We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Wasn't expecting much but this hotel was excellent. It was ultra hip and modern in the lobby and in the rooms. The receptionist was quite friendly and the waitress in the hotel restaurant took extra time to go print out attraction suggestions for us. Great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vashka0310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 609 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2010

A nice, clean modern hotel located at Junction 37 of the M1, which was ideally situated for visiting my family on this side of Barnsley, and for a swift getaway onto the motorway in the morning. Plenty of on-site parking, and we managed to get a good rate on the Wyndham website (£41).

The room was modern,clean and tastefully decorated. The bed was comfortable with the exception of the pillows. These were completely insubstantial and we had to ask for another pair from housekeeping.
The bathroom was nice, with a walk-in shower (wetroom) as opposed to a bath or shower cubicle. Good water pressure, good quality shower gel/soaps - very nice indeed.

We had learned that there was a function (18th birthday party) + disco that in the hotel's function room/bar until 12.30am, which we feared would disturb our sleep.
Full marks to the General Manager, Barbara, for allocating us a room on the very top floor, as far away as possible from the function room/bar to try and prevent disturbance.

Unfortunately our fears were realised, and we had someone trying their keycard in our door at around 12.20am and rattling the door when they found couldn't get in. (They didnt hang about to be confronted. After I yelled at them, they had scarpered by the time I reached the door!)
Then, At 1am we were disturbed by 4 youths in the car park , constantly opening and slamming car doors whilst having an arguement over whether they were too drunk to drive. The mediocre double-glazing meant we were kept awake despite being 3 floors up.

We didnt try the hotel's snack menu or restaurant, as a burger or pizza was a tenner each. There is a Toby Carvery on the same site as the hotel, where we ate a fantastic meal for just £5 each.

As a hotel only- for tired guests to relax and sleep - this Ramada would initially seem ideal... However - in operating as a venue for functions, discos etc, (with the accompanying late-night noise and drunkedness) - it risks not meeting the most important requirement for most guests ie: undisturbed night's sleep.

Despite the rooms being of a high standard,I would try another hotel on my next visit due to the chance of a re-occurrence of this situation.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Lovely, clean & modern. Staff are excellant, house keeping 100%
Did not get much sleep due to the noisy M1 defo needs some more noise reduction glazing.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckinder79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed here for 7 nights, great location just off the motorway and a 10 min drive from Penistone to where I was travelling to daily. Hotel is clean but basic staff helpful and friendly, I would say its a notch up from your average travelodge. The food in the hotel was good and reasonably priced, I would definitely stay here again.
No probs or complaints 9/10

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gnt73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Stayed for a week here while working in Leeds. It's location is both its strength and its weakness; it's just off the M1 and you can be in Leeds or Sheffield within 20 minutes, but the traffic noise is incessant, and the double glazing sadly ineffective for such a new hotel. The room decor is modern, clean and funky - although the double bed is really only a queen bed. The staff are keen to impress and the free internet and newspapers in reception are a nice touch. At £31 a night (booked through hotels.com) it was a good deal - but didn't compensate for the lack of sleep for this particularly noise-intolerant pedant!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiffy2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2010

The hotel is extremely convenient for the M1 (Junction 37) and has very good rates. However, its outstanding feature is the excellent service. The staff are all so nice and so friendly. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieScarlettLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed here for one night, dinner bed and breakfast due to it being on special offer and value for money was excellent. We did however have mixed feelings about our stay. The location was excellent being right next to the M1 and there is ample parking. The check in was quick and friendly and you get a key card each which is a bonus! As previous reviews state, the hotel is modern, fresh and very clean. The rooms have everything you need along with a great information pack for the hotel and the town in general. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble.

The assistant manager told us that they had to drop the prices from the ones they were given by their head office just to get people in as the hotel had been practically empty, I don't know if this will continue. Although we got a great price for dinner, bed and breakfast, I wouldn't reccommend dinner. The impression we got was that there was only one chef in the kitchen (probably because they were so quiet) because we had to wait 40 minutes to be seated in the dining area despite there only being a party of 6 already eating. Once they were finished we were the only 2 people in the reastaurant leaving the atmosphere pretty dead. Also the dining area is not completely seperate to the bar etc so they could not turn the music up because of the tv in the bar and vice versa.
The menu is fairly limited but has a decent selection of side orders etc. The food was lovely although not what I would normally expect in a hotel restaurant and to say there was only 2 of us eating the food came out quite slow. I have to say though that Beki the waitress was fantastic and was running around working the bar and the dining room.
Breakfast was excellent and the atmosphere was so much better. The choice of continental was very good and the hot buffet was superb. My only gripe was that they didn't have the facilities for much of the hot food out at a time so there was a lot of people waiting for more to come out of the kitchen.

All in all though a worthy hotel and great value for money, the small problems we had could just have been purely down to that particular night.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkiemarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#5 of 8 in Barnsley
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
911 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: $55 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing