We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than I had expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Milford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much better than I had expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in a family room this weekend, much bigger than we usually expect, not just room for beds but room for children to play too! The options for breakfast were extensive and all the staff we met were superb and helpful. Although the exterior of the building is not particularly inspiring the inside more than makes up for it. We chose to stay here because of the swimming pool and we're very glad we did! The pool was gorgeously warm and the kids loved it. Prices comparable to some big brand motels but facilities better! Thank you!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthEEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHLeedsselby, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to place your kind comments on Tripadvisor, in regards to your recent visit to the Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork.

Its great to read that you enjoyed our hotel`s facilities and found the team friendly and helpful I will pass on all your comments

We look forward to welcoming back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    86
    76
    45
    39
See reviews for
67
100
18
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
notts gb
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed for 2nights room comfortable very warm and clean. Plenty of hot water for showering. Extensive menu for the evening meal. which was delicious. Breakfast superb. Staff all pleasant and friendly. Had a very enjoyable stay. Recommend it to anyone. Definitely stay here again on our travels. Gf nottingham

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georgefor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHLeedsselby, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for posting your review and sharing your experience.

I am very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and I hope that we will welcome you back in the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

On arriving I was disappointed. The hotel describes itself as 'Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of 14 acres of tranquil park lands'. All I saw was the A63. The pot-hole filled road gave my bum a massage as I arrived and when I pulled up I was vaguely disappointed. The hotel does look as it does in the pictures, but a little more sun bleached. It reminded me of my old school buildings and I was confused by the parts that appeared to be on stilts...Anyway, when we walked in the reception was clean and the bar looked comfortable. It was in use so I assume the prices were ok. I found the veggie options from the restaurant uninspiring and we were left unsure as to whether we had breakfast included as we hadn't been sold a breakfast at check in or told when/where it takes place and how to obtain it. I did see a photo of a buffet table but who knows. Apparently you can get married there...if the price was right then maybe, but I wasn't about to go an tell all my engaged friends about the awesome service (efficient but that's it). Found our room along a corridor which reminded me of ones you find in hospitals (with the wall bumpers) and with a jiggle of the key and push and pull of the door we were in! The room itself was cosy, a good temperature with extra heating available. A flat screen TV with freeview, standard tea and coffee, a nice thick carpet and thick curtains. the bathroom was decorated in a modern style and appeared clean. The shower was nothing to write home about but the water was a good temperature. There are few ceiling lights in the bedroom area so the rooms are a bit dim for working on a laptop. We switched on the bathroom light for extra light. There wasn't much in the away of 'local info' that you usually get which is odd considering it's a 'family friendly' hotel. We struggled to find somewhere to eat after finding that the veggie food option was risotto or something similar (it's ALWAYS risotto) and ended up going on a fish and chip run to Sherburn. I was worried about the noise from the roads but it was pretty quiet after 8 or 9pm. The bed was lovely and I slept well (although the headboard from nextdoor could be heard banging on the wall in our room). In error we paid twice for the room, but this was rectified fairly swifty. We didn't notice where the pool was (and were not advised) so we didn't use it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foosfan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHLeedsselby, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review

I can assure you that all feedback is taken seriously and that all departments are aware of the comments you have made and this will certainly be looked into so these issues do not re occur again.

Once again I would like to thank you for your comments and hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Ha where do you start -

1) the reception didn't even have our booking. Despite me having an email and a ref number, the gent on the reception didn't want to know, just explaining that we didn't have a booking. He had to then call some central services to find out that they hadn't passed on the booking info to the hotel. For our inconvenience we were upgrade....really? We must have paid to stay in the shed outside then.
2) the room was very cold, which had a small oil heater for us to use...pointless.
3) bathroom was tiny. Just about enough room to move in there, and the shower seemed to leak all over the floor, with however you had the curtain in the bath.
The towel heater had electrical wires coming out the back, which seems like a huge health and safety concern for any young children to pull on (this comes from a Health and Safety Coordinator as tread). Pic will be posted

4) swimming pool was aged and seems to be forgotten about. Sauna wasn't working, which was prob for the best. Floor was VERY slippy around the pool which you expect, but you also expect some thing to reduce the risk as well. As I said the pool had been forgotten about by the hotel and time itself.

5) lights in the room flickered on the last night, at this point we just wanted to sleep after a long day out in York, so gave up caring.

6) after the 1st night at 6:30am we had doors slamming on our corridor. We were under the impression that no one else was staying at the hotel - noisy cleaners/staff? Not the nicest way to be woken up when you pay for a nights sleep.

PAY THE LITTLE EXTRA AND GO TO A NICER HOTEL!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluemooner83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHLeedsselby, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review although not all positive.

I can assure you that all feedback is taken seriously and that all departments are aware of the comments you have made and this will certainly be looked into so these issues do not re occur again.

Once again I would like to apologise and hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Milford hotels

wales uk
Level Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Still under a refurb since our previous visit in August 2013, we decided to return (family of 4 with teenage lads) due to the hotel being an excellent base for visiting York and the surrounding area at a decent price.

The family rooms have been totally refurbished with a double and 2 single comfy beds, nice decor, hair dryer, en suite bathroom and flat screen TV. These rooms are very large and easily accommodated the 4 of us. Don't be put off by the exterior 1970s style of the hotel. It's architecture on stilts wouldn't win prizes, but it is set in nice grounds and is still being refurbished.
The reception area and bar have been refurbished entirely in bright welcoming tones and the staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be of service, recommending local places of interest for families etc.

The pool is great for teenagers and parents to relax in after a day out and this is a great plus for kids. The fitness room is still being refurbished. Husband enjoyed the sauna too. Bar prices can be a little high if you come from a small town as we do, but there are plenty of local pubs if you research before you go. The hotel is a little isolated but if do your homework beforehand, it is a great base to see a lot of Yorkshire and as we love York it is cheaper than all the city centre York hotels.
We love "The Quality" and it's staff and will return again later in the year. Just look beyond its quirky architecture and grab yourself a bargain getaway!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CariadRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QualityLeedsSelby, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your stay.
We are delighted that you came back to stay with us and have seen the vast improvements that have taken place since last year.
We look forward to welcoming you back again, so you can experience many more chances that are planned to take place over the coming months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights during a weekend stay visiting York and surrounding area. Upon arrival at the hotel, I was reminded of the Crossroads motel from TV fame, but once inside I was pleasantly surprised.

It appears that the hotel was under refurbishment during my stay. The reception area, lounge, and restaurant all have been refurbished, and have a welcoming atmosphere.

The room we were staying in also seemed to have been recently redecorated with simple décor which was quite adequate if not homely. The room was cold as I was expecting due to other reviews I have read, but there was an electric radiator with timer which didn’t really warm the room up too much but took off the chill. The bathroom was very nicely fitted out with a massive shower along the far wall. There seemed to be a blockage in the shower drain though, unless it was a very slow draining shower, as the tray filled up within about 5 minutes, so showers had to be quick to avoid overflowing onto the bathroom floor.

The evening meal was taken in the Woodlands restaurant, and although there were a few items not available, what was available was of a very high standard and well worth spending a few extra pounds. Breakfast was also served in the same room, and this was a buffet style for toast, croissants, cereal, tea, coffee, fruit juice, etc. The main breakfast order was taken at the table, and again, was of a good quality with plenty to keep you going.

During our stay we took the opportunity to use the 14 metre swimming pool. Although the room itself was fairly dark, the pool itself was sufficient, and even in the deep end, I was able to stand up with the water coming up to chest height. I didn’t mind this, not being a very good swimmer. There is also a mini-gym, sauna and solarium, but these weren’t used.

Overall, this is a nice hotel to stay for a night or two, although if you were thinking of staying longer you may want to stay elsewhere, as there seemed to be a lack of atmosphere. This may well have been because we visited in January when the hotel was very quiet. It is very convenient to the A1 for visiting the local area, or as a stop over when travelling further North.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulHarrison901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay.
The hotel has been through a refurbishment programme as you mentioned , with the remaining parts due for completion in 2014.
I am pleased to hear you found the time to use the swimming pool and enjoyed your meal and breakfast. We are continually changing the food offerings and it is nice receive positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be visiting the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Worst Christmas break ever, No festive atmosphere at all. No decorations know music and no entertainment. Food was acceptable but could've been hotter. Except for Christmas breakfast when all we got was a bacon BAP and coffee. That wasn't served in the restaurant but in a little side room with basic tables and chairs more like a staff canteen. We have complained to Shearings, because we booked the holiday through them, but I've had no reply. What does that say about their customer care policies. B.H.T. Tamworth

Room Tip: All rooms are cold
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent review, I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. We have responded to your tour operator and you should now have received a full response direct from them. Again, I apologise for the issues you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
5.9 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Pontefract North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Milford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Milford Hotel

Property: South Milford Hotel
Address: Junction A1 / A63 | near Leeds, South Milford LS25 5LF, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > South Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — South Milford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from exit 42 of the A1M, between the cities of Leeds and York, this contemporary 3-star Hotel is an idyllic base from which to explore the local area. With an abundance of superb on-site amenities, including free Wi-Fi and parking, Woodlands Restaurant, heated swimming pool,and specialist conference and function facilities guests can relax, safe in the knowledge that their every need is catered to. South Milford Hotel boasts the perfect synthesis of location, value and convenience. Despite being surrounded by the charming splendour of the Yorkshire Dales, it is but a short drive to the vibrant cities of both York and Leeds. The Hotel is fully committed to making the most of its unique position by offering guests a friendly and welcoming service with everything they need to guarantee a quiet relaxing stay. The South Milford Hotel prides itself on being a by-word for comfort and relaxation, nowhere is this more evident than in its 106 welcoming en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and well-appointed with an array of modern conveniences, each room features free Wi-Fi access, television, tea & coffee making facilities, and much more besides. From business to leisure, there are a range of room types to suit all travellers, including Single, Double, Twin and Family options. With 11 meeting rooms and 2 event rooms, it is a splendid venue for hosting any type of event. Whether organising a wedding reception or planning a business conference, the hotel's team of experienced and dedicated event coordinators are on hand to ensure that that every occasion is a success. Woodlands, the Hotel's on-site restaurant, offers a variety of tempting dishes and delicious snacks. Whether grabbing a quick bite between meetings, or tucking in to a hearty evening meal, there is something for everyone. What's more, with food served throughout the day, guests are free to eat at a time of their convenience. The Hotel's bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and is a great place to chat with friends or enjoy a well-deserved drink after a long journey. South Milford Hotel is the ideal gateway to the Yorkshire region. Not only is it the largest county in the UK it is also one of the most beautiful. Renowned for its incredible scenery, visitors can look forward to soaking up breathtaking vistas, inspiring moorlands and rolling hills. There are an abundance of outdoor attractions to choose from, including cycling and mountain biking, shooting, water sports and horse riding. For those looking for something less exerting, why not try a local heritage walk or a delicious pub lunch in one of the many picturesque local villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Milford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Leeds
Quality Hotel South Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing