We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value business stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A good value business stopover”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

From the moment I arrived this Hotel was professional and aims to please. The receptionist is helpful and knowledgeable and they are prepared to go the extra mile to assist in any requests. I did not eat hear but went out to get something to eat in y home. i asked for cutlery and they provided without a fuss. The room was spotless and modern and had everything you need for a comfortable night. Spacious, hot shower, good TV and wi-fi. This is my 4th visit in 2 years and it is my first choice when i have to come up to this area. The rate was good as well for B & B (£69). Breakfast was hot tasty and the variety was everything you could hope for both hot and cold. With access to the Ballentyne facility next door included, a swim was free...( a classy experience as far removed from a council swimming pool as you could get)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMVEAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    173
    88
    34
    33
See reviews for
113
139
19
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a offer which included use of the spa facilities next door at the gym! The hotel is nice, clean and modern and the beds are really comfy! Comfy enough to sink into tem and fall asleep within seconds!! Although in our bathroom, around the bath could use some TLC!!
The restaurant however............is a shambles!!! Whoever wrote the 3 course menu for £21.99 needs to get back to the drawing board and learn some kitchen skills!!
Me and my partner had the creamy mushrooms, which just tasted like they had a whole pot of cream thrown in!! For main we both had the chicken with sweet chilli and lime sauce as sautéed potatoes!! Now whoever thought this dish would "tickle the tastebuds" was rather heavy handed with the chilli!! Our mouths was burning to the point we didn't enjoy it and had to leave it!! Under the chicken was some potatoe wedges, but it was served with new potatoes, green beans, carrots and courgettes!! Since when does root veg compliment a hot chilli sauce??? Perhaps a ramekin of rice and some crispy noodles would be better and easier to cook!!! The waiters looked like they were really trying and messed it up apart from the guy in the white short and tie, he was directing them and telling them what to do!! Simply inexperienced waiters serving!! Desserts were ok! Nothing fancy!!
Breakfast, again not impressed! The pain au chocolat were crusty and stale, the bread was hard and the main cooked breakfast was just warm!!
My advice...........hotel nice and welcoming, but eat elsewhere!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myke12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear myke12,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay and for the inconvenience the restaurant food options may have caused. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for.

I hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel on at least four occasions and have always been impressed with the standards of the hotel and the friendly helpful service. The rooms are spacious,clean and have comfortable beds. You can even choose the softness of your pillow! Bathrooms have bath and shower and plentiful supply of towels and toiletries.
Breakfast offers a wide choice to cater for all needs. Our request to have tea with breakfast followed by coffee afterwards was not a problem. Dinner in the restaurant is excellent with plenty of variety. We have also enjoyed the very substantial and value for money afternoon teas and more recently the three course lunch for £9.95. This was a really good deal;every member of the party thoroughly enjoyed their meal and all considered it great value for money.
Don't forget to take your swimming gear as residents can use the excellent sports facilities for free. If you join The Holiday Inn reward scheme you can benefit from late check out if available.
The best thing is the friendly,helpful staff who seem genuinely pleased to serve you. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. Staff were really great with our two grandsons aged two and three.
The hotel is conveniently situated just off the M1 and is in a great position to explore the countryside around Barnsley: Wentworth Woodhouse,Wentworth Castle, Worsborough Nature park, Cannon Hall, The mining museum,the Sculpture Park....Barnsley has plenty to offer for a weekend away. We look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: I always ask not to have a room too near the lift in any hotel I go to. Other than that all the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent two nights here over the weekend Sunday thru Tuesday and it wasn't a good experience overall,I will start with the negatives.

Sunday night

The restaurant wasn't open so we were advised we could choose from the bar menu and this unfortunately was a mistake,i ordered the sea food linguine and my partner the salmon and salad,we were first informed that they had run out of salad so we opted for chips instead,when the food arrived they were barely warm the salmon was edible and the chips were hot although the dips that came with were unrecognizable from the descriptions given (we have both eaten similar sauces all over the world but non have ever tasted like these).My linguine came in a bowl and was made from tomato mussels crab sticks and two shelled shrimps and was completely foul which is a shame as i was really looking forward to it.

On complaining the duty manager refunded the linguine (£9.50) and offered me a sandwich which i declined after still feeling sick from the initial mouth full i swallowed.

We headed off elsewhere for food that evening and the following day.

The breakfast menu was good and the staff themselves polite although on the second day we were still waiting for our room to be cleaned after 3.30pm which again was disappointing as we had plans for the evening and wanted an afternoon nap.

Overall i would have to say we were very disappointed having stayed in several holiday inns in the past without any complaint that this one was a let down.

After thought

The swimming pool is not within the hotel but next door which meant we did not use these facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siwr2249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear siwr2249,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and regret our food quality, housekeeping service and facilities did not live up to your expectations. Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Once again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

was told to stay in another hotel near by and walked into the room and just walked straight out and googled and found this little treasure of a hotel i had a room which was huge, the room was really nice with a big bathroom always a plus. Food was good and service was great i found the staff to be really nice and helpful at all times. Very conveniently located for Barnsley.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

i feel it best to start with negatives and finish with positives.

The service felt forced from certain members of staff.
I feel the price of drinks could be lowered, if you have a considerable sized event.
I spoke to a really difficult member of staff who seemed obsessed with money. (this could happen anywhere).
The function room that we viewed months before our night had remains of a 30th party the night before, this is understandable, however i had to remove a 30th banner on the day of our wedding that i can honestly say is the same banner as before, positioned under the bar counter.
I had to ask for a badly damaged door on entrance to the function room, to be repaired the night before our wedding day.
The shower did not work in our honey moon suit, so was unable to wash the morning after.
The dressing gowns provided really did feel like sand paper.
And finally just two days after our wedding we were receiving calls from staff, who informed us that extra funds of around £170 were owed by ourselves for extras that were provided on the night. once we investigated we found that there wasn't any funds owed, but the hotel failed to apologise or offer some kind of compensation. My wife cried after this mess, we were left feeling very unhappy.

positives are, the hotel feels very modern, they have an impressive spa gym building (we didn't go inside), there are good members of staff, the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Barnsley, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Aaron T,

Thank you for your stay and taking the time to leave feedback. I am happy to know that you found our spa facility nice and the breakfast served lived up to expectations. However, allow me to apologize that you found your stay to be less than satisfactory due to the issues experienced with the room accommodations received and shortcomings from the members of the staff. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed in our property and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done at a latter time.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I use the hotel regularly for business and can honestly say I can find no faults. Shauna in reception is so friendly and welcoming. She is the public face of the Holiday Inn and provides a professional and efficient service. She even arranged a birthday card and email as I am a regular guest !!. Kat in the restaurant is another star employee. The Holiday Inn are lucky to have these two employees representing them. Also worthy of mention are Sue and Sarah who make my trips most enjoyable. The hotel, with it's gym and pool facilities and it's link to the nearby Silkstone Golf Club, is a must for any Business or Leisure traveller.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
0.6 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
352 reviews
4.1 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
52 reviews
3.8 mi away
Wortley Hall
Wortley Hall
#1 of 1 in Wortley
529 reviews
6.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Barnsley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Barnsley

Property: Holiday Inn Barnsley
Address: Barnsley Road, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Barnsley 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Barnsley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Holiday Inn Barnsley Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing