We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money, comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Milford Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Oban Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for money, comfortable stay”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Friendly staff and excellent value for money. We had a meal in the bar and the portions were huge and just what we needed. Great surprise to see a pool, so I bought swimwear in York, and had an enjoyable swim, which was warm and a quiet pool. Room was clean and comfortable and had all we needed. OK, it was a little run down, but for the price it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHLeedsselby, Director of Sales at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay at the Quality Hotel Leeds Selby. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and will pass your kind comments onto them.
We would be more than happy to welcome you to the hotel again should you be in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    92
    80
    49
    40
See reviews for
69
106
19
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
teeside
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Strange how my original review has been removed

Stayed there in Feb 2012

Room was cold evern though there was an extra free standing heater on

Wall paper was peeling off the walls

Paid for breakfasts on booking but only went to 2 out of 3 as where so poor quality.

Asked for extra milk for the tea and coffee for my room, and they wanted to charge we £2.50
(Only hotel i know that charges for this)

Asked for a knife to cut a birthdat cake, the knife handle as broken. (Health and safety)

And half way through the night the fire alarm went off, and although everyone evacuated the rooms, there was no Guidance from staff on where to go or what to do.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeesideNorthandsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QHLeedsselby, Director of Sales at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for your review.
The hotel went through a change of ownership in July 2012 and inline with Trip Advisors policy, they do remove all reviews prior to the change over.
I can agree with the points you have made in regards to the hotel and am pleased to advise that the hotel is due to commence a full refurbishment programme in the very near future. You should shortly be able to see updated images across all sites as the works progress.
In regards to the fire alarm, please be assured that guest safety is our number one priority and all staff are fully trained in fire evacuation procedures.
Thnak you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Milford hotels

crewe
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This stay was as a result of a mystery holiday for Christmas with Proctors coach holidays so we didn`t know where we were heading until we got there. The hotel boasts a lovely warm swimming pool and you can hire towels for £1 if you haven`t brought your own and as I am a regular swimmer I was disappointed i hadn`t got a costume with me but i just didn`t expect our mystery hotel to have this facility. There is also a fitness suite but we didn`t see it as again, we hadn`t brought the right clothing with us to use it.
The positive points i can make about this hotel is that the rooms are large and fitted with plenty of space for storage etc, there is a lack of coat hangers but i always bring more of our own so it wasn`t a problem. Rooms were serviced daily except Christmas day but we were able to replenish stocks of anything we required from reception. All the staff seemed to be multi taskers and could be seen helping behind the bar or in the restaurant and also on reception. They were all very helpful even though some of them had not worked there very long.
The worst aspects of this hotel was that it was in the middle of nowhere so there was no shops or anything else nearby except the busy roads, so if you didn`t have transport you were confined to the hotel, and they didn`t have newspapers delivered either. Sometimes the food was not as piping hot as we would have liked and as a vegetarian, there was not much choice and what there was needed to be ordered. I was particularly disappointed that they didn`t provide vegetarian sausages as everyone else got hot bacon baps for Christmas day morning and I had to be content with the continental breakfast, but our Christmas lunch was the main meal of the day and the vegetarian option I chose was very tasty.
The reception provided a wide variety of board games so that guests can make use of spare time and there was a tv in the bar and also tv`s in all the bedrooms.
Proctors coaches provided excursions for our holiday which were very enjoyable as without them we would have felt isolated not being able to go for a walk except around the perimeter of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmtigercrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Director of Sales at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay over Christmas.
I am sorry to hear that you had some slight issues with the food, and will certainly bring these to chefs attention, however, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your lunch on Christmas Day, and will also pass this comment on.
I do hope that you will visit the hotel again, and this time, bring your swimwear so you can enjoy the leisure facilities on site.
Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

After reading the dreadful reviews I was in two minds whether to cancel our Diamonds holiday completely. I wasn't looking forward to taking my family to a damp, cold, dirty hotel as described. However, being New Year, I thought we'd view the holiday as a challenge and take precautions with our own pillows, warm housecoats etc. Didn't need them. It wasn't the type of hotel one might expect but as we entered reception I was delighted - it was beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The dining room and bar area were lovely and the food and drinks service was excellent. Going along the corridors (which admittedly were cold and shabby) we found our family room which was warm, plenty of room and very clean with tea making facilities, tv and trouser press. We were on the front so expected the traffic noise from the busy road but hardly noticed it - it certainly wasn't enough to keep us awake at night. My only disappointment was in the quite expensive looking light coloured carped which showed evidence of previous chewing gum etc where guests had abused it. In other hotels this carpet would have been darker and therefore, such marks would have gone unnoticed. However, the entire room was spotless - little bit of dark grout area in bathroom but from wear and tear not bad cleaning. The whole New Year break was brilliant and I was very pleased. The hotel is in need of refurbishing beyond the main reception and suites but would certainly return especially if we got our room back. The pool area looked clean and usable too. Many people did use it when we were there. Staff were particularly helpful, attentive and on hand to keep the service very high. Very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: We were in a family room which had a double bed and two large singles so there was plenty of space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dolomiti99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Director of Sales at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay over New Year. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and so much better than expected.
Thank you for your comments in regards to our staff, I will make sure your kind comments are passed on.
We would be more than happy to welcome you back to the hotel again, should you be in the area.
Thank you again for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

A large group of us stayed here for a wedding in November and what a mistake it was. Some of our group had to move rooms due to the walls in their room being wet and the beds being damp. Our room had wallpaper hanging off on two walls. The swimming pool was dirty and needed a good clean. All our group were unhappy with this hotel, quality it was not!! Never again!

Room Tip: find another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo5557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Director of Sales at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the Quality Hotel.
I am sorry to hear that you didn't have an enjoyable stay.
I agree that the hotel rooms are in need of updating and am pleased to advise that over the coming months a full refurbishment programme wil be taking place. Photographs will be updated across all websites as and when works are completed.
I would like to welcome you back to the hotel once the refurbishment works have been completed to experience a more pleasant stay.
Thank you again for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night as it was the cheapest hotel around late notice where we wanted to be. I guess this should give you hints to the "quality" of the Quality Hotel. The room we had was shabby, and in need of a refurb (some stains, peeling wallpaper, old appliances), but, saying that, for what we wanted, (a bed for the night) it was adequate. You can hear cars/lorries on the road when trying to sleep but its not "that" loud. I'd say give the pool a miss though, has a lot of grime round the rims and the shower in the changing rooms had lumps of hair in it, sauna was out of order.
Despite the issues, due to the price, there is the chance i'd book again just for a short 1 night stop.

Room Tip: Maybe try to get a room at the back of the hotel? (Away from the road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HirSet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Director of Sales at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for your review following your recent stay.
I do agree that there are some issues within the hotel and am pleased to advise that the hotel is due to commence with a refurbishment programme. Photos will be updated along the way to show guests the improvements as and when they happen.
I do hope that you will revisit the hotel once these works have been undertaken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Arrived at hotel and my first impression was that it looked like a mental hospital. Room were disgusting, carpets looked like anything could be living in them, bath was scruffy with scarm from previous person who used it, pill on the carpet, empty can under bed and wallpaper falling off. No way wod i have stayed there with my children so we complained and left. Needs shutting down!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah J, Director of Sales at South Milford Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay.
I am sorry to hear that you left the hotel and had to stay elsewhere.
I agree that the hotel is in need of updating and am pleased to advise that over the coming months a full refurbishment programme wil be taking place. Photographs will be updated across all websites as and when works are completed.
I would like to welcome you back to the hotel once the refurbishment works have been completed to experience a more pleasant stay.
Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Milford
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.3 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
557 reviews
4.8 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Novotel York Centre
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Leeds Garforth
12.9 mi away
Days Inn Wetherby
Days Inn Wetherby
#1 of 3 in Wetherby
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Milford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Milford Hotel

Property: South Milford Hotel
Address: 63 Junction A1 / a Selby Fork | near Leeds, South Milford LS25 5LF, England (Formerly Quality Hotel Leeds Selby Fork)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > South Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — South Milford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few minutes from exit 42 of the A1M, between the cities of Leeds and York, this contemporary 3-star Hotel is an idyllic base from which to explore the local area. With an abundance of superb on-site amenities, including free Wi-Fi and parking, Woodlands Restaurant, heated swimming pool,and specialist conference and function facilities guests can relax, safe in the knowledge that their every need is catered to. South Milford Hotel boasts the perfect synthesis of location, value and convenience. Despite being surrounded by the charming splendour of the Yorkshire Dales, it is but a short drive to the vibrant cities of both York and Leeds. The Hotel is fully committed to making the most of its unique position by offering guests a friendly and welcoming service with everything they need to guarantee a quiet relaxing stay. The South Milford Hotel prides itself on being a by-word for comfort and relaxation, nowhere is this more evident than in its 106 welcoming en-suite bedrooms. Tastefully decorated and well-appointed with an array of modern conveniences, each room features free Wi-Fi access, television, tea & coffee making facilities, and much more besides. From business to leisure, there are a range of room types to suit all travellers, including Single, Double, Twin and Family options. With 11 meeting rooms and 2 event rooms, it is a splendid venue for hosting any type of event. Whether organising a wedding reception or planning a business conference, the hotel's team of experienced and dedicated event coordinators are on hand to ensure that that every occasion is a success. Woodlands, the Hotel's on-site restaurant, offers a variety of tempting dishes and delicious snacks. Whether grabbing a quick bite between meetings, or tucking in to a hearty evening meal, there is something for everyone. What's more, with food served throughout the day, guests are free to eat at a time of their convenience. The Hotel's bar has a welcoming and friendly atmosphere and is a great place to chat with friends or enjoy a well-deserved drink after a long journey. South Milford Hotel is the ideal gateway to the Yorkshire region. Not only is it the largest county in the UK it is also one of the most beautiful. Renowned for its incredible scenery, visitors can look forward to soaking up breathtaking vistas, inspiring moorlands and rolling hills. There are an abundance of outdoor attractions to choose from, including cycling and mountain biking, shooting, water sports and horse riding. For those looking for something less exerting, why not try a local heritage walk or a delicious pub lunch in one of the many picturesque local villages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Milford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Leeds
Quality Hotel South Milford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing