We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and good meal”
Review of Curry Mahal

Curry Mahal
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Dodworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and good meal”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

It had been a long time since I had eaten here and was pleased to see that the management remained the same and had maintained standards. We had a good meal with substantial portions which were not simply sauce at a reasonable price. Both the service and food were so much better than the Dilraj where we ate last year. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hewhotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    16
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Extremly good food. You will have to wait tho its cooked to order. Which I prefer. Friendly service. Not rushed. Drinks good too. Pleasant atmosphere

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amanda127070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2,101 reviews
1,195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,852 helpful votes
“Takeaway with health warning!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This restaurant is pretty near me, so thought I'd give it a go for a mid week takeaway. Waited quiet a while for the food to be cooked, as I hadn't got their menu to preorder.
Ordered chicken bhuna & lamb Biriyani. Both were ok, but were swimming in ghee, which put me right of the meal.
Why do they need to cook with so much oil, there was at least 5 tables full of oil on the Bhuna alone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High quality Indian”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been frequenting the curry mahal for more years than I care to remember, and having just wrote a review for another establishment i visited today for the first time, it has prompted me into action. Ash and Ash 2 at front of house are always welcoming and are more than willing to spice/tweak dishes to taste, if asked!! The food is constantly of a high standard using fresh ingredients and like many others I find it very difficult to look beyond the Mahal for a good curry in Barnsley.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ianf1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“1st timers - brilliant food and service”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We live locally and have always travelled to Penistone for our curries but after hearing other peoples reviews we thought we would try it for ourselves The food was very tasty no fat on any of the meat, large portions, the service was faultless and the restaurant its self was lovely, clean and cool. We will be certainly going again in the very near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie Guy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Mahal also viewed

Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Curry Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing