We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,744)
Filter reviews
1,719 results
Traveler rating
1,134
490
76
16
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,134
490
76
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display all ages well worth a visit picnic area rainy day entry fee value for money family ticket year old son sandwiches plenty of parking carrier experience flight deck gift aid interactive displays royal navy naval aviation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,719 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We had a super day here the kids loved it! Lots aircraft for them to climb in and out of and a great outdoor play area. I thought the aircraft carrier experience was amazing and I enjoyed getting to go onboard Concorde! Totally recommend a day out here.

Thank 925peteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Travelling from Kent out to the West Country we were looking for somewhere to stop for lunch. We saw the signs for the museum (well signposted) and stopped. We were a bit early to eat but my youngest had expressed an interest in aircraft before so we decided to visit the museum first. It might look a bit pricey at first but with the family discounts we got it was value for money. There are a large number of planes and helicopters exhibited in the hangers with some interesting stories attached to them. The aircraft carrier expeirience was very informative. There is a cafe and shop of course and plenty of seating outside for a picnic which is outside of the museum some of it is also under cover.

1  Thank grahampritchard2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you Graham for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are pleased that you found us and enjoyed your visit. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

I reluctantly went here with the family, my husband was keen to see the concord, but I had a great day out and the kids (9&11) really enjoyed it. They have been inspired by visualising flight technology.
Lots of interesting history and a few interactive things for kids (and grown ups) to do. There is a little play park and cafe on site (not the greatest food options).
If you are lucky you might see some activity on the airfield that can be overlooked at a few areas within the museum.

Thank lunareef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Lunareef for your review. We are so pleased that you and your children enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Very interesting, and in places moving, story of Royal Navy aviation. The exhibits document naval aviation from the beginning right up to today. As a bonus there is also a lot of the story of Concorde. The highlight of the museum is the air craft carrier experience - the flight deck is brilliant.

Thank honda_bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We hope you can visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

If you like planes this is a must visit. With detailed stories and and technical facts, interactive play areas for the young ones. and the yearly air day brings you the excitement of flight.

Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks Martin for your continued support. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Great day out, very interesting and well laid out. Great fun for all of us from 6 - 60 years old nice cafe too and great park for the kids

Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for leaving us a positive review Matthew. We are delighted that your whole family enjoyed their visit and hope to see you all again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited with my boyfriend on an autumn afternoon. Rang direct to book our tickets as they were cheaper online than they were on the door, but the system was a bit confusing. Their duty manager Mark, who answered the phone, explained that if it's after a certain time, you can't choose tickets for that same day (this seems a bit silly), so said to book tickets for the following day and tell the person on the desk that he said so when we got there.

It's also not clear whether you need to book two tickets if you are travelling with a disabled visitor (and going as their carer), or just one - as the carer goes free. He said just to book one and ask the person on the desk for a carer's ticket when we got there. If you choose to book with Gift Aid, your tickets will be valid for free return visits for a whole year. Very good value, as we paid only £11 for the two of us. One disabled entry and one free carer. The on the door price would have been £14 I think.

All the above should really be more clearly explained on the website in my opinion. It would save a lot of confusion. Or perhaps it was just me being thick. It's entirely possible...

There is plenty of disabled parking in the car park, but the main entrance is up a huge flight of stairs and the accessible entrance is via a little side gate. You press a button next to the gate that alerts someone inside the building to come and let you in, but there is no audio to acknowledge they have heard you, or in fact that the bell has rung at all. A little intercom system would be a lot better, as you are potentially waiting outside in the cold and dark with no idea of how long you will be there for and no means of getting anyone's attention inside either. We didn't have to wait long before someone let us in thankfully, as the wind was howling across the airfield and it was bl**dy freezing!.

Inside things improved a whole lot. Aside from the fact that the upper deck part of the flight deck section was out of bounds for us because the lift was broken (again, not mentioned on the website, but perhaps should have been?) and that the inside of Concorde was not accessible, pretty much everything and everywhere was wheelchair friendly. The place is jam-packed with aviation history and our two and a half hours there wasn't nearly enough.

This place is great for all ages, from young kids to older people. So much to look at in the four hangers and all very well presented. It's a shame that the projectors on the mocked up flight deck weren't working - they'd certainly add to the realism, but the pretend helicopter flight to get to the flight deck was great. Kids would really love that bit.

There is a big café adjacent the museum, but you have to go back outside again to access it I think?? There is a large and well stocked shop inside the museum too, with lots of nice bits and pieces for sale, not the usual gift shop tat.

There are a lot of fairly long and quite inclined ramps and also a lot of walking/pushing to do to get around the place, so unless you are Squadron Leader Super Para like my boyfriend, use your free carer to lend a bit of muscle power here and there. He's far too quick for me, so I was mostly useless on the caring front (as usual), but instead placed myself on high alert for him taking his eye out on nose cones and other low flying aircraft parts. I had to do something to earn my keep didn't I, apart from just carrying tea and cake in the café and taking pretty pictures of rivets.

Thank Roll_and_stroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are in agreement that our ground floor access needs improvement and this is at the forefront of our future plans for the development of the Museum. Thank you for bearing with us while we got you both into the Museum and we are pleased it was worth it when you did. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Six of us old chaps on a walking weekend in the vicinity; dull drizzly weather one day; so instead of walking, we spent a very full day indeed here. It is superb! Thanks to one of the volunteer “informers” called (I hope I remember correctly) John (thank you so much John!) we had well over two hours of in-depth guided prodding around Harriers and Concorde 002. Absolutely fantastic. Also, hugely exceeding expectations, the aircraft carrier “experience” is brilliant, very immersive and fascinating- you get to learn something about the hugely complex operations on a big aircraft carrier, and to experience the sights and sounds of it. I think this visit is a must for anyone from 6 to 100 (Good activities for children dotted around the museum so any incipient boredom should be alleviated; also the navy flying themed playground looked absolutely brilliant, though my friends dissuaded me from having a go - “you will get stuck inside it”; “it will snap off”. Hmpf.)

Anyway, a really great day out. And amazing value for money, especially if you pre-book online. Thank you Yeovilton!

Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

And thank you Chris for such a lovely review. We will certainly pass on your comments to John. Delighted to hear you had such a lovely day with us. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Won a family voucher and will definitely come back as a paying customer. Lovely place to visit, plenty to see and do. Great for all ages and interests. Cafe was good value and taste.

Thank Michaela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Michaela - glad to hear we have converted you and we look forward to your return visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had to visit this place as I had family connections with the Fleet Air Arm, what a great place, each area or hanger covers an era of the Service, I wholly recommend the "Carrier" experience, you take a simulated flight on a Wessex Helicopter onto the flight deck of the Ark Royal! you are talked through the tore and see what it was like on board an operational Aircraft Carrier. The whole experience of this place is for all who loves our History and Military achievements, great place for all ages.

Thank terrydownes59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAAMUS, Manager at Fleet Air Arm Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Terry. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and the especially the Carrier Experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews