We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were slightly apprehensive after reading other reviews, but the stay of one night was excellent. The staff were highly professional, friendly and helpful.

The room was in a great location with amazing views of the gardens. The bathroom was large and very clean but the shower could have used a bit more power. Also, the half inch gap at the bottom of the door let in some light during the night.

We enjoyed a gourmet deal and were not disappointed. The afternoon tea was lovely in the drawing room. The evening meal was well-presented, tasty and filling but we got the wrong bottle of wine despite pointing this out. We were told that the hotel had just replaced its stockist but no-one told us when giving us the wine list. Bit disappointing. The Matfen breakfast was lovely and the Eggs Florentine met with approval.

We spent a couple of hours in the spa area where the Fire and Ice facilities helped chill us out as did the Indian head massage.

It was a bit pricey but no complaints from us other than that. Really worth a night to treat self!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,002 - 1,008 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We simply loved every minute. We are new to tripadvisor but felt we needed to share this place. Great food.... Great surroundings and great golf. Simply a beautiful place to stay. The conservatory is fabulous. A round of golf, a bacon sandwich and a beautiful view to look at. What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ironman2489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Beautiful setting with staff who are sold on service. Stunning views and rooms that blow the mind. It was a superb experience and one which I hope to repeat again very soon. The largest bathroom I have ever seen, all creature comforts with classic style. The conservatory bar, overlooking the golf course was relaxed and informal, just what was needed after a long trip. Breakfast was very good, a wide choice which caters for all tastes.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baileys01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have just had our second stay at Matfen Hall and remain as impressed as ever. Located just a few miles off the A69 near Newcastle the hotel sits in beautiful countryside near to Hadrians Wall. Offering walks, fishing and golf the hotel also has a spa, swimming pool, saunas and gym which are available to all residents. We enjoyed afternoon tea in the conservatory overlooking the golf course and shared a delicious range of sandwiches, desserts and scones. Dinner was exceptional and you don't have too dress too smart to attend - shirt and trousers is fine. The staff were polite, attentive and very professional and are a real credit to the hotel. The only negative is that (if you are bothered) the wi-fi is a bit hit and miss in places as is the telephone signal however, if you want to escape as we did this is not an issue. Overall, we had another enjoyable stay and will be returning. The Hotel offers real value for money for someone wanting to do something special without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Deluxe double is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel. Food, rooms, facilities, spa, all first rate. The golf course looked very nice too although my husband didn't have chance to try it out. No doubt we will be returning so he will be able to use the facilities then. There were some nice places in the area well worth visiting if you have the time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank green_naturelover100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Arrived at Matfen and was impressed with the views, our room with a balcony was very nice even after paying the extra for the balcony, which came in very hand as it was very warm through out the night, even while raining, it keep the room cool and had a good nights sleep.
on arrival we were greeted by a lovely young lady who explained all the facilities available to us.
We went straight to the pool and saunas as soon as we could. the swimming pool and saunas were very good , nice and clean.
We booked into the library restaurant, where we had a wonderful meal, only complaint was we seem to wait a while for the cheese board, but I was soon reminded by the wife whats the hurry it was very relaxing and a fantastic room, swam again at 6,30 am before breakfast, which was very nice lovely cooffee.

Room Tip: Got to give this place a try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saferad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here in a couple of weeks ago on a sunday night and have to say we were not impressed at all!
Firstly lets just start by saying the building and grounds are absolutely stunning and when we arrived i thought we were going to have a luxurious stay!
Check in was very smooth and all information we needed was given- we were given room 35 which over looked the back of the building/car park/wedding function room. The room was spotless and well appointed with a large bathroom , 2 comfortable chairs and table, tv, dressing table and double bed.
We used the spa facilities on the afternoon of our stay, it is a small spa and with not all the facilities were working in the Fire & Ice room. The pool was a nice size and the jacuzzi a nice touch .
As we were dining in the hotel in the evening we decided to have a drink in the conservatory bar so we could have a look at the menu , the bar has stunning views of the golf course. The drinks were over priced and the bar just lacked any sort of atmosphere. The floor of this bar could of done with a good clean too!! So we decided to eat at the Keepers Lodge bar which was used mainly by the golfers- we ordered our drinks which were much cheaper than the conservatory bar and then had a look at the menu. Loads of choice from Lasagne, salad and wedges to hot beef sandwich and chips. The food we ordered came and we were disgusted at the quality of what i would call a basic meal. The food was greasy, over cooked and mine swimming in water!! We complained and were asked if we wanted anything else but declined.
There was a wedding underway at Matfen hall as we had seen the wedding party earlier, and boy did we know they were there later!! We were woken at 12.50 p.m. but a woman and 2 male wedding guests swearing/shouting/fighting each other -we tried to call reception to alert someone but no answer, we then tried ringing the night porter and no answer again but we left a message. The noise was getting louder and louder and there was nothing we could do about it -this eventually stopped at about 2.15a.m.and we thought we could settle down for the night only to be woken about 30 minutes later by more drunk/or the same people coming to bed themselves- they had no consideration at all for the other guests and were shouting and carrying on and then started kicking our bedroom door!! this again went on until well after 3.30 a.m. and by that point me and my fiance were loosing the will to live!
This is the first time i have been away for a romantic/relaxing break and come back home feeling exhausted.
We did speak to the manager the next morning to advise of our issues during our stay and he explained that they have a zero policy for that behaviour and would have called the police- well im sorry but when guests cant get a hold of staff on reception/night porter when theres a problem then its a poor show- i would hate to think i had a medical emergency.
Im awaiting a letter from the duty manager after he had looked into the matter- we will see what is forthcoming as im not holdng my breath!
As for Matfen Hall i would not return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jakeyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,192 reviews
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
13.2 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range: $121 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing