We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ilchester arms Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Ilchester arms Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Wednesday lunch menu of roast beef, beef was VERY tough and disappointing, house burger ok filling but nothing special.
Sauvignon Blanc was good also choice of beers but will not be returning.
Obviously a pensioners retreat but a bit overpriced.
Tripadvisor says reviews must be 200 character minimum but I cannot think of anything worthwhile saying.
Won't be returning must say it all.
Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
We are sorry that you were disappointed with your meal, we do not normally receive complaints about our beef and if you had raised it to the staff at the time we would have been happy to provide you with an alternative meal. We are pleased you enjoyed our beer and wine selection and are sorry that you wont be choosing to return to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    68
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
72
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
440 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I were hiking the SWC Path and stayed here one night. the room was adequate. It took quite awhile for the water to heat up in the shower! And the pressure was poor. Not wifi in the room either. The staff was very nice though and it was a quaint place to stay in a small village!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimW551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at The Ilchester Arms for two nights on the way back from a family holiday as an 'extra few days' as a family of five (three children aged 7, 4 and 2) and two adults. I will be honest and say that I wasn't expecting anything wildly spectacular but the opposite really was true!

Staff were friendly, welcoming and incredibly accommodating from the outset, the service was of a very high standard but flexible and laid back. The first evening the restaurant was not open so we were told where all the local restaurants were as well as the local takeaways. We were told, if it was easier, we could order a takeaway and eat it in the restaurant area where they would provide crockery for us! For the record, there is a chinese takeaway opposite, a very nice Italian restaurant next door (where we ended up!) and a pub across the road (owned by the couple who own The Ilchester Arms) which also serves food!

The Family Room was comfortable, clean with a bedroom with a double bed at the front and then a further room behind with a double sofa bed and two single beds leading to an en suite bathroom. The children were delighted with the fairly large TV (as they had been on a retreat with no TV) and a wooden dolls house, children's toys and books had also been put in the room for them. We were offered a travel cot and asked for extra bedding for the sofa bed which was delivered promptly.

The bar/restaurant area also has an enclosed patio garden area with wooden children's play equipment, a small sand pit and plenty of clean, good quality toys. We were actually ablle to sit and have a glass of wine next to them whilst they played!

Breakfast was lovely - again very accommodating and friendly. We ate dinner in the restaurant on the second evening and as a family of vegetarians we were well catered for!

A real surprise find, personal, friendly and welcoming service and really good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VegeMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here prior to and after a family wedding. As the wedding was in a village south of Yeovil we had tried in vain to find accommodation in that area. We chose the Ilchester Arms simply because it had vacancies. But what a find! We were greeted warmly by a young female member of staff and then handed over to a lady who I believe was Lucy the owner. I had booked online and when she saw which room we had been allocated she decided that it was too small and upgraded us to a lovely spacious one with a large extremely comfortable bed. Dinner was delicious, as was breakfast the following morning. I would have liked to have had dinner there again but we had a wedding to attend! All the staff we met were friendly and efficient and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Ilchester Arms to anyone. Our room was on the front so there was traffic noise but I am a very light sleeper and I didn't bother me AND it helped to drown out my partner's snoring! The Ilchester Arms is now our chosen place to stay when we visit this area.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We spent 3 nights here, with dinner on 2 of them. The staff and owners were so very friendly and helpful, that we felt we were honoured guests. The dinners were scrumptious, in fact so much so that we invited another couple to join us for one of them. There is an excellent choice of local drinks at the bar, as well as some more widely-known ones.

It is clear that Lucy and Brendan have put an enormous amount of effort into making this a really good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is our second stay at the Ilchester Arms to coincide with the RNAS Yeovilton Air Show. This year we had 3 generations staying and the accommodation matched the occasion. We (the older ones) had an outer room, mum and kids had an inner room and Lucy even through in a dolls house for the grandkids to play in the room. We had a relaxing and comforting short stay and were able to enjoy the evening sunshine outside while the kids played in the playhouse, messed about in the sandpit, and we sat and chilled outside in the beer garden - we had glorious weather. We ate at the Bull across the road and Lucy and her staff were on top form as usual - good food and good prices and again very relaxed and comfortable. We will be back next year. Thanks Lucy and the team.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twohappytravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again next year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Service was warm and welcoming. We stayed in family room on the top floor the kids had their own tiny room in bunk beds. Very agreeable stay. There was even a table outside the room so we enjoy some excellent local ales from the pub without abandoning the children. Breakfast was fast and fabulous - we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If your kids are under 5 foot room 1 is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncantigerhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
5.6 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ilchester Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Property: The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Address: Church Street, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ilchester Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilchester Arms is a 4* family run hotel and restaurant in the heart of Ilchester, just off the A303 & 5 miles from Yeovil. We have 10 comfortable, well furnished, en-suite bedrooms, free breakfast for hotel guests, free on site parking & free WiFi. Our restaurant is open daily for lunch (12pm-2.30pm) and dinner (7-9pm excluding Sundays) with a range of homemade dishes created from locally sourced produce. If you are just on the road & need a quick pick me up we also offer coffee & cake from 9am daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ilchester Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ilchester Arms Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing