We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Northumbrian Luxury”
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Northumbrian Luxury”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our four night stay there was very satisfactory and good value on a 'Secret Escapes' package. Our room was comfortable, quiet, clean and very well equipped. Staff were mostly pleasant and helpful (except for one who was sulky that we dared to ask for missing serviettes) and there was very good food in the restaurant. We didn't use the spa or pool as the pool really had room for only four swimmers and was often busy at the times we would have found convenient, but it did look delightful. The menu had some excellent choices, but not enough variety for a whole week's stay. Flavours were excellent. Service was efficient, although not as friendly fast, or accommodating to individual requests as our favourite hotel. The surrounding countryside is charming and the vista from the hotel over the golf course is impressive if rather open. We couldn't find that many footpaths for walkers starting from the hotel, though. The superb Great Hall, used for weddings could have been the model for Hogwarts and photos thrilled our grandaughter. . The hotel is located within a short drive from Hexham and Corbridge, both of which are worth a visit, and a cheap 40 minute rail trip from Hexham takes a scenic route down the Tyne valley to Newcastle. Further afield there are several places of interest along Hadrian's wall. Rothbury (Cragside), Alnwick and the golden beaches of the coast are an hour away.
Altogether we found it a very good place for a relaxing and enjoyable four days, and feel sure that it was be a fantastic location for a wedding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdfisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    362
    140
    69
    27
See reviews for
250
801
13
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

This lovely, large old mansion has been tastefully converted into a luxurious spa hotel set in beautiful grounds amid golf courses. Northumberland at its best!
The room was very comfortable, although the bed was only a double, for the price of one night's stay it would be good if they could put in a king size bed. Breakfast was excellent, and the staff were cheerful and very helpfull.
I probably won't go back there but would recommend it to someone looking for somewhere luxurious to stay near Morpeth. I hope they replace the carpets in the corridors soon, as they were very tired looking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a good 3 night stay here on a "special" offer. The whole experience was very good, but we left feeling that it could have been better. The location is superb and the views from the restaurant etc are stunning. All the staff are friendly, but there is just the feeling that they are not really organised. At both breakfast and dinner there were plenty of staff, but most of the time they seemed to be just standing around. The food was good,but the menu could have been altered a bit more frequently. (On one night all 4 starters included cheese)

The swimming pool and changing rooms were fine, the jacuzzi and the steam rooms seemed a bit cool for what they were.

The bar had a limited choice of british beers, with nothing local.

However all in all good value for money.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the golf course would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leedsdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went with my family to Matfen Hall for afternoon tea on the day of my birthday.

On entering the drawing room there was only one waitress on duty and I now believe that she was not only serving but was also putting together the afternoon teas.

We were a party of 6, but had to rearrange the furniture to allow us all to sit around the table. The end of the table was right up against the fireplace, so we moved the 2 settees and table to allow for a chair to be placed at that end.

The sandwiches were ham and mustard, beef and horseradish, salmon and creme fraich and egg mayonaise. The waitress asked us if the sandwiches were alright for everyone and 4 of us requested no mustard or horseradish with the ham and beef. The ham and beef were very bland, they obviously relied on the relish to give it much needed taste.

The rest of the afternoon tea was made up of scones and cakes.

The scones, 2 each were a plain and a fruit with cream and jam.

The cakes were a small piece of fruit cake and a chocolate torte type cake, a macaroon and a small glass containing jelly and fruit.

We were told that tea and coffee would be replensihed when requested and it was.

We bought a seperate bottle of bubbly and this was served.

At the end of the afternoon, the waitress came out with a birthday cake and candles, which my husband had requested when he booked the table a week ago. We were all full having eaten our tea and so said we would take it home, this is when we were all suprised when it was presented to us in it's Asda box. I have looked on the Asda website and found the cake priced at £5.00.

I would have thought that an establishment like Matfen would have had a chef who was able to make a small celebration cake. I was not impressed at the overall standard of food served and it makes me wonder what else of the afternoon tea was actually made at Matfen. I suspect because of the standard most if not all was bought in from either Asda or another supplier.

Very average and very disappointing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and I hope your concerns have now been addressed via our communication.

Yours sincerely

Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed just the one night at Matfen Hall and will definitely be going back in the future. We were there to meet with friends for a special event and the staff were friendly and efficient thorough out our stay. A wedding party was also taking place when we arrived, but this had no adverse impact on our group at all. In fact it was lovely to see the couple occasionally enjoying their day. During the evening my wife managed to spill the contents of a hot cup of coffee on herself and the bed linen. This was dealt with quickly and the member of staff who arrange a complete change without fuss was more worried about possible harm to my wife than anything else. A great stay in lovely surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredDave_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The drive into the hotel is very impressive and the hotel itself lives up to the expectations. The surrounding area is mainly the hotels golf courses, but this adds to the great view from the dining room.
Our bedroom was lovely, spacious and comfortable. Our only complaint was that the room was unbearably hot the first night, this was rectified by leaving the windows open all day.
Our evening meal was scrumptious with plenty of choice and mainly locally sourced meat and vegetables. The breakfasts were also very good, with perfectly cooked poached eggs.
All the staff we came into contact with were very friendly, pleasant and efficient. Sometimes the service in the conservatory bar was very slow and laid-back as only one person in the bar.
If there are no functions on it is worth seeing the great hall for the staircase alone.
We will stay here again if possible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night in June to use the spa and have dinner after doing the local Go Ape course in the morning. The hotel and grounds are lovely looking and the staff on reception very helpful. We had a good lunch in the bar overlooking the golf course and then spa treatments in the afternoon which were lovely. The spa itself is nice and our twin room was a good size.
The let down was the dinner in the evening. We decided to use the conservatory restaurant rather than the library as we didn't want anything overly fancy or pricey. Perhaps it was because it was Sunday night, but there were only 2 staff working in the conservatory to run the bar and serve food. They were obviously struggling to keep up because the bar itself had about 30 empty glasses on it! We both had a Tuna salad, when it arrived there was not cutlery and the waiter took over 5 mins to come back with it. By the time I ate it the tuna was luke warm and the poached egg was stone cold. This could have been a one off as there was quite a large group in the conservatory at the same time which perhaps hand't been taken into account but it did take the edge off the stay a little.

Having said that I would visit again as the golf course looks lovely and I'd like to give that a go!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments, following your recent stay at Matfen Hall.

I am pleased that your overall stay was enjoyable, however I was sorry to learn of the disappointment you felt with the service in the Conservatory Bar, during your dinner and please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls you experienced.

I can assure you this is not the 'norm' and I hope I have the opportunity to welcome you back to Matfen Hall at some point in the future, so we can restore your 'faith' with us.

Yours sincerely


Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
13.2 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Property: Matfen Hall
Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing