We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more like poor quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Milford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“more like poor quality”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

well booked this for 1 night stay got in room it smelt but not to bad beds were just ok tv was from the early 90`s poor crackley fuzzy picture light fitttings over beds loose sink would not drain bath was dirty dont think bathroom had been cleaned for a while no soap in the dispensers shower was either too cold or very hot the whole room felt very dated and not clean i think the windows have metal sills as when it rains they are very noisey as rain hits them kept me awake for most of the night carpets in passageways gaffer taped together signs saying place being modernised/updated did not see any signs of this think put up to fool people into thinking they are doing it food was expensive for what you got beer not cheap in reality we should have eaten out whilst eating got distracted by i think the receptionists young child sitting on the desk screaming and shouting bit distracting when eating it would take a lot for me to rebook but only when it is refurbished thats if they are doing that couple of guys said their rooms not that good and glad only booked for 1 night like me

Room Tip: room that has been refurbished if they have any
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shooter682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    88
    77
    47
    40
See reviews for
67
103
18
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked this hotel for a two day stop. We bookd family room in case my grandson stayed over. When we arrived at the room we were shocked to find the wallpaper peeling off the walls and the room smelling really damp.
We complained to reception and were immediately given a replacement room which was smaller but acceptable.
Jayne on reception was really helpful throughout our stay. Prize employee!!!

Room Tip: see room prior to payment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haldensnin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have to be fair to the hotel because they're undergoing an extensive refurbishment so criticising the rooms is a little pointless, but suffice to say they are very basic.

The staff were generally helpful, the food is overpriced for what you get and the drinks are more expensive than I've had in some 4-star hotels. Best to head out somewhere to eat.

What this hotel does have going for it is a swimming pool, tennis court, quite extensive grounds, parking and wifi included in the price. It is excellent value for money, you just need to ignore the rooms and the drinks prices.

The hotel is popular with coach tours who use it as a base to tour around Yorkshire - so you do feel a little like a gatecrasher at a holiday camp at times.

One thing to bear in mind is that the postcode of the hotel is not satnav friendly. My satnav was telling me I was three and a half miles away when I was in the car park!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room - they're meant to be available by the autumn of 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarethK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Just for back from a night at this hotel. Really disappointed, I never leave negative feedback but feel the need to. Me and my partner booked the hotel for a night after a day in York for our anniversary. Our room wasn't the best, the bathroom smelt of urine and the sink tap dripped non stop which was annoying when trying to sleep went to have a shower and the cold water tap didn't even work! Aswell as that there was mould on the walls. Bed was comfy and clean and the food at the bar couldn't have been better. Afraid I won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potterspury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

stayed one night on a national holiday coach trip to york , yes it was being done up but was fine for the night as staying in york would of cost lots more ,had a power cut due to a traffic accident , and the staff really did there best offering us take away ,put power returned so had dinner a hour late which was very good . and a free drink . also had pool which was free to use .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 41mjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Even with a refurb, this will still look like a a hospital build in the seventies.
Receptionist was brutally unfriendly, cracking a smile would not hurt.
Food was expensive, which is why we ate out, breakfast, lunch and dinner!
Bar was nothing more than a square room with a few chairs dotted about, hard to relax in.
The room was large, alright for a family of 4. But very dated and grubby. The pool was the best part of the visit. Warm and empty, had it to ourselves. Cleaners were nice though!
Very close to a busy road - typical noise level.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckielugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Milford hotels

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was ok , nothinig special . We stayed whilst on a coach trip , the food was adequate.It is ideal if you are going to Leeds or York ,There is also quite alot of other things to see and do in the area .

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rowleycliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
549 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,798 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Milford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Milford Hotel

Property: South Milford Hotel
Address: 63 Junction A1 / a Selby Fork | near Leeds, South Milford LS25 5LF, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > South Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — South Milford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from exit 42 of the A1M, between the cities of Leeds and York, this contemporary 3-star Hotel is an idyllic base from which to explore the local area. With an abundance of superb on-site amenities, including free Wi-Fi and parking, Woodlands Restaurant, heated swimming pool,and specialist conference and function facilities guests can relax, safe in the knowledge that their every need is catered to. South Milford Hotel boasts the perfect synthesis of location, value and convenience. Despite being surrounded by the charming splendour of the Yorkshire Dales, it is but a short drive to the vibrant cities of both York and Leeds. The Hotel is fully committed to making the most of its unique position by offering guests a friendly and welcoming service with everything they need to guarantee a quiet relaxing stay. The South Milford Hotel prides itself on being a by-word for comfort and relaxation, nowhere is this more evident than in its 106 welcoming en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and well-appointed with an array of modern conveniences, each room features free Wi-Fi access, television, tea & coffee making facilities, and much more besides. From business to leisure, there are a range of room types to suit all travellers, including Single, Double, Twin and Family options. With 11 meeting rooms and 2 event rooms, it is a splendid venue for hosting any type of event. Whether organising a wedding reception or planning a business conference, the hotel's team of experienced and dedicated event coordinators are on hand to ensure that that every occasion is a success. Woodlands, the Hotel's on-site restaurant, offers a variety of tempting dishes and delicious snacks. Whether grabbing a quick bite between meetings, or tucking in to a hearty evening meal, there is something for everyone. What's more, with food served throughout the day, guests are free to eat at a time of their convenience. The Hotel's bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and is a great place to chat with friends or enjoy a well-deserved drink after a long journey. South Milford Hotel is the ideal gateway to the Yorkshire region. Not only is it the largest county in the UK it is also one of the most beautiful. Renowned for its incredible scenery, visitors can look forward to soaking up breathtaking vistas, inspiring moorlands and rolling hills. There are an abundance of outdoor attractions to choose from, including cycling and mountain biking, shooting, water sports and horse riding. For those looking for something less exerting, why not try a local heritage walk or a delicious pub lunch in one of the many picturesque local villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your South Milford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Leeds
Quality Hotel South Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing