We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy family room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Northover Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed for a one night stop over on the way to Devon for a long weekend. The staff were very helpful and the room was a good size. However as we arrived late evening all we wanted to do was calm our two young children down and get them to bed ready for a busy day the next day a quiet room was the most important thing for us. The Family room was located on the ground floor close to the main entrance with a hard stone floor (no carpet or runner) outside. We heard every foot fall and conversation in reception and between our fellow guests in the corridor until things quietened down at around 11.30pm. The bunk beds for the children were situated right by the door to the room so with all the noise and movement outside we had no chance of getting them to sleep and we were all up with the first guest to move early the next morning! Surely it would make sense to put a family room in a quiet part of the hotel - carpets on the corridor wouldn't go a miss to deaden the sound also.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine_kent14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 253 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

We met up with our Cornwallian friends in Ilchester and stayed at the Northover Manor Hotel for 2 nights. Our friends had a lovely spacious ground floor room, with a large accessible bathroom. We lugged our luggage upstairs where we had a great corner room overlooking the river Yeo and meadows and a small ensuite. (No air conditioning, sorry we're Aussies, and no fridge.) Each morning we enjoyed continental breakfasts followed by bacon and eggs. We had a really superb dinner at the hotel. This hotel is in a great location for both the Haynes International Motor Museum and the Fleet Air Arm Museum. Large (free) car park, helpful staff and we'd return here in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The staff were brilliant, the atmosphere was good, but there is one huge criticism.

We stayed in room 6, where it became apparent the owners scrimped on the conversion.

During the night we were kept awake by snoring from room 5 we were in 6. It sounded like two Harley Davidsons with a stage 1 tune at full throttle. This was due to the walls in the coach house being paper thin. The hotels fault.

We finally managed to get them to stop snoring, when at 6 am we had a shower, which sounded like a SeaHarrier FA2 Auxiliary Power Unit starting up! Unfortunately we then had a dual rendition of vomiting. So the moral of the storey is this hotel should have the winning formula, but it is ruined by the owners scrimping on the conversion. Shame really, wont go back due to this issue as it was a rubbish nights sleep. Premier Inn next time.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Standeasytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normanSomerset, Owner at Northover Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thankyou for your comments.

I will investigate the noise issue and see what can be done. Im disappointed you didn't sleep well. As you may well be aware their are rooms at different price bands but that doesn't mean you should be compromised on rest.
Should you find yourself in the area again we would welcome the opportunity of addressing your negative experience. Im delighted however you approve of the staff. We will take guests comments and if the same point is reiterated look to make improvements where we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Me and boyfriend decided to spend the night away together and we found this hotel at last minute and I'm so glad we did. The service from the staff was good and the standard of the room was better than I thought. The breakfast the next morning was included within the price and it was lovely! Overall, we both said we'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

What better place to have a wedding reception, absolutely superb all round, Thank you so much all at The Northover Manor Hotel a fantastic venue for our daughter’s wedding. Thoroughly professional in all respects with excellent food and a faultless day for all, how refreshing to see such a dedicated and friendly service more than willing to make our day special. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending this venue for any prospective party be it wedding or otherwise.

Once again, Thank you so much all at the Northover

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We visited Northover Manor for a family celebration, the location was lovely and the day was great until it came to having our meal. We were concerned as soon as the lady (manager?) stood up to do housekeeping and explain the complaints procedure should we not be happy with the food.
We soon found out why. The food was very scarce, we were told to wait until service had finished before we were allowed to see if there was any spare bread to go with our soup (there wasn't), and we were given a half filled bowl of vegetables for a table of 8 people to go with the mains. When we asked for more as not everyone had been able to have vegetables, we were told no.
It was very strange and was quite embarrassing asking others at the table if it was ok to take half a floret of cauliflower from the bowl being passed around the table........ I've never seen anything like this before.
It gave the impression the hotel was very stingey and had tried to keep costs down to the bare minimum.
Very embarrassing for all involved. Would never hold an event at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
normanSomerset, Owner at Northover Manor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thankyou for your comments.

Im sorry you were disappointed by your experience but Thankfully you are the exception rather than the rule. My confusion however is when you were here and the event that was attended. We hosted a Wedding on 30 th March and the 31st March was Mothers Day. After which Roger and Jenny sent a very complimentary email.

The following weekend 5th April we hosted a Wedding and again the praise we received was glowing.

Whenever possible we look to correct mistakes made on the day but we do believe in quality not quantity. Hosts organising events spend time considering menus and I would hope choose us as a consequence. It seems your complaint is about quantity and your disappointment is something I believe I will just have to accept.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I attended a wedding weekend at northover this week. The hotel was beautiful, clean with beautiful rooms and staff that literally went out of their way to help, they gave me milk for my baby, a beautiful room. Lots of support with the wedding and the manager flick was one in a million. I couldn't have asked for more and I can't believe how hard she work to make sure all ran smoothly. The food fabulous, bar staff and table staff attentive beautifully mannered and friendly an overall lovely place thank you northover!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djheavencent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
240 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
254 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
383 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
579 reviews
5.4 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northover Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northover Manor Hotel

Address: Northover, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Price Range: $105 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northover Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northover Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northover Manor Yeovil
Northover Manor Hotel Ilchester, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing