We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and lovely staff”
Review of Black Bull Inn Pub

Black Bull Inn Pub
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Escrick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: A traditional country pub set in the heart of Escrick and only a stone's throw away from historic York and McAurthur Glen designer outlet. Perfectly placed in the village of Escrick and away from busy roads.The Black Bull inn is the perfect retreat wether you are on business or pleasure. You will expect very good accomodation with superb home cooked food, which is sourced from our local suppliers.We serve a selection of fine wines and award-winning ales , so why not join us here at the Black Bull Inn and we promise to make your stay a "home from home".The friendly atmosphere of this family run business is proving popular with both commercial and leisure customer's. Our 'Hands on' approach, with everyone working as part of the team, encourages our staff to relax and converse in an efficient, polite manner, whilst retaining a friendly, but professional service. We are immensely proud of our staff. It is this Ethos that we believe, encourages our guests to return time after time.please also see the BLACK BULL INN, ESCRICK trip advisor page
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Delicious food and lovely staff”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a family meal here, food was superb and the staff very friendly. Lovely pub with 2 open fires, nice bar and good dining areas in a lovely village.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heidi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    33
    12
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cosy pub with good food and ale”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We've been in here twice over last 3 weeks and had a warm and friendly welcome on each occasion.

We first popped in for a drink on a Sunday lunchtime as we were staying at the nearby Parsonage Hotel for a few days after getting married.

The pub had recently been taken over and looked lovely ... roaring fires, cosy seats and plenty of good ales to choose between.

We got chatting to the new landlord who sat they were going to start a new menu in early Jan so we made a point of going back for the mother-in-laws birthday to try the food.

We'd been warned while booking that the pub would be very busy as there was a private party on, but they managed to squeeze us in. We had 5 mains: lamb, pork belly, chicken sizzler, gammon and burger which were all excellent and the meat cooked to perfection. The new m-in-law stated that it was the best and most tender lamb she'd ever tasted ... a result indeed!

We were served both times by a friendly young woman who was as efficient behind the bar as serving our food (and very patient as we took some time to choose our food from the excellent looking new menu).

One (minor) gripe was the lack of spirits ... i.e no cointrea or tia maria but everything else was perfect and we hope to make a 3rd trip (for food) very soon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub”
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner popped into the black bull whilst passing through the village, and what a nice change! The new owners (Keith and Linda) were really welcoming, with some great real ales on tap and lovely open log fires. The meal we had was also great, even off a temporary menu. We'll definitely be popping in again soon! Would highly recommend . . . looks like this pub is finally finding its feet again!

Helpful?
Thank Dobby0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We had Saturday lunch here today and were rather disappointed.
We arrived just after 2 and the place was empty, which wasn't a good sign. We chose it because they allow dogs in the bar area, so we came straight from a long walk at Skipwith Common. The card machine wasn't working so we needed to pay cash so I was directed "just down the road" to a cash point. That turned out to take me 35 minutes to walk there and back, but not as much of a problem as it might have been as our food hadn't arrived by then.
My wife had fish and chips which was OK, I had belly pork which I can only say was badly influenced by MasterChef on the telly. Poor pork, lots of bone and gristle, hardly any meat to get at, accompanied by a small potato cake and a few slivers of vegetables. Not what I was expecting after a long walk.
Poor, sorry but we won't be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davidemslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“best beef for miles”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Having eaten here a few times i can say the food is superb, the beef is always perfectly cooked for me and of excellent quality, i love the homemade chips, the portion size is really good as is the service, also enjoyed the homemade dessert, pubs that make their own desserts always get my vote. there are a lot of pubs that don't come anywhere close to this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Bull Inn Pub also viewed

Escrick, Selby District
 
Escrick, Selby District
 

Been to Black Bull Inn Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing