We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and building - nice treat”
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely place to stay, not too far from Newcastle city centre but right out in the country. The pool is a good size and nice jacuzzi, gym and steam room. The rooms are nice and very clean but way too hot and I was unable to reduce the temp on the air con panel. Food in the restaurant is very good and nice wine selection. All in all expensive but worth it

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
There are newer reviews for Matfen Hall
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

842 - 848 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed for just the one night at this lovely hotel. Set in beautiful grounds with fab views from the ground floor windows at the rear the hotel is friendly and although quite grand it still felt welcoming and not at all austere. The staff were all very friendly and did not pass you without speaking and the breakfast was great. Enjoyed the use of the very well equiped gym and pool - not the usual poky little affair you are often met with.
I will be making an effort to return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

I visited Matfen Hall with my boyfriend as a birthday treat. When we booked a lovely young woman called Lisa helped us pick our perfect room. In the end we opted for a deluxe room in the old wing which Lisa had recommended. We arrived slightly earlier than the allocated check in time but the friendly reception staff informed us that our room was ready for us (even if your room wasn't ready, you could use the leisure facilities etc. until then). Our room was beautiful. The décor was very vintage: a massive bed, big TV, two large windows with floor-to-ceiling curtains. The bathroom was also very spacious with the usual little extras like shampoo, lotion and shower caps (also a nice heated towel rack and big bath). The room was immaculately cleaned. The room also comes with an iron, safe, hair-dryer, robes, fridge and teas making facilities (the provided hot chocolate was very tasty in our nice mugs). We then had a couples back massage at the spa (I recommend booking in advance as the couples room is fairly sort after). The spa staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, showing us to a little relaxation room with cushioned loungers, herbal teas, apples and magazines. The actual massage was heavenly, the girls really knew what they were doing! Dinner was the highlight of the stay for us, it was truly fantastic! There's a lovely cosy lounge to sit in where you can have some drinks and peruse the menu. The library room is grand and majestic. I would like to mention our waiter Peter, who was very friendly and went out of his way to make us some fabulous cocktails (some of his own creation). I would say our meal was the best I've ever had. My boyfriend is a VERY fussy eater, he eats no vegetables, and they were very accommodating. We also ate in the conservatory bar and the food was to a very high standard. The pool and Jacuzzi are very good, and although the sauna and steam rooms are a little outdated I was informed by the staff they were to be refurbished in the near future.
Overall, it was a wonderful stay. It is a family-run hotel which should be proud of every single member of staff. Highly recommend to anyone. Will be going back very soon.

Room Tip: Recommend upgraded to a deluxe room, they are amazing!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Stayed here for a short break at the end of January with my boyfriend. The hotel was lovely. We made use of the spa and had a couple of treatments which were great and also ate in the hotel on the second night of our stay. The food was execellent and the staff always really friendly and helpful. Great value if u book through secret escapes as u get a good room rate and discount off food and spa treatments. Would recommend for anyone looking for a short break. Only minor let down was shower in bedroom was not great and that the sauna was not working but didnt impact really on the break to be an issue. Would go back again and will be recommending to friends and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We went to Matfen for an overnight stay. When we arrived about 11am were told to use facilities until room ready. This was at 2pm earlier than advertised. I had a treatment and we then had dinner in the library. The following morning after a great breakfast we were told we could use facilities for the rest of day. We had lunch in the Golf Club which again was great. All in all a fantastic place to stay with lovely staff.

Room Tip: As far as I can see every room is good. But if you want a view ask for room at the front looking ov...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamhogg45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was our second visit to Matfen hall, this time we booked through secret escapes. on arrival we were welcomed by Mark and the lovely ladies on reception, who were very friendly and professional, and helpful. Our room was clean and had everything we needed, and we do like the bathrobes.!!.we enjoy using the spa/pool and everything was in full working order.. a lovely relaxing atmosphere.
We booked our evening meal in the golf club just next door which was excellent value and service.and then a relaxing, nightcap in front of the large log fire in the library.Breakfast was filling and excellent and the service from all the staff was excellent, very professional and friendly, unlike some of the guests who don't have any manners,and left their please and thank yous at home ! we are already looking forward to our next stay ard planning our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Came for a birthday treat.. Great venue on first impressions. Started with a hot stone massage, slightly disappointing actually! Love the 'relaxing' room, and staff by the pool were excellent. Amazing smoothies. Afternoon tea was amazing, all homemade and the waitress, I think her name was Steph? - was excellent! So helpful and one of the best waitresses I have come across. A credit to Matfen Hall. Overall a fantastic, relaxing day.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georginag798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,141 reviews
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
13.2 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range: $159 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing