We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairway, Barnsley
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reasonable value for money.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have stayed here before when it was The Bluebell Inn. Things have not changed much with the change of name.
This is a reasonable budget hotel. The room was large and clean and the bed comfortable.
Bathroom floor covering was starting to 'bubble' here and there, probably due to a shower curtain that was too short.
Bar area was clean and staff were prompt to serve.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    87
    77
    41
    69
See reviews for
117
89
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Omg where do I start.......

No sheet on the double bed when I pulled back the quilt,
Room was dirty
Heater didn't work in the bedroom and on the morning we left a workman walked straight in where I was on the bed naked!! And when I complained the girl on reception just laughed

The steak in the restaurant was absolutely gross ( pic attached ) however the manager in there was apologetic and offered a free meal the next night.

Breakfast was appalling I was asked to sit at a table that someone had previously been sat at and there was still dirty pots on it and the table dirty. I couldn't believe it - disgusting! So I moved myself to another clean table and when my breakfast arrived I was slammed down and I was told I was supposed to sit on the othe table as this one had been laid for lunch. The breakfast was £7.99 and all I got was 1 sausage, one egg, a greasy piece of bacon, and one hash brown. I just got up and walked out. What is worse is that I have emailed the hotel several times and heard nothing from them- would hurt just to apologise.

Anyway avoid at all costs

Room Tip: Pay the extra £20 and go to Cubley Hall where we usually go but fancied a change at our expense
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shann0nt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dodworth hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked at the last minute and we thought it was very good value for the price. The room was large and had everything we needed. It is not luxurious but for the price we paid we were happy. We arrived late and they were closing the bar but still served us a drink and were friendly and welcoming.
We needed an early getaway and had a good breakfast. Overall for a functional overnight stay it was ideal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Basic accommodation, clean and cheap but staff not really interested, young and inexperience.
Slow service., food quality poor. Location distribution depot starts early for an early wake up call. Location ideal for the M1

Room Tip: Select double bedded rooms, single beds are too small for adults
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richard598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We had out wedding at the Fairway (Bluebell), had a fantasic day thanks to the great staff and seemless planning!

Thank you to all the staff, especially Emma, Marian and Anouk.

The food was excellent- and the breakfast the next morning was cooked fresh to order.

We were blown away by the bridal suite- a very impressive room which topped out day off.

Thanks again,

Ryan and Danielle

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed for the bank holiday. Hotel on an industrial estate so dont expect nice views but well located for attractions such as wentworth castle and metrodome swim both of which would recommend. Ample free parking. Check in was poor.. no info about hotel local area etc had to ask about free wifi, paying for breakfast (additional charge). Room wasnt ready on arrival (at 3pm) but were allocated another room quickly (request we had sent upon booking for a top floor was not given). Room was spacious with plenty of towels pillows. Family rooms have extra bed (matress on the floor! ) room was dusty but adequate for the cheap price we paid. Didnt sleep brilliantly as constant creaking floorboards, uncomfortable pillows and loud slamming doors but the lull of the fan provided to cool the room down drownt out some noise. Restaurant is lovely. Food and drink good quality waiters friendly kids play area and beer garden. Reasonably priced. Breakfast waitress less friendly more matriarch! Again breakfast not spectacular but adequate for money paid. If u wantluxury stay elsewhere and pay more!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DERBYSHIRE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the FAIRWAY hotel here a couple of times for a night out in Barnsley. It's only £5 in a taxi to town. The hotel is cheap, clean and spacious and has a late check out of midday so you have time to recover from the partying. Another bonus we had a lovely mixed grill down in the bar which is a pleasant bar.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carl4469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.8 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
3.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairway, Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairway, Barnsley

Property: The Fairway, Barnsley
Address: Elmhirst Lane, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 4LS, England (Formerly New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Inn )
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fairway, Barnsley 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern friendly 39 bedroomed hotel, located within 1 mile of Junction 37 of the M1. Our friendly hotel also has a bar and restaurant and meeting/banqueting facilities. At The Fairway, you will be welcomed by our team of staff who will look after you throughout your stay. We cater for everyone staying at our hotel from the discerning business traveller to a family of 4. Ample free car parking is available to all hotel guests. We have meeting & banqueting facilities and can cater for up to 250 delegates or wedding guests all in 1 room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Fairway, Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Country Inns - Barnsley & The Bluebell Hotel Barnsley
New Country Inns - Barnsley And The Bluebell Inn
Barnsley Country Inn
The Fairway, Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing