the first night second night we did a carvery and a show in the hotel very good meal with plenty of choice third night a great little chippy in huby 2 mile down the road fantastic cooked to order. rooms quite small and very hot as thermostats did not work in our room just turn them of at night cleaners where excellent thanks to Caroline and her hard working team. Scott and tom restaurant and bar mangers fantastic staff made you feel so welcome and looked after us for the three nights we where there and of course all there staff. location ideal for York and you must take advantage of the park and ride short ride to a busy car park jump on a bus 2 pound fifty bargain all day return its 2 pounds an hour to park in York its in a beautiful setting and would return maybe in the summer

Room Tip: check out your room before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elvis408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    665
    320
    146
    66
See reviews for
201
1,131
18
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked one night in a twin room using a Living Social Voucher and were not expecting too much given the price we paid. Also I had read some quite poor reviews. However we were delighted with our spacious warm bedroom with flat screen TV. We ate in the restaurant and received a free bottle of very nice wine. The food was very good and excellent value for money. So overall we couldn't fault this place and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I was browsing the LivingSocial website and came across this hotel which gave me an idea for my husbands birthday gift. I disgussed a few things with the hotel first then decided to book it for a night away. The hotel reception staff on the telephone were so pleasant and very helpful so I decided to take the risk and book it. £39.00 for two to share a standard double room with breakfast and bottle of wine if we used the restaurant, also i arranged for a room upgrade to a executive room as the suites were fully booked and this was a further £20.00 which i didn't think was too bad. Although it was early evening when we arrived the hotel looked very nice and tucked away off the main road so very quiet. Hotel reception was immaculately clean and again really helpful, but having entered the room there was no way it was an executive room so when my husband looked at the receipt it showed standard double, i went back down to the reception and she couldn't have apologised enough she explained the other rooms had been double booked but the standard double is all that was available, we agreed to stay in the room it was spacious and clean I think they had recently been refurbished, and they had already arranged for the gowns, chocolate and 2 x bottles of wine to be transfered which are complimentary in the other room. Also with deciding to eat in the bar rather than the restaurant she arranged the free bottle of house wine aswell. Food in the bar area was so beauitful and compliments to the chef and not too expensive either really made our weekend treat very relaxing. Following morning we dined for breakfast such a good choice from tea or coffee, fresh orange or apple juice, cereals and fresh fruit and yoghurt, toast and a full english and you just help yourself and go back as many times as you wish. Checking out was a little slow but everyone turned up at the same time but the receptionist handled everything efficently and made everyone feel at ease. I would highly recommend the hotel and wouldn't hesitate to return again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank teresabamforth07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The rooms are very compact and showing there age, admittedly Tulip have only recently taken over the hotel but I don't think they will be able to do anything about the room sizes without a major internal refit, we were very disappointed and seriously considered packing up and going home, we had booked what we believed to be a family room but there was a misunderstanding on the 3rd party booking website we used, we later found out they don't have family rooms and put a z bed in the room, this would have been fine if the bed had been in good order and there was room to put it. All in all my opinion is the staff try very hard with what they have to work with unfortunately the hotel itself just isn't quite as it seems on the website. More concerning to me is I feel Tulip have taken a step into the Travelodge market with the standard of the rooms here but tried to keep theIr pricing from the higher end hotels. I am sorry to say this is the worst night I have spent in a hotel for several yearsand at 90 pound's a night it is very overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mastertortiose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Our wedding was this November just gone and we decided to have it at the Burn Hall as it looked rather old fashioned on the outside but extremely modern on the inside which we liked - not so keen on the new name though, cheapens it a bit. However I'll go through the pro's and con's of our experience.

Pros.
- Firstly the space you get for the wedding breakfast/evening meal is incredible, the room is massive and was plenty of space for all our wedding breakfast guests. Also the meal for the wedding was gorgeous. Everybody commented on how nice it was and there was plenty of it - not that the men ate much before their speeches!
- Secondly, the toastmaster Tom was fantastic, he really couldn't have made the day better from fussy kids, to the annoying DJ (keep reading), to helping decorating, setting the xbox up and almost agreeing to do naked Gangnam Style, he really did make it easier to enjoy.

This review would have been 5 out of 5 if it had not been for a few issues.
- Firstly, after our DJ let us down the hotel were very good and booked us the in house DJ for the night which we were grateful for as it was short notice, however the DJ was incredibly rude to several of our guests including some children and when I (the bride) asked for a song he said he'd see about it which peeved me a bit.
- Also, when we were at a different hotel the day after, before our honeymoon, we had two people call us saying the hotel was calling them saying they hadn't paid in full for their room and that the staff were really rude to them. In addition to this, once back someone from my husbands work was saying they had drinks put on their room which they hadn't had so maybe some system needs to be put in place.

As the day went really quickly these are the only points I can really remember :) so thanks for a good day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brunnylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I booked three rooms here last week for business. My room was poor quality furnishings, the bathroom was bigger than the room and the room was very basic. Breakfast was basic and there was only instant decaf coffee. I thought the entrance etc was lovely but very disappointing- it needs a makeover. It could be lovely and appeal to the business traveller if it was upgraded. Water in the rooms would be a nice touch and upgrading the furnishings.

Room Tip: Dont expect luxury -its very basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebarrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had our civil ceremony here on 24/11/2012... Which im guessing Tracy H's review is referring to im sorry the noise interfered with your stay and yes maybe your right keeping peolpe from a large party together is a good idea if it can be done but imagine this is hard when people all book separate.

That out of the way i have absolutely nothing bad to say about burn hall or the staff. They worked so hard to ensure our day ran smoothly. Our expectations were exceeded and we couldnt have hoped for better.

We arrived on the friday to be greeted by several very helpful staff who helped us unload the car and take our belongings to the room ready to be set up the following day. We had nothing to worry about we set up our centre pieces and the staff took care of everything else nothing was too much trouble, and we were left to relax for the evening. The six of us who stayed the evening before booked into the restaurant for a two course meal which was £18.00 and worth every penny the food was top quality.

We had the suite which was spot on, lovely large room, comfortable lounge, king size bed.... FAB!!!

Wedding day was fab Scott took care of everything and took the stress away from us... Cheers Scott it was much appreciated. The 3 course wedding breakfast was amazing as was the hog roast.

Our day was amazing and that was all down to the friendly helpful staff at this hotel... Special mention to scott, sammy and melissa. Unfortunately they are the only names i can remember but everyone was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronlaw1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
4.5 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
9.3 mi away
Best Western Kilima Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
10.9 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
10.2 mi away
The Worsley Arms Hotel
The Worsley Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hovingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burn Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
Best Western Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing