We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Barnsley(Barnsley)(Great Value!)
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Wortley Hall(Wortley)
$128
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Staindrop Lodge(Sheffield)
$144
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (676)
Filter reviews
676 results
Traveler rating
202
265
120
50
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
265
120
50
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstoby carverywalk in showerrailway linecontinental breakfastramada encorewet roomcar parkcoach tourtoby innmodern hotelall you can eatfull englishexcellent valueno frillsbudget hotelshort stayan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 676 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Travelling from Scotland and after several delays we decided to search for dog friendly accommodation online. Found advertised for £45 a room only that was dog friendly. Great. Arrived at reception and was advised that there was a charge for the dog of £10 per night. Now we don't mind paying for our dog but this is not on the website to advise you of additional charges. Receptionist Michelle was very professional and quickly booked us in. On entering the hotel room which was on the motorway side and although the windows were double glazed the road noise was quite evident. I don't usually complain but returned back to reception and explained the circumstances and asked if we could change rooms. Michelle was understanding and arranged for us to have a room on the opposite side of the hotel. Much quieter.
The room and bed linen was very clean. One thing to bear in mind is that the rooms have laminate floors and when your walking around it does make quite a noise.
Did not have the breakfast option at the hotel as over the car park is a Toby Carvery were for £3.99 you could help yourself to numerous choices.
Overall a good value hotel with good customer service.

Room Tip: Request a room in the hotel on the opposite side to the M1 for a quieter nights sleep
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShereeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for your review

Look forward to seeing you again in our hotel

Regards

Dawne Carter

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Great stay again. This time managed to completely mess the booking up but the staff just sorted out the booking for the correct number of days and honoured the rate originally booked. Hotel is clean and the rooms are good. There are signs of wear and tear but its all clean. Didn't have dinner this time but breakfast was very good. Will continue to use.

Room Tip: Overlook car park on third floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaldon07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Thank you for yor review

We hope to see you again soon

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Arrived sun eve to be able to park right by the entrance, into the reception to be met by the very helpful and capable ben who sent us on our way to a second floor room facing the car park, it smelt of fags but on telling Ben, he came up immediately and sprayed the room, room is large and well appointed and with free internet and free phone calls, unique in any hotel for sure.

Needed extra pillows, Ben to the rescue lol, large lcd tv and enjoyable power shower with plenty of tea and coffee, more needed? call Ben ha ha, bed was comfortable and breakfast is a relaxed informal occasion that was well attended by the staff (not ben), who were helpful and fast.

With a mix of wowcher and booking. com we had a great 3 nights at a very reasonable rate and had no reason for complaint and are hoping to come back, fingers crossed for another deal eh!, my advice is: if you have a problem than give the staff a chance to put it right because our experience is that ALL the staff are friendly and helpful.

The hotel is well situated for visits to Barnsley or meadow hall and easy to find as its right off the slip Rd of the M1.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philjdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Great to see Ben and all the team looked after you

See you again soon

Regards

Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in the hotel Friday evening with a room situated at the back of the hotel. Which is very noisy with the motorway running right past the widow.

This was because we had to have the window open as the room was so hot, radiator had been left on full so it was extremely warm. You then closed the window which does solve the noise issue, but the room doesn't cool down, you have no room controls for the air conditioning, which only appears to dry out the air rather than reduce the temperature, although room controls and a thermostat would be helpful. As a consequence neither myself or my partner got much sleep After reading other reviews make sure you have a room at the front of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Travellinghatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and discussing further you poor nights sleep.

I am sorry we do not have air-conditioning in the hotel bedrooms, however the radiator can be controlled in the room.

We do offer fans at reception for guests to use, also we have purchased some ear plugs to ensure light sleepers can get a good nights rest.

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I've stopped here before, and been at the front of the hotel - and believe me, it is like two different hotels - the front is absolutely fine, the back is very noisy with the motorway. You just take a chance!

The problem we had with the room was the temperature - it was absolutely boiling hot. The heating wasn't on - and we opened the window as soon as we got to the hotel, but neither my wife or I got any sleep Friday night as it was unbearably warm, and with the window open very noisy. I didn't mention it to reception, as to be honest if the heating wasn't on, then presumably there wasn't anything they could do anyway.

I do like the bathroom here - a very good one. A minor complaint with the pillows - very thin and added to the aggravation of not sleeping Friday night. An extra pillow on Saturday night did help.

Room Tip: Front of the building is essential.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crispy220278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry the room was hot for you during your stay, we do not have airconditioning in our hotel bedrooms however we can provide fans for our guests during their stay.

Some of our rooms are facing the M1 motorway, however they are double glazed. We can also offer a room away from the motorway and we have now purchased ear plugs for our guests, as sleeping in a hotel can be noisy as all guests arrive and deaprt at different times of the night.

Once again thank you for your feedback as this helps us to improve

Regards

Dawne Carter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews