We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm”
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had an overnight stay here booked via Secret Escapes. Had afternoon tea prior to using the spa facilities (shared one between 2 - ample) which was served in the lovely drawing room by very courteous staff. We were disappointed with the spa facilities - a bit tired and not in full working order; the poolside had used plastic cups scattered around - left by lazy guests! The room (49) was spacious, clean, comfortable and had all the usual necessary extras; fridge in room with bottled water and milk too. We were unable to book any treatments for our stay, which was disappointing but they are obviously popular. The conservatory was a pleasant room to have a pre-dinner drink and dinner was served in the Library Restaurant, which is gorgeous. Great choice of food(for evening meal and breakfast) - excellently prepared and served by very nice, helpful staff.
Pros - great staff, lovely dining, comfy bed; Cons - spa not up to scratch

Room Tip: we had room 49 overlooking village and church - pretty, but church bells chime until late and start...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue1562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in March. Room was very nice ,on first floor ,but the guests upstairs were very noisy.
I don't think it was just their fault but probably also just poor sound insulation in newer part of the hotel. Also barking dog in room nearby!
Food in dining room but seemed to be a 'static' menu so would have become boring.
Hotel golf course was ok for a resort course.

Room Tip: As high as possible! It's probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We went for a drive out and decided to visit Matfen Hall for lunch only. Although disappointed that the main restaurant wasn't open we decided to try the Conservatory meals (which I presume come from the same kitchen). Suffice to say we weren't disappointed. The sirloin steak was beautifully cooked and this was followed by the renowned old favourite - sticky toffee pudding. A very pleasant experience and certainly well worth a visit. The staff are young but appear to be very competent and polite. There are ample parking spaces very close to the hall entrance. It can be very relaxing to stroll around the grounds and admire the surrounding area.

Room Tip: Unless you want to savour the ambience of eating in the up-market restaurant you can save a few poun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank willum65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We had a lovely relaxing stay. The room was very spacious and very comfortable.

All the staff throughout our say were very courteous and most helpful with a very friendly relaxing manner. Nothing seemed to be a problem.
We dined in for the two nights we were their and what an excellent dining surprise we had both nights. The food was excellent and had a great wine list to compliment the food.

Overall a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel to anybody traveling to that part of the country.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

A Well maintained,quiet hotel,stayed b&b only 1 night room was lovely,clean and modern,Spa was relaxing,clean and modern,breakfast was very average i've had better,no pastries,only one type of yogurt staff were abit miserable but overall a pleasant stay !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kevinno7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

If you wish to be treated with true professional TLC then Matfen Hall is an excellent place to be.
Even though there have everything you would need to have a relaxing stay, with the leisure & spa facilities available, we did not need to use them as we found the warmth and immaculate kept room and the serenity of the grounds and surrounding area a total relaxing experience.
The meals were of exceptional quality, both evening meal and breakfast and worthy of the AA rosette award the restaurant carries.
We wish to congratulate and thank the accompany of staff involved with our stay, for an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snipertrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

My wife and I recently returned to Matfen Hall to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we remained as impressed as our previous visit. The location is perfect for walks in the country, particularly Hadrians Wall, and offers golf and fishing which we have yet to do. With excellent food, outstanding staff and comfortable surroundings we find the setting relaxing and tranquil. Perhaps our one negative is that areas of the spa, which is free to guests, are looking a little dated (also didn't seem to work properly?) and would benefit of a refurb. That said, the pool, steam room and jacuzzi add an extra bonus at the end of the day. All things considered a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hall sometimes lose mobile phone signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,192 reviews
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
13.2 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range: $139 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing