We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Fairway, Barnsley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Trimdon Station UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stay for a wedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as my son was having a wedding night party here after a wedding abroad. The room we had was a family room and was spacious. Slightly disappointed with the standard of cleaning as there were old carrier bags and a used plastic fork in the drawer. At the side of the bed there was a penny which showed that the room had not been hoovered correctly. The nets had many holes in and there were smudges on the mirrors which is a shame as overall the hotel was nice. The reception area and bar/restaurant were nice. We had breakfast which was very nice with plenty of choice and freshly cooked. The bluebell suite where the party was held was very nice and very handy whilst staying at the hotel. Bar prices were standard which was nice as sometimes prices are high at these venues.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    84
    76
    40
    67
See reviews for
115
88
10
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here on a Thursday night and got a bargain for £28. We had to get a family room as the double rooms were booked up. We had two single beds pushed together and a spare bed on the floor. The single beds were not ideal as I kept awkwardly falling down the gap but it was understandable to cater for varying families. The décor was quite basic but had more personality than a lot of chain hotels. The room was clean and the bathroom was large with a big shower. There were all of the facilities needed such as kettle etc and there was a generous selection of free biscuits.
The floorboards were slightly creaky but that couldn't be helped and is common in hotels and bed and breakfasts.
We visited the restaurant/bar for drinks which was modern inside and had a nice atmosphere. We did not eat here and didn't stay for breakfast but it was a nice area. The staff were friendly and helpful.
We would definitely visit again if in the area and was great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penny2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night to attend a wedding reption. The family rooms were good with tea and coffee. Iron and boards were available. The location was convenient near the M1. The bluebell suit was good. The breakfast was OK but the service wasn't brilliant. The hotel was child friendly. Overall it was much like a Premier Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quissicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed here for one night as we attended a wedding that was held there. We paid £36 for a family room via bed bookers - at the price I expected very little. The receptionist when we arrived was friendly and professional the room was large, bright and clean with comfortable beds. There was tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities as well as biscuits in the room.

The bathroom was fine - shower over the bath but plenty of room.

The room had double glazing so there was no traffic noise.

My daughter was ill in the night and the guy on the night reception was really helpful.

Overall I was really impressed - I paid £36 for 4 people and I think I got exceptional value.

To negative reviewers i would say please don't review a hotel that charges these prices on the same basis as you would review a 4* or 5* hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayydiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife, my daughter and I stayed in a family room for a weekend whilst visiting relatives. After arriving back at the Fairway and putting my daughter to bed - my wife and I was shocked to find that the bedding hadnt been changed from the previous occupier.when we pulled the duvet back, the bottom sheet was all creased and after further inspection we found hairs in the bed! Not what you want to find at midnight...
After complaining in the morning we were told that the manager needed to be informed. As compensation we were refunded £19.90 the cost of 3 breakfasts.
Would we stay there again? Probably not!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MPeet100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dodworth hotels

North Somerset
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here Christmas 2012, to spend time with our daughter who lives locally. Boiler problems meant that we had no hot water on our last day/night. After lodging a complaint we were offered a free nights stay as compensation and accepted this. Taking advantage of voucher at this time (Sept 2013), room adequate and housekeeping have been in each day,, fresh towels,; coffee; biscuits etc. Unfortunately the bar and restaurant let the side down, paid for breakfast first morning at hotel reception, it was quite busy and therefore was surprised to see there only appeared to be one waitress who was bringing food out one and two plates at a time at 10 minute intervals!!! With the exception of eggs cooked to your choice most breakfast items should be ready to plate in my opinion. Needless to say after a 40min wait we left and asked for a refund. Poor attitude and service I'm afraid. Dodworth Valley all you can eat buffet breakfast £3.99 and served till 11am recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillsyNorthSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Visited the restaurant on saturday as a group of 13 for a family birthday meal. Have to say overproced and disappointing. The restaurant itself was very nice, decor etc - we ordered our meals more or less together but 3 of our party did not get theirs for quite a while after everyone else which wasnt good, particularly as the restaurant wasnt busy at all. 4 of our party ordered scampi and chips and peas (myself included) Chips were nice but small portion and the peas were not fresh garden peas, they were tinned. My son ordered regae chicken, again was served with tinned sweetcorn and peas and again, not enough to feel satisfield, There was only my Mum who enjoyed her meal which was the pie of the day, which looked quite nice and was a decent portion. Each mea cost an average of £8 - certainly not good value for money at all and we all agreed we wouldnt dine there again. Really does need improvements on the food front - wish we had gone to Toby Carvery next door whihc is our usual choice. I have also been to Fairway for Sunday lunch, the meat portion was better than Toby Carvery but the veg was a bit dry - so again, wouldnt visit again for sunday lunch.

Room Tip: only visited restaurant for meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajt1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
3.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway, Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway, Barnsley

Property: The Fairway, Barnsley
Address: Elmhirst Lane, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 4LS, England (Formerly New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Inn )
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway, Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly 39 bedroomed hotel, located within 1 mile of Junction 37 of the M1. Our friendly hotel also has a bar and restaurant and meeting/banqueting facilities. At The Fairway, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. We have meeting & banqueting facilities and can cater for up to 250 delegates or wedding guests all in 1 room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Fairway, Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Country Inns - Barnsley And The Bluebell Inn
New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Hotel Barnsley
Barnsley Country Inn
The Fairway, Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing