We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shows the world of naval flight at its best”

Fleet Air Arm Museum
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Ilchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Fleet Air Arm Museum will thrill the whole family. Get up close and personal with Europe's largest collection of Naval aircraft and see the first British Concorde.You'll 'Fly' by helicopter to the replica flight deck of the Ark Royal where two enormous projection screens show aircraft taking off and landing. Witness an air sea rescue when a Buccaneer is lost over the side into the sea. There's even a nuclear bomb.Situated alongside RNAS Yeovilton, you may also see aircraft flying in and out.Visit The Fleet Air Arm Museum. The thrill is being there. Opening hours 10:00 am to 4.30pm November until March and 10:00am to 5.30pm April to October.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Brill fantastic amazing .

I love everything here with the history up to modern day. The simulator is fab

Thank lorrettamcalpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit, especially our Carrier Experience. Please do take 5 minutes to complete our survey if you can. It can be found via the "your feedback" link on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 60 reviews
"all ages"
in 99 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 99 reviews
"picnic area"
in 30 reviews
"rainy day"
in 44 reviews
"value for money"
in 45 reviews
"family ticket"
in 18 reviews
"year old son"
in 23 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 20 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 25 reviews
"plenty of parking"
in 21 reviews
"carrier experience"
in 188 reviews
"flight deck"
in 117 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 61 reviews
"royal navy"
in 45 reviews
"gift aid"
in 61 reviews
"fleet air arm"
in 40 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 1,617 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great museum for all ages. Loads for kids to do with many interactive screens and plenty of artistic things for them to get involved with. The collection itself is fascinating. From concorde, through ww2 planes to earlier flights and lots of information about them all. Also you are able to get in the cockpit of some of the aircraft and enter concorde. Excellent day out

Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Paul for your review. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will visit us again one day. If you are able to take a few more minutes to complete our survey, we would be pleased to hear from you. It can be found via the "your feedback" link on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A superb attraction for all ages so be prepared to spend more time than you planned for. We are an elderly couple so were delighted to pick a sunny Monday with little traffic on the A303, a reasonably empty car park and tranquility as the school summer hols had not started. Not enough paper to describe the aviation delights in store - but arriving to the combined aromas of aviation fuel burning from the nearby Naval operational station and the hot food at the restaurant was a delight. Try and see it all, from the brilliant selection of aircraft, the Carrier Experience, interactive displays, historical information and even a viewing area to observe Naval aviation going about its business. Naval flying must be about as exciting as it gets and to be able to stand next to a number of WW 2 aircraft with their huge radial engines and imagine flying them operationally and then finding and landing on the heaving deck of a carrier is beyond belief. In one corner of a hangar is a modest sized screen which shows the remarkable helicopter rescues, in atrocious weather, during a past Fasnet Race. Watching this is a emotional experience and I felt it deserved a bigger screen and a more prominent slot in the exhibition hall. All the staff we met were very knowledgeable and keen to answer our questions. Good to find the side entrance door for the less able - the main entrance stairs look formidable. Excellent picnic area and play park next to the restaurant. Will definitely be going back - I could spend a week there!!

1  Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much Clive for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant visit and look forward to seeing you here again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2018

The Fleet Air Arm Museum at Yeovilton is a truly amazing experience. Five halls of aircraft and assorted displays, including a truly memorable Aircraft Carrier interactive experience, complete with flight deck and island, aircraft and much much more. A brilliant day out.
Note: The outside restaurant/cafe did not come up to expectations; dirty tables, cold food and poor quality drinks.

Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your honest feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Museum visit but are sorry that the cafe did not live up to expectations. We are working hard to improve the service our cafe offers so I will ensure your feedback is passed on. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2018

Great day out, need at least 3 -4 hours to do it justice. Really liked the way it was laid out, lots to see and find out about, especially enjoyed the Island aircraft carrier experience, Good value overall helpful staff.
Cafe- was like visiting a staff canteen, uninspiring choice of hot dishes, unappealing sandwiches and salads, chips with everything, and mediocre coffee.
Needs updating and much better quality food for the prices. Cafe needs a re vamp- like siting in a service station.

Thank OpieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Thank you for your review OpieBrussels and we are pleased that you enjoyed visiting the Museum. I am sorry that the cafe did not live up to expectations. I will ensure your feedback is passed on. If you would like to leave more detailed feedback regarding your visit, please do complete our visitor survey which can be found via the "your feedback" link on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fleet Air Arm Museum also viewed

 

Been to Fleet Air Arm Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;