We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not special.”
Review of The Priory

The Priory
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Portbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good but not special.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We have just been for an evening at The Priory. The food was good but nothing special. I had the venison and bacon pudding with garden peas and sweet potato wedges. The meat appeared to be of indeterminate origin (it could have been anything) and I couldn't find any evidence of bacon at all. The peas and wedges were very nice. I followed it with Pimms Eton Mess. This was basically strawberries smothered in whipped cream with a few pieces of meringue. The Pimms was conspicuous by its absence. Shame! We were served by Emily who was friendly and attentive. Unfortunately her colleague suffered from an attack of first-day nerves and dropped a tray of condiments splattering our table with tomato ketchup! Overall a pleasant evening but the food did not live up to expectation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mikerob730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    130
    104
    71
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nailsea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good evening”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Went with friends and had a very enjoyable evening. Food was good. One round of drinks was very slow in coming (we had finished our meal and still no drinks) and had to remind the waitress of this fact, but to be fair she immediately knocked that round off our bill. Creme brulee was lovely but we found it strange the ramekin was just plonked on our table and not served on a plate, very strange!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carola665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Decided to treat ourselves to late lunch. I ordered pork loin with a crust which was non existent and my husband ordered 28 day hung beef. Vegetables were plentiful but not good quality. My parsnip was black inside, couldn't cut carrots but according to waiter this was because they were big!! Cabbage not cooked.
The beef was changed for Turkey as it took two knives to try to cut it! Manager offered free desserts, but all in all a disappointing meal and won't be returning for a while.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jlandrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Solid pub grub.”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We've been to The Priory several times and have never been disappointed. It has a very large dining area for a village pub that's tucked away.But it's always busy and although we don't book a table I would recommend booking over weekends and Bank Holidays.

They do accept certain discount cards and my partner has one that gives her 25% off the total bill (including drinks). Worthwhile checking out what discounters they accept.

This is a popular pub that understands its market and caters for them very well. It's not pretentious by any means and the menu is "PUB" but cooked well and of a good quality. The staff are always pleasant and the pub decoration is inoffensive and not very memorable ( a good thing as I hate the newer style wood floor grey/green matt paint places) . All in all for a "safe bet" I would recommend The Priory. You know that the menu will give you a good and solid choice, waitress service and pleasant surroundings. It's a real treat to find a pub that's part of a chain that's so good.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lookslikerain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed by the good weather and the bank holiday”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

My family and I were very disappointed by our evening meal here on bank holiday Monday. Staff had obviously not taken into account the likelihood of more people wanting to eat on the holiday, that they had run out of some basics such as burger buns , certain types of burger and rustic bread for the rustic bread starters! Being served a white roll for this without any explanation was not good enough.
We also had a very long wait over an hour and a quarter for our food which was not easy as our party included six smaller children who were very hungry. To be fair to staff they did in the end bring these meals out a little before the adults.
The steak in one of the adult's meals was cold and although this was replaced it was a while and the rest of us had completed our meals. Gourmet chips were asked for and these were not brought out initially for two of the meals.
We have eaten here several times before and have always enjoyed it but tonight was not good and we will not be returning in a hurry.
The only saving grace was team leader James who dealt with our issues very professionally and did take the drinks off the bill as well as the burger meal and the bread starters. I think he was very embarrassed about the whole debacle. I do hope that possibly in the future they are more open about having run out of things and adjust prices accordingly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Priory also viewed

 
Weston-in-Gordano, Portishead
Easton-in-Gordano, Somerset
 

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing