We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel excellence”
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Hotel excellence”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Four of us, two friends, my wife and I have just spent three days at Matfen Hall and it was excellent in every way. Every member of the staff was always very helpful, welcoming and smiling. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone from the receptionist to the room cleaner. The food was up to 5 star quality presented and served to to a standard which was perfection.
There was one fault in our visit. It snowed and was very cold so we did not get a good look around the area. Good reason to return. Oh yes!!

Room Tip: Every room I saw was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordKilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest

I am pleased to confirm the snow has now gone!

It was great to hear how much your party enjoyed their recent stay at Matfen Hall and I thank you for taking the time to share your views on our trip advisor website.

I hope I can look forward to welcoming you all back to Matfen Hall in the near future.

Yours sincerely


Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    369
    140
    69
    27
See reviews for
254
804
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tyneside
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed at Matfen on Sunday 17th Feb, our first visit to a hotel highly thought of by friends. The standard room was well heated and the decor subtle. Like another guest, we suffered from a lack of hot water on the Sunday, which the receptionist said was due to a boiler tripping out. The water from the shower was only marginally better the next morning; not good enough IMO.
I had phoned ahead to book a table in the restaurant, but upon arrival, there was no record of my booking. They could accomodate us in the Library, but at a later time than I had originally asked for. No excuse for that I'm afraid.
Quality of the food was good but very much nouvelle cuisine style portion size. If you're an enthusiastic eater, bring some bait with you!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TynesideFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Further to your recent visit to Matfen Hall, I am sorry you had problems with the hot water during your stay. We were experiencing problems with the hot water heating system, which although were rectified the next day, I can fully appreciate how frustrating this must have been!

We do encourage guests to pre-book their dinner reservation in advance of their stay and I can only apologise that your request was not adhered to.

I am surprised you were disappointed with the portion size, however your comments are taken on board and I shall review with my Head Chef.

I do hope you will consider returning to the hotel at some point in the future, where I would welcome the opportunity to restore your ‘faith’ with us.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

myself and my cousin booked the pamper afternoon, from arriving to leaving the staff were very pleasant. We had full use of the facilities and everything was explained to us. the treatments were fabulous, i had a lovely lady called Jill. it was very relaxing. we then had afternoon tea, finally we had to go back in the hot tub. i wish i had one of those.
Thanks for a lovely afternoon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smurfs76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest

You are very welcome and I am delighted your cousin and yourself enjoyed your ‘pamper’ afternoon with us.

I will pass on your kind words to Jill and we look forward to you visiting Matfen Hall again soon.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed for one night at Matfen as a sort of hen do with work colleagues. My room was beautiful large and comfortable and easy to find. We had a meal in the Library (I think) which was delicious and the room was fantastic with a great atmosphere. We finished it off with coffees by the log fire which was fab. The next day we had a lovely breakfast followed by a day of pampering and spa treatments, a beautiful lunch (in our robes) and then more relaxation. Absolutely fabulous place with a relaxing atmosphere and lovely staff. Hoping to book up to go back with my husband for my birthday! :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lawbird274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest

I am so pleased your colleagues and yourself had a wonderful stay at Matfen Hall recently and you were able to relax and enjoy the general ambience of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DURHAM
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We have stayed at Matfen Hall on many occasions and it has always been a very enjoyable relaxing experience, we have loved the rooms, the food, the hotel and its staff. But having just returned from our stay sadly it was a poor experience.
Our room although very clean was the smallest we have had at Matfen with high windows making feel smaller. We returned from a walk and decided that I would have a hot bubble bath before dinner, the bath water was tepid so I called reception but this went to voicemail. After waiting some time I decided to take a shower (also cool and certainly not relaxing!) This got our evening off to a bad start, whilst getting ready we received a call from reception who said they did have a problem maintenance had been called to rectify it but we were about to go for our evening meal so it was too late for us.
We arrived in the drawing room in plenty of time to look at the menu and enjoy a drink but service was slow and it took 25 minutes for this to happen. Although we had booked ahead of time we were dissappointed to find that the library room was full and we were shown to the less atmospheric print room which we shared with two couples, sadly we faced the door and could see no-one. We returned to the empty conservatory for a night cap the barman disappeared so we just had the one drink and sadly off to bed, NOT THE NIGHT WE HAD HOPED FOR AT ALL!
Upon checkout we handed in our customer comments which we had been given with our bill we explained to the receptionist it had been a poor experience she said the hotel was very busy and there had had a problem with the hot water they had had to move 6 guests and we left with her comment that the manager would be in touch, but sadly nobody has.
We have always held Matfen in high esteem but sadly feel let down this time.

Room Tip: Whilst a classic room is adequate an upgraded deluxe is worthwhile
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DENISE34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, following your recent stay at Matfen Hall. I am sorry you were disappointed with various aspects of your stay and I would like to extend my sincere apologies for any problems you experienced.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further and would ask that you contact me direct at the hotel.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Excellent one night stay at Matfen. Staff were friendly, helpful and professional. Food was great. Hotel is just lovely. Stunning setting too. This was our third visit over a couple of years and just as good as first one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you like old world charm stay in the beautiful rooms overlooking the golf course at the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landj123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest

I am delighted your recent stay was so enjoyable and your review is greatly appreciated – thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Matfen Hall on many more occasions to come.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed two nights for a valentine break on a bed and breakfast deal in a deluxe room with a bottle of chilled wine in our room on arrival. Our room was very spacious with a huge comfy bed large en-suite bathroom and lovely window seating, everything you need for a break was available in the beautiful room. Breakfast was either a cooked or plenty of continental to choose from which was lovely, would recommend the freshly cooked porridge with warm cream, very filling. On our first night we dined in the conservatory the meal was filling and tasteful, the only downside to dining here was it is a cold room and the weather was awful which made it feel even cooler, its a lovely room for warm summer months. On valentines evening we dined in the fine dining room were there was a set price menu for the evening with a choice of courses which we enjoyed and had a lovely evening with well managed attentive, polite staff.
During the day we used the spa pool and facilities which are a lovely way to spend your days relaxind and unwinding.
We will certainly re-visit matfen sometime in the future and would recommend to family and friends. Thanks to all the hard working staff who made our stay perfect

Room Tip: we were in room 11 we believe is the old part of the hall
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Young_at_Heart76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words following your Valentine’s break at Matfen Hall. I will ensure my team are aware of your review as it is just reward for them, when one of guests acknowledges their hard work and commitment – thank you!

We look forward to welcoming your family, friends and yourselves back to Matfen Hall in the near future.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,092 reviews
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
13.2 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Property: Matfen Hall
Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing