We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit and good again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Everything great but only issue was asked for some choc sachets for room they said yes and they would bring them and so I got changed and they didn't and couldn't ring as phone not working. Otherwise great

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMVEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 572 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This is an excellent venue. Most definetely the best thing about Barnsley. We used this hotel as a base while touring the area. The rooms and breakfast were lovely, the staff were very cheery as we walked in. The leisure facilities are at Bannatynes across the car park and the pool was also very nice. It was all very clean and warm. We would definately stop here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony_and_Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding. The booking was painless, we did not have to wait a long time unlike another comment, but it was probably due to the fact that there was no one else waiting.

When we reached the room, we found the wash basin/sink was blocked which we reported to the reception. We were promised it will be mended the next day.It was the same next day, so we reported it again, and the receptionist apologized and said it will be mended the following day as the maintenance man has gone home. We did not stay the next day to find out what happened.

On the first day we asked for a wake up call at 7am, there was no call, so we complained at the reception, she checked it in the book and the call was there. She apologised once again that the night staff forgot about it. The next day we again asked for a wake up call at 7.30 am. Once again there was no call. The same thing happened when we complained, the receptionist apologised once again for the mistake of the night staff.

The only credit I must give is that the staff may not be good at doing the job, but they are very good at apologizing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nandu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Nandu M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is unfortunate service issues prevented you from fully enjoying your time at our hotel. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Usual overnight stay for me - arrived after 10.00pm and left again before 9.00am. Nonetheless, sufficient to know that this is a hotel that I would return to. Just a couple of minutes off the M1 (which is good because there is no motorway noise evident inside the bedroom) and easy to find - well signed from the motorway. Lovely big bedroom with all the facilities you would expect, including free in-room wi-fi which was pretty fast. Very comfortable bed. Good breakfast and very efficient check-out. Nice staff. And great value for money on top of it all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali-ballee-bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIBarnsley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Barnsley and completing this Tripadvisor review.

Myself and the team were extremely pleased to read of your satisfaction at your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on being a hotel of choice, and your positive comments mean a lot to us.

I do hope to have the pleasure inviting you back to our hotel in the near future. If there is anything further we can assist with, please do not hesitate in contacting a member of the hotel team who will be more than happy to help.

With Kind Regards
Jason Hiley
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights for a wedding in Penistone. The hotel was close to Dodworth train station, but there wasn't much else around. There was a few takeaways and a small supermarket but a bus ride from Barnsley town centre. The Hotel itself was brill, the lobby was very warm and welcoming, the bedroom was standard double but it was very spacy, the bathroom was also a very good size. Unfortunately the bed wasn't very comfortable.The evening buffet didn't have much choice however, and the entrance to the hotel was behind the car park and didn't have much of a pedestrian walkway. The staff were very helpful and didn't keep us waiting for long. We only went to the bar on one evening and wasn't impressed with the fact that there was children running round there at 11pm at night, most bars don't allow children in at that time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIBarnsley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Barnsley and completing this Tripadvisor review.

My team and myself are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay recent stay was us.

We greatly appreciate your comments, and we strive to constantly improve our guest experience. Please rest assured that your comments regarding the evening buffet offering, and our childrens policy in the lounge bar have been discussed with my management team.

I do hope to have the pleasure inviting you back to our hotel in the near future. If there is anything further we can assist with, please do not hesitate in contacting a member of the hotel team who will be more than happy to help.

With Kind Regards
Jason Hiley
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went to Vinny and Adel's wedding other week - we had an excellent day. We stayed over too, room was large and well decorated - only problem was it was a little warm, we put a card in the electric slot and it stayed on whilst we was downstairs enjoying the wedding. The wedding room looked lovely and the food and service was great. Food was the hottest we have ever tasted when serving so many. The wedding was hosted by Chris from the hotel and he was a star - very professional, nothing was too much trouble and looked after the bride and groom throughout the day. During the evening the DJ was good and the buffet was good too - I am gluten free and couldn't eat most of the buffet so Chris offered to get me a salad which was just what I needed after so much food earlier! The girls on the bar - Katie and Natalie (I think!) were brilliant, always smiling and polite even if they were running about mad busy, by the end of the night they both knew our orders down to a 'T'! One suggestion would be to have more bar staff on.

Staff at breakfast teh next morning were excellent - we all sat together and ate the lovely breakfast, it might be a buffet but it was hot and fresh. It was nice to see Chris the next morning too, again keeping us topped up with lots of coffee - and we needed it! I would reccommend the hotel to anyone looking for a great venue with excellent service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJ1001a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIBarnsley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Barnsley and completing this Tripadvisor review.

The team and I are thrilled to hear your recent stay with us exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on being a Wedding Venue of choice, and I am glad to hear that my team reflected these aspirations on the day.

I do hope to have the pleasure inviting you back to our hotel in the near future. If there is anything further we can assist with, please do not hesitate in contacting a member of the hotel team who will be more than happy to help.

With Kind Regards
Jason Hiley
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

First the good:

The health center next door is great. Definitely a cut above the normal hotel gym. Although opening hours especially on a weekend could be more user friendly.
The price was excellent. We stayed 6 nights and got a great rate from Jonathan.
The rooms were nicely refurbished. Not fancy but ok.
The staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The breakfast was excellent.

The downsides:
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone from the USA - the plumbing will drive you crazy.Intermittent cold showers, hot water out of the cold taps unexpectedly, erratic and inscrutable wifi etc. The real problem for me was the paper thin walls. TV's , babies crying, conversations are not conducive to dealing with jetlag. I would recommend earplugs and headphones to anyone that needs peace and quiet.

On balance though it was good value and a pleasant stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Paul_K_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRHIBarnsley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Barnsley and completing this Tripadvisor review.

I am extremely pleased that you have enoyed your recent stay with us, and it is with pride that I read your recognition of our helpful staff and our great breakfast.

Please be assured that your comments regarding downsides that you experienced have been discussed at length with my management team and have been duly acted upon, to prevent similar occurances for future guests.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. If there is anything further we can assist with, please do not hesitate in contacting a member of the hotel team who will be more than happy to help.

With Kind Regards
Jason Hiley
Group General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
410 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.7 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
277 reviews
6.8 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: $70 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Holiday Inn Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing