We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I booked via Groupon a Prosseco afternoon tea. I have to say it was very good. We had sandwiches, crisps, salad, fresh home made scones with clotted cream and jam, chocolate brownies and a lemon tart. Plus tea or coffee and a glass of Prosseco. All in all it was lovely. Good friendly service as well. My only criticism would be we were sat in the bar area which lacked atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BarnsleyChappers147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 579 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the second time we had been for Afternoon Tea - the first time was a lovely experience, we sat in the foyer area and the food was excellent. So we decided to do it again,but what a disappointment. We were shown into a "dedicated area", a very bland room - no frills whatsoever. No decoration anywhere - not even a picture on the wall. Two other tables were occupied but it was so quiet in the room everyone was whispering - a bit of background music would have given it a bit more atmosphere. The food arrived - the sandwiches were very basic, sliced bread cut into strips with bland fillings, a tiny bowl of crisps and the same size bowl with salad. The scone and cakes were really nice but were spoilt by the "mushy" strawberries. No nice coffee pot this time - replaced with a "conference room" stainless pot. Couldn't wait to get out really it was so disappointing. The point was made earlier about what to expect for £13 - the cost should have been £25 and that is what this afternoon should have been based on and not what we were given. This was a pre Christmas treat for my husband which sadly went wrong. On a happier note - the staff were still very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PebblyBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear PebblyBeaches,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. It is unfortunate this visit was not on par with your previous experience. We were pleased to see the Service did still receive a perfect score. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The service was quite poor, the staff seemed unsure of what to do and was unable to provide good service. The bar member brought over our afternoon tea, but didn't bring over our drinks till we had finished.. And needed reminding to get them. The mulled wine was discusting! It wasn't mulled, it was warmed up red wine that we couldn't drink!
Sandwiches and sweets were standard, could have been fresher. But what do you expect for 13 pounds.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Cassie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear Cassie019,

Thank you for your review. It is pleasant to read that you like our location and clean property. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation on this day particularly with the service received and food selections that was served . It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I took my mum here for afternoon tea with a 'Groupon' voucher couple of weeks ago and it was lovely. Table was set perfectly,sandwiches,cakes and scones were beautiful. The service was impeccable and staff polite and friendly. I will definately be returning for tea again and was tempted by the afternoon and evening menus too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Got married here 16/11/13 and what a superb wedding day we had! Stayed the night before the wedding with family and had a lovely evening, room was spacious even with an extra bed for my son, lovely bathroom and enjoyable bar meal in the evening. Our wedding day went without a hitch, the buffet was lovely, plenty of bar staff and everyone looked after us, highlight of the day me and my new husband were upgraded to the bridal suite as had booked a normal room to keep our costs down. Quite a few of our guests had booked hotel rooms and everyone has said how lovely and homely the hotel was. All the staff are very friendly and helped in any way they could. Thumbs up all round!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We recently held a special birthday event here and I cannot praise the staff too highly, they were professional, polite and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble and they made the evening one to remember for my daughter and her guests. The buffet food was very good and there was plenty for everyone. We stayed the night and the room was first class, clean comfortable and quiet. I fully recommend this hotel for any special event or for just a good hotel room, conveniently located close to the M1.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishroseEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The holiday inn is reasonable and as you would expect. It has some problems the biggest of which in my opinion was the lack of soap in the bathrooms. You were limited to a multi functional liquid soap that was more like an industrial degreasing agent - terrible for your body and hair. Rooms were clean but the beds were very soft and created some back problems for me with a strong preference of a firm bed
Restaurant was ok as was the bar but nothing special. There was not a lot of choices nearby so unless you drive into Barnsley you are a but limited
The gym was an attached building run separately by ?ballantyne and was awesome. Fantastic equipment of all sorts a 25 meter pool and jacuzzi. Spa facilities and best of all three rooms with classes of spinning cardio training and yoga that was available and well run. In still aching from my workout but loved it

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
416 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
70 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
957 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: $71 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Holiday Inn Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing