We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant spa day” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Certificate of Excellence
north lanarkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“brilliant spa day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

was in york for friends 50th birthday went to spa afternoon/evening was so relaxing i fell asleep for more than an hour. i didnt have any treatments but friends enjoyed them very much .had aslovely high tea entrance to pool sauna jacuzi comfy loungers all for 20poundsi thought that was great value

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraineasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    232
    105
    56
    33
See reviews for
126
432
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have not stayed at hotel had a spa day that was not to be repeated . visited with my daughter for half a day in the spa with two pre booked treatments . were told to arrive early we presumed this to of been shown facilitys poss guided tour round . No ,firstly has a form thrust apon us fill in name address e mail occupation ?? handed towels robes of which mine had a large stain on and slippers . staff pointed us where to go that was it . first stop changing area . laundry basket was overflowing to the point towels etc were on the floor . smelly cramped srang to mind and the ladys loo was a disgrace .tryed out the sauna stream room had a dip in the jacuzzi . had a look to sit round the pool not enough loungers all taken . and to say spa only been open since june loungers already looking worse for wear . so trip back to recepction where we stayed till we could have our treatments . so had time to watch .found it odd they did there washing up in reception . and if phone rang and it went to answer machine you could hear the message that was been left . and so to treatments which were ok they did however get mine wrong but it was to my advantage not theres ,but after booking and confirming when we arrived they still got it wrong . one member of staff also walked round the whole time bare foot ?? all in all ten months and it shabby already staff lacked leadership grounds were nothing to write home about . i drive pass the parsonage on almost a daily basis will now look at it in a different light im sorry to say . pull your finger out management and manage .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tillymilly144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

this is the 2nd visit to this hotel, although very good it now seems that corporate activities have
taken over, the room on the ground floor looked over fields, use of the spa was good, although
with having not paid for spa treatments, felt a little left to own devices. We ate at the Thai restaurant next door (excellent) had breakfast at the hotel but found the food had been cooked too long, we ate at 9am. A nice hotel, but do not think it warrants the price paid.

Room Tip: Have upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bats060448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Parsonage we were well looked after. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean. We visited the Cloisters Spa which we enjoyed we didn't book any treatment which meant that we didn't have a robe, which was a bit of a shame. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening, this was excellent value and the staff were aswell. The hotel is well situated and would definitely return to it and recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

My Husband and I stayed at the hotel in July 2012 on a Living Social Deal. The receptionists that welcomed us did not have a change in attitude when they realised we were on a deal. As the other reviewer eluded to the Spa nor the coffees and petit fours were mentioned but we asked once we had settled in, the spa was lovely and we had the coffee afterwards. The room was nice but not exceptional, I probably wouldn't pay full price but hotel accommodation is expensive in York. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and there was plenty to choose from. We didn't have an evening meal on this occasion, we ate in York, however we may eat in the restaurant next time we go, we have bought another Living Social Deal. Would recommend this hotel, especially on a deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I haven't encountered such a poor service before. Spas are supposed to be all about service and the perfect opportunity to relax. I live nearby so went for a bikini wax and pedicure as I do when I need some 'me' time. Although I had booked myself by phone a couple of days earlier, the lady at the reception couldn't find my booking. I had a £40 pedicure which couldn't last any longer than 20 mins and they asked me to wait at their waiting / relaxing room while my toe nails dried, so I could have my second treatment. While I was waiting an incredibly rude lady came to tell me that I hadn't paid for my treatment, which was really embarrassing as the room was full! So much for the relaxing experience! I explained that I was waiting for another treatment, and she said she had no knowledge of this because I hadn't booked previously. Not only I had booked in advance, but I also told her what I was there for when I arrived! Then she took me for a bikini wax even though my toe nails hadn't dried, and off course they got ruined when I took my trousers off. The worst part? They didn't fix them, she was quite happy to offer me a discount for the inconvenient and let me go. There are lovely spas around the York-Harrogate area - I know it, I'm a regular customer. Please don't waste your money in this one.

Room Tip: Please don't take my comments as a review of the overall service at the hotel, I refer specifica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 896MariaV896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently made our 4th return visit to the hotel. Unfortunately we had a bad experience made far worse by the attitude of the General Manager. In rooms close to ours 3 young girls on a spa break partied in their room from 11pm to 2am. This involved very loud music, jumping on and off beds and banging doors constantly as they moved between 2 rooms. We contacted the night reception who twice went to the girls' rooms. This resulted in them going quiet until he had returned to his desk. We raised a complaint the following morning. At first we were told there was no-one we could speak to but then a member of staff did discuss with us. She was apologetic and concerned at the experience we had had. However, she advised she had no authority to offer any recompense. We were happy to pay for the meal and wine we had had as that had been lovely, but felt we needed recompense for the room rate as we had only slept for 4 hours. The General Manager was contacted and his response was 'they can have no recompense as we cannot legislate for the behaviour of other guests'. Whilst accepting it was the guests behaviour, we were extremely unhappy and angry that we were expected to pay the full amount considering the experience. We were returning guests and counted for nothing. We tried over the next 2 days to speak to the General Manager but he declined to return our calls and instead left a note with staff 'tell them they are not getting a refund'. This is totally unacceptable customer service. Interestingly when you read reviews although most are very complimentary (it is a lovely hotel) there is a theme that if you complain you are not valued. We have strongly recommended this hotel in the past and others have stayed as a result of this. Sadly the way our experience was handled means we will not stay again nor recommend others to do so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escrick
3.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
5.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
19.4 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Aldwark Manor Golf & Spa Hotel
11.5 mi away
Hazlewood Castle & Spa, BW Premier Collection
4.8 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parsonage Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parsonage Hotel & Spa

Property: Parsonage Hotel & Spa
Address: Main Street, Escrick YO19 6LF, England (Formerly Parsonage Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Selby District > Escrick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Escrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parsonage Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Parsonage Hotel & spa is set in five acres of beautiful formal gardens and only a short drive from the historical city of York. Boasting 50 stylish decorated bedrooms, each one offers en-suite facilities, flat screen digital tv and wifi. All residents (over 18) have access to Cloisters Spa & Health Club. Dine in our award winning Lascelles restaurant or enjoy afternoon tea in the drawing room or conservatory which overlook the beautiful gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Parsonage Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parsonage Country Hotel
Hotel Parsonage Country
Parsonage Hotel & Spa Escrick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing