We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Two Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay bought from superbreaks that included 2 nights b and b with first night 3 course meal and afternoon tea on either day. All in all the hotel was excellent, the staff were very attentive, welcoming and friendly and the surroundings were beautiful.

We stayed at the top of the hotels main building and the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. One bad point was that the room was right outside a fire door which other visitors kept slamming shut. This became a bit annoying every two minutes and at 7 am. The room although fine for us was also up very steep stairs which could be a problem for some visitors.

The evening meal was lovely, after enjoying a drink and ordering in the bar we were taken to our table in a timely manner and were served efficiently. Although not a huge amount of choice, what was offered was good and a good choice for vegetarians too. The meal overall was delicious. The second night we ate in the bar area, though again not much of a choice the food was good and average price (However did take a long time to be brought out, considering this was only soup I dont know why).

The afternoon tea we had in the package was good, I wouldnt want to pay for it seperate as it was nothing special but it was a nice treat in nice surroundings. It did take 45 minutes- 1 hour to come after ordering. We also asked at reception if we could order a soft drink, which took 30 minutes and 2 trips to reception to finally get a waiter to bring our drinks over.

Overall however we had a fantastic few days. The spa was lovely and relaxing, the meal yummy and the stay very enjoyable. Though a few points may need addressing I Would not hesitate to return in the future and hope to do so soon enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,010)
There are newer reviews for Parsonage Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We enjoyed every minute from the moment that we arrived. Room - spotless and big enough.
Spa, Gym and Pool - very competent staff and great facilities. Food - well prepared, cooked and served. Reception staff - terrific. Waitresses could relax a little but are very keen to help and please. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: We only stayed in one and it was fine.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john_stone30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed here to attend a wedding nearby (not at the hotel) and was treated very much as a second-class guest, with the hotel favouring those attending the wedding taking place there. I wasn't allowed to checking until the wedding guests had arrived and the reception staff was very rude when I queried this policy. The decor, service and hotel policies are very outdated.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KSBNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Just returned from an over night stay to celebrate a family birthday. Everything ran smoothly from making the reservation to checking out. The lady on Reception (so sorry I can't remember her name) was very welcoming, extremely professional and efficient. The room (number 32) was large - a family room - very clean, with a comfortable bed and nicely furnished (not flowery at all). We ate at the hotel for evening meal and breakfast. The evening meal food was very tasty, well presented - portion sizes were certainly sufficient. Breakfast was self service with plenty of choice. Staff were very attentive at both meals.
During our stay there was a wedding reception being held. Room 32 is in a part away from the main hotel building, overlooking the surrounding fields and so we were not disturbed by this at all.
I would certainly recommend this hotel and would love to return one day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chip1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is an excellent venue, classy, quirky, comfortable, great food but no espresso available after a great meal! Just filter coffee. I was so disappointed. I know it's a trivial thing overall but it just took the gloss off a great stay. I should give a 5 point rating and will do as soon as they get a decent coffee machine. Everything else was great.

Room Tip: I'm sure that they are all good. I didn't try the spa but I would expect the highest standa...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spike606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were in York for few days for an European project for Eco-tourism and we had the chance to stay in this hotel. It is really nice and confortables, the bedroom was really clean and nice. The breakfast was very good and alse the service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benedetta F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

went with my family for 1 night. Booked 2 rooms, they were great for the price, although a bit small and just decent amount of amenities. Breakfast was not worth the money, had to ask for food and no one was refilling the stuff as it finished. there were only 2 staff members which was appalling service level. the quality was also not very great.
But the porter was great, very helpful , receptionist was also very nice and helpful and I think the front office staff are great.

Room Tip: look for rooms in the coach house.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mk2010_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escrick
4.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
5.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
8.7 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
11.1 mi away
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
Monk Fryston Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Monk Fryston
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsonage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Address: Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Escrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Price Range: $86 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parsonage Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Hotel & spa is set in five acres of beautiful formal gardens and only a short drive from the historical city of York. Boasting 50 stylish decorated bedrooms, each one offers en-suite facilities, flat screen digital tv and wifi. All residents (over 18) have access to Cloisters Spa & Health Club. Dine in our award winning Lascelles restaurant or enjoy afternoon tea in the drawing room or conservatory which overlook the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Parsonage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsonage Country Hotel
Hotel Parsonage Country
Parsonage Hotel & Spa Escrick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing