We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Me and 3 friends booked a night here with the overnight indulgence package. Such amazing value for money! The rooms were lovely, comfortable and clean. The spa was so relaxing loads of facilities included, the treatment included was amazing and all of the staff were friendly and helpful. Loved all of the food included and we are already planning our next visit!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Vikki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    232
    105
    56
    33
See reviews for
126
431
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We are regular visitors to the Parsonage and visit mainly to take advantage of the excellent spa attached to the hotel.

We have always had excellent experiences here. Food and staff are very good. Hotel and grounds are very attractive. Some rooms a little tired but never detracts from the overall stay.

Our only not so good experiences have been on one occasion we were next to a room with very unruly and (seemingly?) uncontrollable young children. Another occasion we were next to what seemed to be a very noisey boiler room. On both occasions the hotel swiftly moved us and even upgraded us as part of an apology (excellent customer service).

The spa is excellent - quite modern - bright swimming area and very warm so you don't get cold relaxing around the pool. Sauna and 3 different steam rooms add to the experience. Salon treatments somewhat expensive but probably typical.

Room Tip: Beware noisy (to us) boiler room on ground floor?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TurboTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England
Level Contributor
244 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

My mother and I stayed for the evening as a double birthday and Mothers Day treat prior to an early photoshoot nearby the next day. Despite me being ill on the day, we wanted to make the most of the spa on site and checked in around 2.30pm. The receptionist ignored us whilst she wrote something down and chatted on the phone. She didn't acknowledge us at all during this 2-3 minute period and we felt a little silly just stood there with our cases. Eventually we were allocated a room and two members of staff were called to take us to our room before one of them eventually agreed to do so. This staff member was a more pleasant and chatted to us before telling us her name (which now escapes me) and mentioned that she'd be on reception all evening should we require any assistance.

The room itself was basic and a little dated decor-wise but very fresh feeling and clean. The room also overlooked the lovely gardens but was a little noisy through the evening due to the staircase being right next door and a couple of late arrivals who made little effort to be quiet. Bathroom was well stocked with toiletries and towels.

The spa is small but adults only-total bliss!! Unfortunately we were advised via a notice at reception that the spa pool was not working due to an issue with the air jets which was explained to us in more detail on arrival by the spa staff. Very disappointing. The spa also charge £5 for robe hire. None of this is refundable and we could only have one towel. Ludicrous!!! Needless to say we refused to hire robes. The pool is small but clean and there's a salt steam room, a standard steam room, sauna and aromatherapy room to relax in. One major quibble would be about one of the maintenance staff who continued to spray the steps down to the changing rooms even when I was coming down them, spraying my feet with detergent as I did so! When I returned he just ignored me and continued spraying. Very rude indeed.

Disappointingly the local Thai restaurant is closed on Mondays, so we chose to eat in the hotel instead. The lounge seemed to be fairly busy and we were seated here whilst the staff seemed to ignore us for half an hour. My mother had to get up and go to the bar for drinks and ask for menus whilst everyone else had drinks and menus brought to them! Eventually we were seated, however the restaurant didn't seem to be that busy at all and we were left wondering what all the delay was about. By this time I felt extremely ill and rather crabby as a result, so we were pleased to finally get our 3 courses from the Yorkshire menu which was hot, fresh and with generous portions and excellent value for money.

Breakfast was good with hot buffet items to help yourself to and an array of pastries, meat and cheese, cereals and fresh fruit. Checkout the next day was better than check in however still rather slow.

Overall a comfortable stay with decent food, however customer service leaves a lot to be desired. I would stay again at the right price, making sure I bring my own robe for the spa!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We visited Cloisters Spa for the day as the hotel we were staying in (Deighton Lodge) had a 15% off deal with the spa. My husband and I were very impressed with the spa and facilities. You are provided with a robe, towel and slippers, some of the towels had seen better days! There are various rooms to use, steam, salt, sauna and aromatherapy. The Jacuzzi was gorgeous too but on the day we visited the blowers were not working, we were still charged full price though! This was the only thing that was disappointing. Perhaps a complimentary drink for the Jacuzzi not working?? We had afternoon tea, thick sandwiches, crisps and a pot of tea for two. £17. I thought that was a little over priced. The swimming pool is lovely and the loungers around the pool side a great touch too. You can pay for additional treatments, massages, waxes etc.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mummy_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great stay, great staff, great food, great spa..... just great!!!! The breakfast was superb, the dinner was superb, the spa was superb - what more can I say! Our room was clean and comfortable... just a great stay!

Room Tip: Our room was next to the boiler house, but this did not detract from it being a wonderful hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Imametrologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

spent one night here on an Amazon voucher costing £69 for 2 , breakfast included.Very impressed with the beautiful building and grounds on arrival .Reception staff very friendly and welcoming .As we were taken to our room in the adjoining Annexed I got the feeling that we were being taken to the servants quarters .Room 42 ok but a bit tired looking .The shower was disgusting , bacteria noticeable along the edge of the shower curtain and in the shower basin .I had to wait until I got home the next day to take a shower .Breakfast very nice and ample choices but so disappointed with the room .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Stopped here whilst visiting York, we booked the overnight indulgence deal which included dinner and use of the spa!

The venue has a 'country house' feel to it, and the rooms were spacious and clean.

The Spa was very clean and the staff welcoming and friendly, the treatments were excellent too!

Dinner was unbelievable value for money, the food choice was fantastic and pretty close to Michelin star dining quality!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escrick
3.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
5.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
19.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
5.8 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsonage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Property: Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Escrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parsonage Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Hotel & spa is set in five acres of beautiful formal gardens and only a short drive from the historical city of York. Boasting 50 stylish decorated bedrooms, each one offers en-suite facilities, flat screen digital tv and wifi. All residents (over 18) have access to Cloisters Spa & Health Club. Dine in our award winning Lascelles restaurant or enjoy afternoon tea in the drawing room or conservatory which overlook the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Parsonage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsonage Country Hotel
Hotel Parsonage Country
Parsonage Hotel & Spa Escrick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing