We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor "afternoon tea"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Barnsley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Poor "afternoon tea"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the second time we had been for Afternoon Tea - the first time was a lovely experience, we sat in the foyer area and the food was excellent. So we decided to do it again,but what a disappointment. We were shown into a "dedicated area", a very bland room - no frills whatsoever. No decoration anywhere - not even a picture on the wall. Two other tables were occupied but it was so quiet in the room everyone was whispering - a bit of background music would have given it a bit more atmosphere. The food arrived - the sandwiches were very basic, sliced bread cut into strips with bland fillings, a tiny bowl of crisps and the same size bowl with salad. The scone and cakes were really nice but were spoilt by the "mushy" strawberries. No nice coffee pot this time - replaced with a "conference room" stainless pot. Couldn't wait to get out really it was so disappointing. The point was made earlier about what to expect for £13 - the cost should have been £25 and that is what this afternoon should have been based on and not what we were given. This was a pre Christmas treat for my husband which sadly went wrong. On a happier note - the staff were still very friendly and polite.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PebblyBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear PebblyBeaches,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent experience. It is unfortunate this visit was not on par with your previous experience. We were pleased to see the Service did still receive a perfect score. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    165
    88
    34
    32
See reviews for
111
135
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The service was quite poor, the staff seemed unsure of what to do and was unable to provide good service. The bar member brought over our afternoon tea, but didn't bring over our drinks till we had finished.. And needed reminding to get them. The mulled wine was discusting! It wasn't mulled, it was warmed up red wine that we couldn't drink!
Sandwiches and sweets were standard, could have been fresher. But what do you expect for 13 pounds.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cassie019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Cassie019,

Thank you for your review. It is pleasant to read that you like our location and clean property. I am sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectation on this day particularly with the service received and food selections that was served . It is our goal to provide the highest level of customer service. Comments such as yours permit us to target areas of concern and take the necessary steps to remedy the situation.

Again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We hope to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

I took my mum here for afternoon tea with a 'Groupon' voucher couple of weeks ago and it was lovely. Table was set perfectly,sandwiches,cakes and scones were beautiful. The service was impeccable and staff polite and friendly. I will definately be returning for tea again and was tempted by the afternoon and evening menus too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

Got married here 16/11/13 and what a superb wedding day we had! Stayed the night before the wedding with family and had a lovely evening, room was spacious even with an extra bed for my son, lovely bathroom and enjoyable bar meal in the evening. Our wedding day went without a hitch, the buffet was lovely, plenty of bar staff and everyone looked after us, highlight of the day me and my new husband were upgraded to the bridal suite as had booked a normal room to keep our costs down. Quite a few of our guests had booked hotel rooms and everyone has said how lovely and homely the hotel was. All the staff are very friendly and helped in any way they could. Thumbs up all round!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We recently held a special birthday event here and I cannot praise the staff too highly, they were professional, polite and pleasant, nothing was too much trouble and they made the evening one to remember for my daughter and her guests. The buffet food was very good and there was plenty for everyone. We stayed the night and the room was first class, clean comfortable and quiet. I fully recommend this hotel for any special event or for just a good hotel room, conveniently located close to the M1.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishroseEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown
Level Contributor
523 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

The holiday inn is reasonable and as you would expect. It has some problems the biggest of which in my opinion was the lack of soap in the bathrooms. You were limited to a multi functional liquid soap that was more like an industrial degreasing agent - terrible for your body and hair. Rooms were clean but the beds were very soft and created some back problems for me with a strong preference of a firm bed
Restaurant was ok as was the bar but nothing special. There was not a lot of choices nearby so unless you drive into Barnsley you are a but limited
The gym was an attached building run separately by ?ballantyne and was awesome. Fantastic equipment of all sorts a 25 meter pool and jacuzzi. Spa facilities and best of all three rooms with classes of spinning cardio training and yoga that was available and well run. In still aching from my workout but loved it

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DrNic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

On business in the area, arrived late so didn't use the restaurant. Bar was still open although strangely had no ice left.
Room pleased and although near the lift no noise from it, air conditioner had a clicking fit despite being off but apart from that very quiet.
Breakfast was excellent and checkout quick and easy. Will be using again next time in the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank CNC-expert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley Central M1 J37 Hotel
4.2 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Barnsley (Dearne Valley) Hotel
20.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Doncaster Mount Pleasant Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Property: Holiday Inn Barnsley
Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Holiday Inn Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing