We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“over the top service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“over the top service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

great place to stay, lovely and quiet rooms even when there is a wedding on - nothing heard of the party. Lovely food and great service. All the staff were wonderful Dave went over the top and the extra mile. The receptionist was great friendly and full of local information. A very nice short stay - great for relaxing. Even the entertainment on the lawn of the lone rabbit.
Great to get to York with a park and ride not far away - you do need a car though unless you like lots of walking to get anywhere nearer to anything other than the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alinz56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    642
    311
    144
    65
See reviews for
198
1,089
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Margate kent
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

We had a very warm welcome, all staff were very helpful and polite. The room had easy access and was comfortable.
The location was very good, easy to get out and about.The grounds are beautiful and well maintained.We would recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in York.
The evening menu was excellent and good value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybee1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West-Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from Burn Hall Hotel where we spent a wonderful 2 night break with our 2 young children. The hotel is located in a lovely part of the world and was peaceful and it's about 20 minutes or so from York. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite and the standard of food was very good indeed. There's plenty of choice at breakfast and we ate one evening at the hotel and were very pleased with our 3 course meal. Our room was spacious and very clean and we'll be going again soon as we had such a nice time. We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickandLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

The room was nothing special, rather like a Travel Lodge type room, but it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. The food was excellent - we had a superb evening meal in a very nice dining room, and the breakfast was very good too. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel, but don't be deceived by the fact it appears 'oldy worldy' - the bedrooms are situated in a new block (which is not shown in the picture) and are very functional. The hotel was an excellent base for accessing York centre, 10 miles away, with a very handy park and ride scheme on route into the city. We decided to park in the city which was £10 per day as opposed to the park and ride which was £2.30 per person and the last bus was early about 17:50.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CurlyLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

I received this offer from Travelzoo. I booked for two nights, Friday and Saturday. We had dinner (three courses with wine), bed and breakfast the first night and bed and breakfast only on the second night. All this for £59 per person. The hotel is situated in attractive grounds and has three rosettes, but is probably at the lower end of three stars. The added extensions to the building, where I stayed, are reminiscent of students' halls of residence. I found the decor of the corridors and the restaurant horrendous. The latter appeared to have been designed by a committee, without communication with each other, each person being responsible for a wall, or the carpet or the drapes. It would benefit greatly from a make-over. But, it was clean. The bedroom was compact and was furnished on a budget, but adequate for a short stay. It did have a large en-suite bathroom though. The staff were very friendly, pleasant and helpful, with the exception of one particularly rude receptionist. I thought that the dinner was very good and the breakfast was excellent. Overall, I had a very pleasant stay and considered it remarkable value for money. I would definitely go back, at this bargain rate, but would be loathe to pay the advertised rate. Don't expect a country house hotel, and accept it for what it is and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James190764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2011

Stayed 2 nights here and food was delicious bed comfy staff lovely. This hotel is a bit out of town but the hotel does have a shuttle bus/people carrier if you ask at reception can't remember if it is complimentary or if you had to pay, we drove and gave other travellers, who were going to get a taxi, a lift. into town with us.
There was a great take Fake That tribute which we could have gone to but didn't. All in all a great trip well worth the price

Room Tip: Ask about the shuttle, they dont advertise it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk,Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

I run a touring company and each year we invite our past clients to a weekend away.
This year we chose Burn Hall for our reunion. Right from the start Becky looked after our reservation. We kicked off with 15 rooms which started to change every week, more people, different type of room, you name it, we just passed it on over to Becky.
It was never a problem for Burn Hall to accept our change in reservation details on a weekly basis; they took hold and addressed our needs with reliability and great professionalism.
In the end 44 people enjoyed a fantastic weekend. The staff at Burn Hall were very helpful and friendly, our evening meals were such a delight our clients haven’t stopped talking about it, the service we received over the two nights was excellent. I thought the breakfasts were amazing. What really went down well was the bar prices, last year at a different hotel the bar prices were just not silly, they were obscene.
The room we were in was a tad small however it was still spotless and it served purpose, and the rest of the hotel was just excellent.
I do plan on using Burn Hall again and without hesitation would recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alpine-tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Huby
4.6 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
6.3 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
7.2 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
9.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kilima Hotel
11.9 mi away
White Horse Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel
Address: Burn Hall Tollerton Road, Huby YO61 1JB, England (Formerly Tulip Inn York - Burn Hall)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Huby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Huby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel in York is packed full of personality and countryside character! We offer fine food, comfortable accommodation and a can-do approach to customer service, which all combine to make our hotel as inviting as its stunning setting! Nestled in the heart of North Yorkshire, the BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel offers the best of both worlds, secluded enough to offer tranquility and relaxation yet close enough to the county's must-visit towns, villages and cities to give you easy access to the shops, cultural hot spots and tourist sites that keep people coming back for more every year! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burn Hall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Burn Hall Hotel Huby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing