We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Northover Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Devonshire Arms(Langport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveler rating
136
69
33
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
136
69
33
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding receptionpleasant stayfirst classwedding partyfunction roomfollowing morningtwo night staygreat foodhis teamstayed two nightssaturday nightstaff were brilliantthis lovely hotelcar parkeach morningcooked breakfastcomfy bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 266 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for a one night stop over on the way to Devon for a long weekend. The staff were very helpful and the room was a good size. However as we arrived late evening all we wanted to do was calm our two young children down and get them to bed ready for a busy day the next day a quiet room was the most important thing for us. The Family room was located on the ground floor close to the main entrance with a hard stone floor (no carpet or runner) outside. We heard every foot fall and conversation in reception and between our fellow guests in the corridor until things quietened down at around 11.30pm. The bunk beds for the children were situated right by the door to the room so with all the noise and movement outside we had no chance of getting them to sleep and we were all up with the first guest to move early the next morning! Surely it would make sense to put a family room in a quiet part of the hotel - carpets on the corridor wouldn't go a miss to deaden the sound also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine_kent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We met up with our Cornwallian friends in Ilchester and stayed at the Northover Manor Hotel for 2 nights. Our friends had a lovely spacious ground floor room, with a large accessible bathroom. We lugged our luggage upstairs where we had a great corner room overlooking the river Yeo and meadows and a small ensuite. (No air conditioning, sorry we're Aussies, and no fridge.) Each morning we enjoyed continental breakfasts followed by bacon and eggs. We had a really superb dinner at the hotel. This hotel is in a great location for both the Haynes International Motor Museum and the Fleet Air Arm Museum. Large (free) car park, helpful staff and we'd return here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The staff were brilliant, the atmosphere was good, but there is one huge criticism.

We stayed in room 6, where it became apparent the owners scrimped on the conversion.

During the night we were kept awake by snoring from room 5 we were in 6. It sounded like two Harley Davidsons with a stage 1 tune at full throttle. This was due to the walls in the coach house being paper thin. The hotels fault.

We finally managed to get them to stop snoring, when at 6 am we had a shower, which sounded like a SeaHarrier FA2 Auxiliary Power Unit starting up! Unfortunately we then had a dual rendition of vomiting. So the moral of the storey is this hotel should have the winning formula, but it is ruined by the owners scrimping on the conversion. Shame really, wont go back due to this issue as it was a rubbish nights sleep. Premier Inn next time.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you want to sleep!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Standeasytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normanSomerset, Owner at Northover Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thankyou for your comments.

I will investigate the noise issue and see what can be done. Im disappointed you didn't sleep well. As you may well be aware their are rooms at different price bands but that doesn't mean you should be compromised on rest.
Should you find yourself in the area again we would welcome the opportunity of addressing your negative experience. Im delighted however you approve of the staff. We will take guests comments and if the same point is reiterated look to make improvements where we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and boyfriend decided to spend the night away together and we found this hotel at last minute and I'm so glad we did. The service from the staff was good and the standard of the room was better than I thought. The breakfast the next morning was included within the price and it was lovely! Overall, we both said we'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What better place to have a wedding reception, absolutely superb all round, Thank you so much all at The Northover Manor Hotel a fantastic venue for our daughter’s wedding. Thoroughly professional in all respects with excellent food and a faultless day for all, how refreshing to see such a dedicated and friendly service more than willing to make our day special. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this venue for any prospective party be it wedding or otherwise.

Once again, Thank you so much all at the Northover

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews