We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious escape to the country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Langtry Country House
Ranked #3 of 5 Washford B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this wonderfully luxurious B & B. Susan and Penny made sure our visit was relaxing and welcoming. Our room was extremely well presented with numerous personal touches and the bed very comfortable. Susan obviously enjoys cooking and baking producing an excellent evening meal which consisted of fillet steak followed by home made blackberry and apple crumble, delicious. The breakfast again consisted of many home baked goodies including delicious muffins which, if we were unable to eat at breakfast, could be taken out in the bag provided to enjoy during the day. Nothing was too much trouble for these two delightful ladies who were happy to give us tips on where to go and where to eat etc. We would definitely recommend this B &B and would love to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinglejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Langtry Country House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 104 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

We tend to treat the reviews on this site with a pinch of salt as let's be honest some people will moan at the slightest thing and you wonder if some people have a vested interest in the business. We have just come back from two fabulous days with Susan and penny and believe me everything you have read is true, the place and the hosts are first class and we will definitely be going back. We have also recommended the place to our parents ( now that is a seal of approval ) From a selfish point of view we just hope the price can stay as competitive as possible so everyone can enjoy this experience as they could charge a lot more and it would still be value.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B_shepherd14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I'm almost reluctant to write this review as I want to keep this treasure all to myself - but Susan and Penny are working so hard that they deserve all credit. I can't add much more to the other glowing reviews on this website. Everything - and I mean everything - was just perfect. Susan and Penny are truly welcoming hosts and they have thought of everything. Its all the little touches that make your stay so comfortable, beautiful toiletries made by a friend, the thickest whitest towels you have ever seen, thick cuddly robes, home made or locally sourced food including delicious bread, muffins and damson jam to die for. Our room was spacious, immaculate and superbly comfortable and the bathroom was top notch. I have stayed at "boutique" B&Bs and paid twice the price for an awful lot less. This B&B is at the very top end of the market. We will certainly return, hopefully soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsB010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at this amazing B+B. It was like a slice of heaven!! The attention to detail was outstanding (freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast, quality toiletries in the bedroom, to name a few) The welcome we received, with tea and homemade fruit cake, was tremendous. The house has a warm atmosphere and the gardens are spacious and well kept. Susan and Penny, you are an amazing team! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsAHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a wonderful relaxing few days thanks to the amazing hospitality of Susan and Penny.
The breakfasts and evening meals are great and the room we were in was tastefully decorated with a really comfy bed.
Many thanks Susan & Penny for making our time there so special and I'm sure we will be back in the near future. (Sorry we forgot to write in the visitors book!)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsRLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Susan ensured a wonderful break with everything home baked. Excellent breakfast and evening meal. Penny ensured the whole house was spotless. Every comfort attended to. They made a great team and can fully appreciate the reviews they have received. The location was excellent for a peaceful break with lots to do in the vicinity of the house. Looking forward to a return visit. Live within an hour of house so not too far to travel

Room Tip: We stayed in the Black and white themed room looking onto a rural setting. Wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cepta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

If you want the BEST forget the REST. This place is just unbelieveable home made bread jams and butter. fresh orange juice sqeezed as you sit down. Eggs from their own chickens ,so Nice and Friendly and very relaxing cant wait to go back. Wish we had found this place at the beginning of the Holiday rather than the end. all I can say They have got it right. even have organic shampoo and shower wash. Chris and Sylvia Nottingham

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher_gunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washford
0.5 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
191 reviews
1.8 mi away
Swain House
Swain House
#3 of 14 in Watchet
133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wood Advent Farm
Wood Advent Farm
#5 of 14 in Watchet
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#1 of 5 in Washford
166 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Monkscider House
#4 of 5 in Washford
31 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langtry Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langtry Country House

Address: A39 At | Watchet, Washford, Watchet TA23 0NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Watchet > Washford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washford
Hotel Class:4 star — Langtry Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langtry Country House is a luxury four star Bed and Breakfast standing in its own grounds of four acres. Situated on the edge of Exmoor National Park and only two miles from the historic harbour town of Watchet, Langtry is well situated for The Quantocks, The Brendon Hills, and Minehead. All the individually styled bedrooms have en-suite facilities, Egyptian Cotton bed linen, large fluffy towels, hand-made toiletries, hair dryer, bathrobes, flat screen TV with DVD and tea and coffee making facilities. Enjoy breakfast in the drawing room where you can choose from a menu of locally sourced items and home-made fayre. There is also a cosy sitting area with log burner and a terrace to enjoy afternoon tea in the summer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing