We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent family stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Service was warm and welcoming. We stayed in family room on the top floor the kids had their own tiny room in bunk beds. Very agreeable stay. There was even a table outside the room so we enjoy some excellent local ales from the pub without abandoning the children. Breakfast was fast and fabulous - we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If your kids are under 5 foot room 1 is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncantigerhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    68
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
72
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Nice location and building but let down by very slow service and staff who didn't seem to know what was included with meals and couldn't really remember what they had been told in the kitchen by the time they got back to our table.
We had to wait for at least an hour after finishing starters for our main courses to arrive but were not told that there would be a delay. There appeared to be a reception or something similar being held which probably had something to do with the delay.
We should have been warned both when we booked and when we arrived that there was going to be a delay
The food, when it eventually arrived, was quite good but did not make up for the delay and poorly trained staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldgit49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
I am very sorry that you were disappointed by the service you received, we will address this with the individuals concerned and conduct further staff training to rectify this.
I am pleased that once your meals arrived you were happy with the standard of food as we are very proud of our fresh local ingredients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent Saturday night at the Ilchester Arms for a navy reunion. Room was big and comfy, all fine except carpet a bit tired.
The staff were young and enthusiastic. Very friendly and helpful.
We had dinner across the road in the Bull which is owned by the same people. Great food and drink, all very good value.
Breakfast at the Arms was great. Very fresh, well cooked and served.

Overall a very enjoyable and good value overnight stop.

Room Tip: The higher the better to be above the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
We are very pleased that you had a good stay with us.
We are shortly to start a renovation of our rooms which will include replacing the carpets.
We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We had to help a friend at short notice so booked this hotel blind. It has been a very pleasant stay, staff friendly and helpful, room was very adequate and breakfast was truly excellent. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutch199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Welcomed our family at short notice. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The room was cleaned daily and well stocked with tea and coffee.
Would definately go back and stay a while longer, felt completely at home, The pub was welcoming with a quaint family friendly beer garden.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warrenscaife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food was great and would have had a great rating. However, the rooms are a bit tired and the service wasn't exactly attentive.

Big thumbs up for the restaurant, but held back by the hotel itself. That said I will continue to use the Ilchester Arms as a one night stop over when travelling through Somerset.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we are currently in the process of securing the funding in order to upgrade our rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

At last we've found a brilliant place to stay enroute from Leigh on sea to Taunton, just off the A303. The Ilchester Arms was perfect. Really friendly and careing staff as soon as we arrived. Clean and fresh throughout. Light and airey. Lovely decorated room with giant bed, all the facilities we required. Old feel without being pokey or dinjy. The meal in the restaurant was superb, with enough tempting choices without baffling due to too large a menu. The 1/2 pint prawns followed by the venison and then the pavlova was spot on in every respect and my girlfriends pate and rump of lamb was equally as good. A nice selection of wines and all the local beers and usuals you could ever wish for. Again the restaurant staff were attentive, friendly and effecient. The night was restful, although I guess some could find the road outside a touch noisey, we didn't and then the breakfast and the staff....again was just perfect. Nothing was too much trouble...everything made and cooked fresh. It was great and we will definitely be staying there on our next

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilchesterarms, Manager at The Ilchester Arms Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
0.3 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
23.4 mi away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
5.6 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ilchester Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ilchester Arms Hotel

Property: The Ilchester Arms Hotel
Address: Church Street, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8LN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ilchester Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ilchester Arms is a 4* family run hotel and restaurant in the heart of Ilchester, just off the A303 & 5 miles from Yeovil. We have 10 comfortable, well furnished, en-suite bedrooms, free breakfast for hotel guests, free on site parking & free WiFi. Our restaurant is open daily for lunch (12pm-2.30pm) and dinner (7-9pm excluding Sundays) with a range of homemade dishes created from locally sourced produce. If you are just on the road & need a quick pick me up we also offer coffee & cake from 9am daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Ilchester Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ilchester Arms Hotel Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing