We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good.....but distinct lack of management”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Priory

The Priory
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Portbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good.....but distinct lack of management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Huge dining pub with very attractive interior and roaring open fires...but.....only one person taking orders for food and drinks at the main bar.....whilst one chap was cleaning the brass pumps..,..this is so annoying and displays the utter contempt for thirsty and hungry punters...

However..not causing a scene....we stayed and had pretty good food, served promptly and with some passion....other diners food also looked good....varied menu.....huge deserts...happy to return another day...good real ale...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Need_Sunshine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    126
    103
    70
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice Pub/Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Large popular country pub/restaurant, can get busy especially weekends and bank holidays, but well worth a visit

Nice location 5 minutes off M5 junction 19 in Portbury village, large car park, tables front and back with a garden at the rear (enclosed and child safe)

Decor is in keeping with a country style pub with a contemporary twist. The menu is varied with some specials too. After several visits we have no complaints on the meals we have eaten so far, nicely presented and good quality for the price. A few times we have had a long wait to be served but these were on Bank Holidays.

Staff are friendly and courteous, drinks are a little pricey in comparison to other pubs in the location.

We love the diverse seating small intimate tables and large family tables some in quiet corners others in the buzz of the bar.

Particularly nice in the summer as there are some nice walks nearby (bluebell wood being our favourite)

Would recommend a visit and be sure to try their delicious food..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice as always.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We're frequent visitors to the Priory as unlike a lot of pubs in Portishead it never fails to deliver a good level of service and food. A great place to visit just for a bite to eat or a great evening experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolute gem of a pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Beautiful pub, log fires burning, great range of drinks and gorgeous food ! This combined with great service and resonable prices adds up to one of the best pubs in the area.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Warwick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My family and I had a brilliant meal at the priory. The staff were extremely attentive, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were a table of 8, we had a few special requests and the kitchen staff did their up most to accommodate us. The food was excellent, the steaks that we ordered were cooked to perfection! Everybody described their meals as delicious! We will definitely be returning to the priory and I would recommend it to anyone that enjoys delicious pub food in a warm and friendly atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Priory also viewed

 
Weston-in-Gordano, Portishead
Easton-in-Gordano, Somerset
 

Been to The Priory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing