We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not family friendly and slow, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Washford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not family friendly and slow, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

On a cold day a pub lunch seemed a good idea.....though after waiting for our meal for around 30 minutes (it wasn't that busy) we started to wonder if this was a good idea.
When our food finally arrived the waitress told us we had to move tables! This was because our well behaved daughter was not permitted at this table. We were told we had to sit in "The Snug" which has no heating and was definitely NOT snug, we had to keep our coats on!
Why didn't they tell us this whilst we were waiting!
Food is just ok, it's expensive for what you get. Not friendly. Wouldn't go back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinz-p-73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    48
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
87
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Stopped here for lunch by chance as we walked by. Staff (in particular Dave) were very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Food was good, beer was good and they are dog friendly. What more could we ask for? In fact we returned again during on our holiday.

Might be wise to book if planning an evening

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sagababe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visited this pub in January for a short break in this area as we hadn't stay around this particular area in a long time.
The pub was well off the beaten track, but easy to find in a nice quiet area of a small town.
We arrived later than expected and although they had finished serving they did provide us with a meal upon our arrival, which we both thought was excellent.
The pub it's self, we were told was originally a Devon long house, built in 1710 then in later years converted to the pub it is today.
It has a warm and friendly atmosphere and the staff were very helpful.
The room we stayed in was very nice, but we found it could of been a little warmer considering the time of year, but apart from that, it was very nice and enjoyable overall.....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neddyseagoonNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay at the White Horse and although the weather was very cold we had a great time. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming, the room was
comfortable and the food was fantastic. Having had breakfast in the morning we didn't need to eat again until the evening! We will certainly try to get back to Washford when the weather is a bit warmer and there are more places open for us to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobinaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Travelled to Somerset as a birthday treat for my bro' .
Friday night special of cod and chips for £5.50......bargain!
Hot,nice chips crispy tasty fish and mushy peas freshly cooked.
Definately recommend.
The pub itself had a warm and cosy ambience with a great log burner to warm you through on a cold night.
Friendly staff very attentive if I were to be in the area again I'd definately return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenni g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have stayed here twice so far. . The service is great. The food was fantastic..we have booked again for valintines. To sleep and a eve meal. We can't wait as its a very friendly pub. ,and we were made to feel very welcome. Prices are good also. And lots to look at with the views and animals. Horses are friendly also,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tereena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

An enjoyable stay in a local pub. It was busy with friendly locals giving it a vibrant and warm atmosphere. The room was comfortable and had all we needed. The breakfast was excellent, served quickly and with a very convivial host.

Room Tip: If you plan eating, think about booking a table.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lastchanceever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washford
4.0 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.5 mi away
Washford Inn
Washford Inn
#2 of 5 in Washford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cedar House
Cedar House
#1 of 1 in Old Cleeve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Inn

Property: The White Horse Inn
Address: Abbey Road | Washford, Washford TA23 0JZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Washford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing