We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Certificate of Excellence
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great Choice”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

First time at this hotel, booked two rooms as staying one night after racing at York. Could not have wished for better, large excellent ground floor room with good bathroom. Stayed in wing added to very old manor house which maintains all its character and charm, staff very helpful and friendly. We dined in the small but intimate restaurant where the food was excellent and reasonably priced.
In all it proved to be the ideal location and perfect place to lay ones head. I would recommend this hotel to any traveler who wants to have the city of York just a short drive away at a price which will not break the bank, after all you only get what you pay for and our stay was worth every penny.

Room Tip: Ground floor room overlooking the stunning country side a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnHerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    243
    111
    58
    33
See reviews for
136
457
17
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I attended an afternoon tea event at the Parsonage for about 40 people - I was expecting better quality as I had been there before for dinner and thought it was good. However the afternoon tea was not good - the sandwiches were unimaginative, and the bread didn't seem all that fresh. There were small scones (a half of one each) with jam and cream - these were so so. There was a selection of bite sized cakes which looked very unprofessional and not too tasty and a plate of shortbread. The actual cup of tea was very nice. As this was a special event and as we only paid £12.50 per head, I wasn't expecting too much but for a place such as the Parsonage this effort was a little disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel that we booked from a Living Social deal. The hotel was lovely and the grounds looked very picturesque, although it was too wet to explore! The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The room was fine, nothing special, clean but could use an update. The Spa was fantastic and the staff there again were very helpful. Our meal on the night was amazing, £20 for 3 courses and excellent quality. The breakfast was also very good. All in all a very nice hotel, located only 10 minutes drive out of York and I would definitely consider staying again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed here as a wedding guest. Hotel staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. We stayed in the coach house and had a massive room overlooking the gardens. The room was clean enough but dated (which we kind of expected rightly or wrongly of an old country hotel).

Spa facilities were very good and clean.

Couldn't fault the breakfast. Huge range to choose from.

Overall this is a stunning hotel to look at with very pretty grounds but overpriced at the full rate.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Came for a hen night. It is dreadful here. The water in the swimming pool is freezing cold. The aromotherapy room smells unpleasant. The beautician has chiped nail varnish. Not the treat we were expecting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton upon Humber
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This hotel and spa was faultless, my daughter and I went and everything was perfect, the room, the staff, the food , everything! without a doubt I will be going again.We were still there on Monday and it was so quiet we had the swimming pool to ourselves for over an hour then only 3 people joined us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My Brother and I stayed here for 3 nights recently. Because of my disability which I had not mentioned at the time of booking, I was moved into a higher grade room in the new annex which was very good. I have no knowledge of the rooms in the main house, but both mine and my Brothers were of a high standard.
The staff were courteous and efficient.
Breakfast however was a disappointment. In a Hotel in this price range I expect to be served with my hot breakfast at the table and not have to use the buffet system. The hot food was not HOT and probably broke several food safety standards not up to temperature and left out too long. It was impossible to cut the bacon and although a girl said fresh eggs were on the way they were so slow in arriving I couldn't be bothered to wait because all the rest of my food was getting colder..Also a sandwich ordered and eaten in the Bar was awful, dry bread, no butter and hardly any Horseradish on the beef.
We had one dinner in the restaurant which was passable but the room lacks atmosphere.
Would I go again, not at those prices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escrick
4.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
19.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
16.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsonage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Property: Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Escrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parsonage Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Hotel & spa is set in five acres of beautiful formal gardens and only a short drive from the historical city of York. Boasting 50 stylish decorated bedrooms, each one offers en-suite facilities, flat screen digital tv and wifi. All residents (over 18) have access to Cloisters Spa & Health Club. Dine in our award winning Lascelles restaurant or enjoy afternoon tea in the drawing room or conservatory which overlook the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Parsonage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsonage Country Hotel
Hotel Parsonage Country
Parsonage Hotel & Spa Escrick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing