We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Liongate House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Liongate House
Ranked #1 of 1 Ilchester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here twice now and both times i felt like i had come home. Judy and Stuart were very welcoming even remembering us from the last time we stayed. They recommended the best places to eat and they were very accomodating when we were visited by family that were staying elsewhere in the area. Top marks go to the home made jams at breakfast aswell as the superb rooms. I wont stay anywhere else in Ilchester.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing Liongate House again for your family and we are very pleased that you were equally happy with your 2nd visit. Hopefully, there will be a 3rd and look forward to seeing you then. Judy & Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
54
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Just spent two nights with our son at this most wonderful B & B which offered better accommodation than I have ever experienced. Judy and Stuart made us SO welcome and the little extra touches (like providing proper wine glasses, without being asked, having noticed the bottle we had with us) and the choice of music with our wonderful breakfast. We stayed in the Stratford Suite which was exactly what was needed with a separate room for our 15 year old son, on hand but ensuring his (and our) privacy. B & B DOES NOT get better than THIS!!
Can't wait to use this comfortable and homely place again.
Alan and Dorothee Savage

Room Tip: B & B DOES NOT get better than THIS!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to welcome you to Liongate House and we are so glad that you had such a nice time and felt so at home - Nicholas certainly does you proud. Thank you for your lovely comments and we sincerely hope for a return visit in the future. With best wishes, Judy & Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this very clean and comfortable b & b. Our room was well equipped with all facilities and very pleasant. It is run by a charming couple who provided an excellent breakfast and many helpful tips on the surrounding area. There is ample car parking. we would both definately stay again.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldtravellerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed your breakfast. We're hoping for a good crop of fruit this year as we are running out fast of our preserves. Hopefully we will see you again at Liongate in the future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

As part of my job I travel all over Europe on a sometimes weekly basis. I was plannig to visit relatives based near Ilchester and the Liongate House was mentioned as looking a nice place to stay.
Well I have to say it was much better than nice, is was delightful. The rooms are decorated beautifully and to say clean is an understement..
The best intention of a hotel is to make every guest feel as they are the first person to use the room. Well I can confirm that was definaitely the case here.
The welcome received form Judy and Stuart just added to the whole experience. They are great hosts and made us feel very at home. To top off the stay an excellent breakfast was provied to see us on our way.
I cannot recomend the Liongate strongly enough.
We will be back very soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Liongate House and for your lovely comments. We put a lot of effort into making our rooms attractive and are very happy that you both found them 'delightful'. Please do visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed with Stuart and Judy on many occasions whilst travelling on business and their hospitality and attention to detail cannot be bettered. They are extremely well organised and each time I expressed a preference, be it breakfast times or even the type of cup in the room I have found the same arrangement in place each time without remainder. Even the forgotten half empty shampoo bottles were there waiting for me on my next visit.
The accommodation, breakfast and hospitality has been absolutely first class.
Aidan Bourke

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
We will certainly miss having you to stay at Liongate. It has always been a pleasure and we have enjoyed our little chats. Very best wishes and good luck for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow, we were pleasantly surprised when we entered the luxurious Lowry Suite which is beautifully furnished with a large en suite wet room, ample drawer space, walk in wardrobe and all the amenities you receive in a 5* hotel. More boutique hotel than B&B, it is absolutely spotless, we wished we could have stayed longer.

Judy and Stuart have thought of everything to ensure their guests have a comfortable, relaxing and faultless stay. We felt so welcome as nothing was too much trouble especially my dietary needs which Stuart took great care of. Breakfast was served at a time convenient to us, even our favourite music was playing quietly in the background which was a very thoughtful touch. Locally sourced organic produce together with a selection of their home made jams made our stay most enjoyable. Feeling very spoilt by their generous hospitality we cannot speak highly enough of our friendly hosts and would like to say a big “thank you” for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Without a doubt the very best B&B you will ever find, Judy and Stuart are just amazing.

Room Tip: Every room is stunning and absolutely spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldClassOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Wow indeed. Thank you very much for writing such a super review of our little B & B. We enjoy looking after our guests and always aim to provide a high quality service. It is nice to know that the little extra touches are noticed and appreciated. So glad you enjoyed the walk we recommended with the spectacular views over Somerset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently stayed at Liongate House on our way to Devon. This is without doubt the best B&B we have stayed at. Our room was extremely comfortable, clean and spotless.
Judy and Stuart are very hospitable people and made us very welcome. Breakfast was excellent and freshly cooked to order and the Jam's were homemade by Stuart.
Liongate House is Five Star Luxury without any doubt, because the standards are so high. We shall definitely be staying here again. Lastly thanks to Stuart for the fresh figs we were given when we left, they were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael Anerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoojudy, Owner at Liongate House, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We always strive to maintain our standard of accommodation and want each and every guest to leave Liongate knowing that we have tried to give our very best service. Thank you for your review. It is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilchester
3.3 mi away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
253 reviews
5.4 mi away
Yeovil Court Hotel & Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Northover Manor Hotel
Northover Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ilchester
245 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
191 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Masons Arms
The Masons Arms
#1 of 1 in Odcombe
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Liongate House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liongate House

Property: Liongate House
Address: Liongate House Northover, Ilchester, Yeovil BA22 8NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil > Ilchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ilchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Liongate House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Liongate House is a sympathetically rebuilt barn situated in the historic Roman town of Ilchester. Completed in 2006 using the original bricks and roof tiles, the integrity of the outer building remains whilst the inside is designed in a more modern contemporary style. Energy efficient underfloor heating together with a heat recovery ventilation system and effective rainwater recycling serving all toilets, make Liongate House an eco-friendly property to stay in. Our hearty breakfast includes local free-range eggs, some organic produce, a choice of teas or Fairtrade coffee, homemade marmalade and jams made with fruit from our garden. We are committed to providing a 4 star quality service whilst minimising the environmental impact of our activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Liongate House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Liongate House Ilchester, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing