We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon tea”
Review of Matfen Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Matfen Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea”
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

This is our second visit for afternoon tea. This time we had per booked Christmas afternoon tea and pre paid. On arrival we were given the normal menu which had a nice choice weren't what we had arranged this was quickly resolved. Our order came well presented although could have had a choice of more Christmas sandwich fillings not just the same as the regular menu. We were on 2 occasions offered more hot drinks however the opportunity to up sell us Champagne was missed. The staff never rushed us even though they were well into diner service when we chose to leave. Our left over cakes were wrapped so we could take them home. On leaving we got almost out of the door before a very panicky member of staff ran up with our bill having pre paid as a gift as was not very impressed but it was quickly resolved. Communication needs to be improved. However we would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pands178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, following your recent Afternoon Tea at Matfen Hall.

Overall, I am pleased you enjoyed your visit with us, however, I take all your comments on board and will use this feedback with my team going forward.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    376
    144
    69
    27
See reviews for
259
820
13
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We came to matfen hall through a deal on secret escapes where we paid just 55 pounds a night for a standard Classic room and breakfast for two nights for our honeymoon. The building itself is beautiful and very easy to find. On arrival I very cheekily asked the lovely lady on reception if we could possibly have free upgrade as it was our honeymoon, and she did so without hesitation. We stayed in a Premier room which was huge, luxurious and had stunning views of the italian gardens and golf course. We made full use of the fantastic spa facilities and enjoyed some lovely meals in the Conservatory and Keepers lodge. If you get a chance take one of the walks around the stunning countryside the hotel has some excellent walking route maps available.The pretty village of Matfen is also worth a look and has a lovely coffee shop and county pub.To top it all the breakfast is the best I have ever had and the staff could not be more helpful and friendly. Thank you so much for a honeymoon I will never forget !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest

Congratulations on your recent marriage! On behalf of all the team at Matfen Hall, may I take this opportunity to wish you a long and happy life together!

It was lovely to read how much you enjoyed your honeymoon with us and I look forward to welcoming you back to Matfen Hall for many more anniversaries to come!

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our daughter was married at Matfen Hall Hotel on 1st December 2012. We'd booked the event roughly a year ago and were keenly looking forward to spending the weekend at the Hotel and enjoying hosting all of our friends and family at the wedding.
We weren't to be disappointed. The venue, organisation, food and accommodation were all first class. The staff in the entire hotel, not only those involved in the wedding, were so professional, understated and yet so helpful. Our Master of Ceremonies, Ian, was excellent and so attentive we knew we were in safe hands.
The venue itself is spectacular, especially at Christmas time. The East Wing and Great Hall are so full of atmosphere and the lighting, candles and log fires really added to the sense of occaision.
We really can't think of anything negative to say about Matfen and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms in the older part of the hotel are classical in design, very large and comfortable; very m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted your daughter’s wedding was such an enjoyable and memorable day with us and on behalf of all the team here at Matfen Hall, we wish both your daughter and her husband a happy and prosperous life together.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Matfen Hall on many more occasions to come.

Yours sincerely


Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldersby, Thirsk United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I visited this hotel on the 24th November this year for what must be about our 120th visit in four years. The restaurant was fully booked and one of the staff called Emma was doing her first solo shift as Maitre De. She was quite nervous. She needn`t have been. She did a fantastic job and as usual, the food was to die for. We also had a drink in The Conservatory Bar and she made a point of coming over to chat to us. Great stay in a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "old side".
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review, following your recent visit to Matfen Hall.

Your kind words are greatly appreciated and encouraging and I will ensure Emma is aware of them.

Thank you again.

Yours sincerely


Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Me and My husband spent a weekend at this hotel. The staf were very friendly, rooms clean and spacious and the food was out of this world. Ordering breakfast the night before to be delivered to the room was definatly the right choice for us on a romantic weekend break. would recomend this hotel to eveyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest

I am delighted your husband and yourself enjoyed your recent weekend with us and I will ensure your kind words are passed through to my team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Matfen Hall on many more occasions to come.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
856 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

As a hotel this place is doing a perfectly good job for the money. It is a fine historic building set in delightful grounds. The older parts of the Hall such as The Library and Print Room are charming majestic spaces with nice views across the golf course, but the the newer elements are very ordinary. The Conservatory Bar in particular is an over lit unalluring spot utterly devoid of atmosphere or design flair. Our room was perfectly adequate, clean and fresh, well equipped, roomy enough and with a terrace overlooking a pretty church. The bathroom had both a bath and shower plus nice products. Staff were friendly, chatty and capable. The biggest let down was dinner and this is why sadly I have only given an average rating. My husband and I both had 3 courses and thought them all poor and uninspiring. A souffle starter in particular was so overdone it was more like the texture of a dry cake. Dinner prices are way too ambitious for food of this quality. Breakfast though was fine. And all in all we felt the hotel to be very good value for money particularly as guests also have use of the award winning leisure facilities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at Matfen Hall. It was lovely to read how much you appreciated the splendour of our beautiful hotel.

I was sorry to read that you had not enjoyed your dining experience with us and I would be happy to discuss this further with you and would ask that you contact me direct at the hotel.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Have just returned from a one night stay and i must say it was faultless. We arrived on friday 23rd nov for the brendan healy night after checking in we were in our room within 5 minutes a classic double this room was outstanding beautifull bathroom and shower soft towels and one of the best beds i have ever slept in. We had dinner in the great hall staff and service as well as the food could not be faulted breakfast next morning again spot on loverly matfen full english as well as your fruit jucies cerealls tea coffe and toast great spa facilites.

OVERALL
great hotel in beautiful grounds
great staff always met you with a smile
this hotel to me is totaly faultless
I WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigbri2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BernieBloodworth, General Manager at Matfen Hall, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Guest

It was great to read how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Such high praise is a great reward for the whole team here at Matfen, which I know they will be delighted with – thank you!

I do hope you will be able to join us again soon.

Yours sincerely



Bernard Bloodworth
General Manager
Matfen Hall Hotel Golf & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matfen
13.5 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,125 reviews
19.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
17.3 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
13.2 mi away
Best Western Derwent Manor Hotel
6.9 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matfen Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matfen Hall

Property: Matfen Hall
Address: Near Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Matfen NE20 0RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Matfen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Matfen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Matfen Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matfen Hall Hotel, Golf and Spa winner of Large Hotel of the Year 2015 at the Visit England Awards is located just 15 miles west of Newcastle in the charming village of Matfen and is the ancestral home of Sir Hugh and Lady Blackett. This stately home is set in 300 acres of parkland and has been a hotel since 1999. Enjoy true Northumbrian hospitality at Matfen Hall Hotel. The Hotel offers 53 bedrooms, individually decorated in traditional and contemporary styles. Our golf estate includes a 27-hole course, par 3 course and driving range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Otel, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Matfen Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matfen Hall Hotel Matfen
Matfen Hall Newcastle Upon Tyne
Matfen Hall Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing