We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Northover Manor Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2008

hospitality of owner was very good, shame about the rooms, do not stay in the coach house they are small, smell of damp and definatly not worth the money, i challanged the owner about the price and state of the rooms, he agreed they were'nt worth the money but as he could get that amount then he charged it.
shame really could be a nice place but will stay else where in future and not recommend this hotel at all. what will he do when the air base closes.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank macspurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 259 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2008

Old part of the hotel, dirty rooms, tatty furniture, wardrobe was a rail covered by a tatty curtain, tatty sheets and towels, made me itch. Left early.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RovingCivilEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

We were looking for somewhere to stay on the way back from a trip to Devon. We turned off the A303 looking for a pleasant reasonably priced hotel and hit upon this gem of a place. Ilchester is not that interesting but it could be a convenient base for touring Somerset, Dorset and Devon inland and coastal areas or as a stopover on the way home (as we used it).

The decor in the public areas is modern and relaxing. The evening meal in the restaurant was excellent,the wine was good and reasonably priced too. The breakfast was delicious too. My only criticism is that the public areas could do with being a few degrees warmer in early March. On the other hand, the bedroom was too warm!

The bedroom was plain but comfortable and was very warm - we probably could have turned down the heating but after such an excellent meal and wine, we just fell into bed! The bathroom had no bath and the shower was unusual - I am no expert, but it looked like it was geared up for the disabled but I am not sure how you would use it if you were in a wheelchair!

There was a pleasant outlook over open countryside from our bedroom and we could see our car in the secure parking. In the summer months it looked like you could sit out in the garden; but I think that the owners could improve the garden area. Perhaps this is a future project?

The service was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pompeyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2007

We stayed here for one night for a break from London. We arrived, checked into our room efficiently. It was comfortable but quite basic and had no bath. The hotel had a wedding that evening which we were not told about when booking. Because of this we were not able to eat at the hotel. We therefore booked dinner at the Italian down the road which was fantastic. Check out is at 10am which is bit early we thought!

All in all a good stop off if you are exploring that area. The couple who own the hotel were extremely helpful and made plenty of suggestion for places eat or visit.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holiday07-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2007

Friendly welcome that continued throughout stay. Yhe hotel was apparently full and perhaps I was unlucky with my room which was in old Coach House. Room very small with tiniest wash basin I have seen in 35 years of travelling. Room clean but troubled by traffic noise from Roman Road below.
Restaurant welcoming and Dinner well prepared and quickly served. Breakfast in the morning hot,good and cheerfully served. Owners upgrading but need to do something about the room I stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arc504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

Stayed here a couple of times with my wife, the rooms are excellent with a modern and clean feel. They are very comfortable. The restaraunt is warm and welcoming and the breakfast is as comprehensive as you could imagine. Not much more to add really, superb accomodation, spotlessly clean, tasty food, picturesque setting and not unreasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank fussyfellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

Having had big problems with another local hotel, which had managed to double book, the nice people at Northover Lodge were very friendly and accommodating to my family and I. Price was in fact, cheaper on a B&B basis than the hotel we were originally booked in to and, I suspect, a fair bit nicer too.

Room size was adequate, even when the need for a travel cot was taken into consideration. Furnishing was stylish and modern, which was an interesting contrast to the building and surroundings.

En-suite was shower only, though this was advised when checking in and was perfectly adequate and pleasingly clean, tidy and functional.

Bed was comfortable and had duvet, as opposed to sheets, with both my Wife and I usually prefer, though given it was mid summer and very hot, we had not cause to use... which leads to my only complaint (or rather 'suggestion', which was made to the staff member when we checked out) regarding the lack of cooling in the room. Air Conditioning in such a building is perhaps impractical, but an electric fan would have made a huge difference. Indeed, when this was suggested, I was advised that some fans had been purchased, but were all in use. I'd definitely recommend getting some more!

Breakfast was excellent, with a Full English or Continental available. Both my wife and I had the former, which was prepared to order. There was also a good range of cereals and a fruit salad available. Service from the staff was excellent.

Gravel Car Park was available to the rear of the premises, with a relief car park available on the grass area beyond that .

Overall, a good value, family friendly hotel, which I would happily visit again - particularly if they invest in those fans!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank goldfishwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.2 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
255 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Hollies Hotel
The Hollies Hotel
#1 of 2 in Martock
387 reviews
5.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Yeovil Podimore
5.4 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.8 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northover Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northover Manor Hotel

Address: Northover, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Price Range: $105 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Northover Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Northover Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northover Manor Yeovil
Northover Manor Hotel Ilchester, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing