We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“luxurious hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“luxurious hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Matfen hall for our anniversary. We booked through secret escapes. The hotels setting was spectacular. We arrived a little early so decided to try the keepers lodge club house for some food. We were very surprised how lovely the food was and very reasonably priced. The staff were lovely and service fantastic. Overlooking the vast golf course was a bonus. Check in was fast and efficient. We mentioned that it was our anniversary and was upgraded immediately to a lovely room. The room was large and well equipped with a separate dressing area and lovely large ensuite. The little extras such as fluffy robes and good quality toiletries were lovely. We tried out the spa which was small but very nice and clean. The only disappointment was the crystal steam room and ice fountain weren't working. The staff were very friendly in the spa reception and juice bar. The hotel arranged a taxi for us to visit near by Corbridge which was fabulous. We ate at the Artisan Chinese restaurant (recommended on trip advisor) it was absolutely the best meal ever. On returning to Matfen hall we were greeted by friendly bar staff and enjoyed the rest of the evening in the conservatory bar.Unfortunately on retiring to our room we were rudely awoken by the guests returning to their rooms from the wedding held in the other wing of the hotel at 1am and again at 4am. The guests were very loud right outside our room. Shouting and banging. Our stay was spoilt by this as we did not get a restful nights sleep and was exhausted the next day.This was not the hotels fault but still unacceptable. The breakfast was fantastic and staff amazing. We commented on the noisy guests and the waitress in the breakfast room immediate reported it to the reception. On checking out we also mentioned the noise and apologies given by the receptionist. At that point one of the wedding party rudely butted into our conversation asking where the bridal suite was and not waiting until the receptionist was finished checking us out. How ignorant. The hotel and staff were truly excellent and we shall return but perhaps not when a wedding is taking
place.

Room Tip: Room 19 was overlooking the courtyard and close to the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lmc41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    359
    139
    69
    25
See reviews for
245
792
13
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed here two nights recently - attending a wedding - in the annex and while there were many plusses we were disappointed overall. While it was not as hot as earlier in the summer, the room was like an oven when we checked in late afternoon and far too hot to sleep comfortably without removing the 10.5 tog (!) duvet from it's cover and undoing the safety catch on both windows to enable some cool air to enter. I think we managed to reduce the temperature to a manageable level by the morning. Thankfully the staff didn't close the window. Yes there was a fan, but this is not what is required. Ironically, the rather small looking vent/extractor in the bathroom worked so well there was no condensation after a long shower and with the main door closed!

This is meant to be a 'special' place to stay and it is certainly set amongst some beautiful scenery with lovely gardens, but it felt like it was coasting and some attention to detail had been lost. For example access to the Library dining room was either through a sitting room of sorts or via a corridor which was a complete mess on the Friday evening, with an upended tray with food, serviettes and dirty plates on the floor. Not what you expect to see when going into dinner. There was a wedding evening do underway elsewhere but this isn't really an excuse. The restaurant service was generally not very efficient and, in particular, at breakfast. Although the staff seemed pleasant enough, it made you wonder how well they had been trained. Clearly not to the same standard as the main reception.

Considering the full price of a stay here, value and quality could be improved.

Room Tip: Ask if you overlook the roof of the spa swimming pool, it is quite dark in these rooms and they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WiltshireBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I booked here because I found it on the web, the hotel is perfect in every-way.
Location 10/10
Setting 10/10
Staff 10/10
Ambiance 10/10
Food 10/10
Bedroom 8 10/10
I was so sad that I arrived late and had to leave early next morning - however, it was a fantastic stay-over, I was tired when I arrived. The venue made me make an effort and enjoy the experience, yes I was delighted with every aspect.

Room Tip: Room 8 was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Attended a wedding 18th August. Amazing location of this hotel and rooms lovely.Everything spotless and precise. Bar staff really friendly. Lots of young staff who were keen to help. Great Hall fantastic location for wedding. Breakfast brilliant. Views across golf course beautiful. Loved this hotel and nothing too much trouble for staff.

Room Tip: Overlooking Golf Course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kidshelpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

It started with an excellent champagne afternoon tea and just got better. Relaxing Spa visit and superb standard of room facilities ( we upgraded to the older section of the Hall which was lovely). The evening meal was delicious and the choices difficult as so many lovely meals to chose from. Great wine too! Even breakfast offered something different and extremely tasty. The staff are super efficient and polite but somehow manage to create a laid back atmosphere. Altogether a relaxing and wholly enjoyable stay - highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed one night at Matfen Hall in August 2013 to celebrate our sixth wedding anniversary. We were married at Matfen in 2007 and have fond memories. This stay lived up to expectations and beyond. The accommodation and facilities were excellent, and all of the staff were friendly, welcoming and polite.
The food was first rate, from our lunch in the conservatory (featuring a perfect tuna Nicoise) through to dinner, which was a really classy experience. The steak was superb!
We even found an anniversary card in our room from the staff.
The building and surroundings were beautiful, scenic and very peaceful.
I would recommend Matfen to anyone who has the opportunity of visiting.
Top notch!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at Matfen was a surprise birthday gift from my husband; a time to relax and unwind without the kids. Having heard great things about the place, I was really looking forward to our stay. Arrival and check in was quick (even the slightly barbed comment from the receptionist about being a teacher and having lots of time off was quickly swept away). Our room (15) was lovely, however the 3 incredibly large moths were quite off-putting! My husband spoke to reception and was told we could move rooms, as they had nothing to get rid of them, so we were moved to room 14 - a substantially larger room, with a substantially larger moth! My husband gallantly climbed onto the windowsill to catch it, and in doing so disturbed what I can only assume was at least 10 years worth of dust from the top of the curtains. I know the building is old, but is the really a need to preserve the dust? Then I spotted the old champagne cork. And the large dark stain on the carpet. The Spa was disappointing - the tropical shower clearly has a water problem and one of the rooms wasn't working. Food was 'meh' - my husband called it pretentious - and after 3 hours sleep due to the incessant scratching from within the wall we checked out straight after breakfast. Beautiful building, most of the staff were exceptionally polite, but all in all a pretty disappointing experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Derwent Manor
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Property: Matfen Hall
Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing