We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and great service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Milford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value and great service.”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed one night to attend a celebration just South of York. The location off the A1 was perfect, the room was nicely decorated and very clean and tidy.The staff were exceptionally friendly, particularly Brian on reception and the breakfast team. Pool is dated but clean and well maintained. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fox A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay, I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time.
It is always good to receive positive feedback regarding our team and I have passed on your comments regarding Brian and the Restaurant Team.
Thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    88
    77
    47
    40
See reviews for
67
103
18
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Hotel is newly refurbished and is actually quite nice. Service is good and staff are friendly. Rooms are quite big and have all usual amenities. Hotel has also a swimming pool but is probably most suited for family visit and children. Excellent breakfast but dinner is not so good. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you suffer from astigmatism ask for a room that hasn't got stripped curtains or small dots on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandeliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us.
I am pleased to hear you were happy with our staff and service and have passed your comments to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel if you are in the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was the worst Christmas break myself and my sister have ever had in our lives. It took us eight hours to get to Selby in Yorkshire by Shearings coach. Driver was unsociable. Reception was cold and uninviting. One small Christmas tree and no other decorations. Room I was in had a leaking toilet, rooms had no drawers, Room they moved me into had no wardrobe, had to hang clothes over chair. Dining room had no decorations or table cloths to make us feel like it was Christmas. Had to keep asking to put music on. One elderly gentleman sang on Christmas day night for one hour. I had too ring my husband up to come and pick me and my sister Bernice up on the Thursday which was Boxing Day, along with another couple, we were so disillusioned, and unhappy we could not wait to get back home. One couple was so disappointed that they went home on Christmas Day, they was very lucky that they had their own car. I think everybody on that coach trip with Shearings deserve a full refund by Shearings. I would not recommend anyone to book in at this hotel at Christmas. Manager was always seemed to be unavailable.

Room Tip: I would advise anyone to ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent review following your stay over the Christmas period. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We have worked closely with your tour operator to investigate all issues raised and you should now have had a reply direct from them. I apologise again for the shortfall in service you received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Milford hotels

Somerset Village, Bermuda
Level Contributor
367 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were driving from the NE Scotland down to Suffolk & this was approx halfway mark & close to our route so gave it a go....... its an OK hotel..... staff were very accommodating when our initial room had stuff missing they just changed without hesitation....wifi only worked in reception area unfortunately. The bar food was close at hand & reasonable without having to head back out to find a restaurant & do more driving. Value was good & room was clean.

Room Tip: If you want WiFi ask for a room near reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishIWasSailing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay, i am pleased that you found the hotel to be good value.
We are currently having the WiFi reviewed with a view to upgrading if needed to meet guests expectations and I am sorry to encountered an issue with this when you stayed.
Thank your aging for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and I was in a refurbished room which was lovely but cold as there was only a silly wee electric heater on the wall which was useless. I asked at reception for additional heat which was promptly supplied and from then on my room was cosy.A real radiator in the room would make all the difference. It was a bit of a treck to the dining room I have to say. The food was lovely especially the sausages and the staff very
all very helpful and pleasant.I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birthdaygirl006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you your recent review.
I apologise for the issue with the heating and this is currently being looked into, I am however, pleased that your request for additional heating was met promptly by our staff.
I have passed on your comments regarding the staff being helpful and pleasant, it is always good to hear positive comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you be visiting the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Why on earth Shearings booked this Hotel for a Xmas Break for a coach load of people looking to enjoy and festive break beats me. We arrived at about 3pm on Monday 23rd December. We entered the reception area to find a small Xmas Tree and no other decorations at all. We were offered coffer and mince pies. The reception area was cold and unwelcoming. My room was like an ice box. After complaining I was given an oiled filled heater which I left on continually night and day which took the chill off. The bathroom had no heating in at all. The dining area was cold and looked like a works canteen. Not a table cloth in sight. No effort had been made to make this hotel a cheerful place to spent a xmas break. I do not think the staff were geared up for a coach load of people looking for a good time at xmas. No entertainment to speak off. Just a elderly gentleman who sang a few very old fashioned songs to taped music on Xmas Eve for a hour. There was no escape. With a motor way on one side and a duel carriage way on the other there was no where to go we where stuck.I have written to Shearing a letter of complaint. Hopefully they will take note. When people are asking relatives to come and fetch them back their has to be a great deal wrong with the place. For those of us who were not so lucky we had to grin and bear it until Friday. A Christmas lost for us, sadly.I hope others in our party have complained to Shearings and asked for compensation for the buck ends with them they sent us their. Had they done their homework they would have known that this hotel was not up to their usual standard. Christmas with Shearings is usually a jolly time. Not this time. What a farce.
One good thing the food was very nice, no complaints their.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced during your Christmas Break. We are extremely sorry for the short fallings in the service given.
The hotel works with many tour operators, however on this occasion we failed to deliver guests expectations for which we apologise.
We have worked closely with your tour operator and you should have now had a response from them directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was my second stay here in the last year and this time I was in a refurbished room. The refurbishment is excellent - the bathroom was huge. There was a serious lack of sockets in the room but otherwise the refurbishment has been good.

The staff were great and the food decent enough.

The big problem with this hotel is that it is effectively a load of prefab cabins and boy was it cold. I'm not into green issues but I would bet this hotel has a carbon footprint the size of Yorkshire. The bathroom was like an ice box and despite having two portable heaters in the room, I was still freezing as the radiators lost the fight to the single pane windows and the high ceilings.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Guest Relations Manager at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am thrilled that you like the hotel refurbishment.
I have passed on your comments to the team regarding the staff and the food.
We are currently looking into the heating issues and hope to have them resolved in the very near future.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel when you are next visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
549 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,798 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Milford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Milford Hotel

Property: South Milford Hotel
Address: 63 Junction A1 / a Selby Fork | near Leeds, South Milford LS25 5LF, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > South Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — South Milford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from exit 42 of the A1M, between the cities of Leeds and York, this contemporary 3-star Hotel is an idyllic base from which to explore the local area. With an abundance of superb on-site amenities, including free Wi-Fi and parking, Woodlands Restaurant, heated swimming pool,and specialist conference and function facilities guests can relax, safe in the knowledge that their every need is catered to. South Milford Hotel boasts the perfect synthesis of location, value and convenience. Despite being surrounded by the charming splendour of the Yorkshire Dales, it is but a short drive to the vibrant cities of both York and Leeds. The Hotel is fully committed to making the most of its unique position by offering guests a friendly and welcoming service with everything they need to guarantee a quiet relaxing stay. The South Milford Hotel prides itself on being a by-word for comfort and relaxation, nowhere is this more evident than in its 106 welcoming en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and well-appointed with an array of modern conveniences, each room features free Wi-Fi access, television, tea & coffee making facilities, and much more besides. From business to leisure, there are a range of room types to suit all travellers, including Single, Double, Twin and Family options. With 11 meeting rooms and 2 event rooms, it is a splendid venue for hosting any type of event. Whether organising a wedding reception or planning a business conference, the hotel's team of experienced and dedicated event coordinators are on hand to ensure that that every occasion is a success. Woodlands, the Hotel's on-site restaurant, offers a variety of tempting dishes and delicious snacks. Whether grabbing a quick bite between meetings, or tucking in to a hearty evening meal, there is something for everyone. What's more, with food served throughout the day, guests are free to eat at a time of their convenience. The Hotel's bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and is a great place to chat with friends or enjoy a well-deserved drink after a long journey. South Milford Hotel is the ideal gateway to the Yorkshire region. Not only is it the largest county in the UK it is also one of the most beautiful. Renowned for its incredible scenery, visitors can look forward to soaking up breathtaking vistas, inspiring moorlands and rolling hills. There are an abundance of outdoor attractions to choose from, including cycling and mountain biking, shooting, water sports and horse riding. For those looking for something less exerting, why not try a local heritage walk or a delicious pub lunch in one of the many picturesque local villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your South Milford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Leeds
Quality Hotel South Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing