We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value. Wonderful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Staff here were totally excellent!!!!!!! They gave you time, respect and helped you out even though they were very busy. The management need to ask themselves questions, as they were clearly under staffed, but coped superbly even so.
Clean, comfy(ish) mattress not great, rooms good, food excellent.
Would recommend.
The local curry house was a great meal but the staff were strange. See for yourself.

Room Tip: Don't over look the rear or side car park.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you for your review

We look forward to seeing you soon

Regards

Dawne Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 609 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We held our party night at the Ramada Encore Barnsley. We had a fabulous evening with the meal being excellent, hot and the serving staff really quick, courteous and helpful. The DJ afterwards was really good too.
The breakfast on both mornings was again excellent and staff very helpful seeing to all our needs.
Rooms were roomy, very clean and modern with a comfortable bed.
I cannot fault the stay at all and would be very happy to book future events and stays there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyAbnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

Thank you for your review, great to hear you enjoyed your night with us, will ensure all the staff get your feedback.

Nice to get great feedback.

Regards

Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

We went as a group of 9 with national holidays for a 1 night stay. Very quick check in. We were all next to each other. All areas very clean and modern. Next door is a Toby carvery. Rooms very nice clean modern. There was a private function on the night with notices saying disco on till late. We had a set evening meal which was lovely and hot. The only problem was where we were sat it was drafty from the front door. After our meal we couldn't sit in the bar because of the private function. Breakfast was again hot and plenty of choice. Staff very attentive and helpful. Would have given top marks if we could have sat in the bar on the night.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mturnbull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, we do try and ensure all our guest's enjoy our hotel

See you again soon

Regards

Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Subject: Ramada Encore Barnsley
Location: Dodworth, Barnsley, South Yorkshire, England, United Kingdom, Europe
Title: Excellent Value
ID#: 184621734

Booked a room here at £29, which represents very good value.

Room was very clean and modern, with a comfortable bed.

Staff pleasant too. At this price you can't go wrong.

Minor downside was the breakfast at an expensive £9.95, where the ingredients seemed mass produced and bland.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your review

Great to see you enjoyed your stay, breakfast can be pre booked on arrival for £7.00 sorry you felt breakfast was bland bacon, sausage, Heinze baked beans, mushrooms cooked in hotel not mass produced. We do cook in batches as guests do not want to wait for food see previous comments, we do try and cook fresh during the morning.

Hope you will stay again soon

Regards
Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Three night stay while on nostalgia trip to childhood haunts. Ramada Encore is outstandingly good value. Tariffs were below Motels but standard and facilities were so much higher. Food, service, and cleanliness were of a very high standard and the friendliness and responsiveness of staff were
excellent. Loved the wet room style shower. Room heating can be a little
excessive till the radiator TRV is mastered and beds are on the firm side. Would not hesitate to return and thoroughly recommend this hotel to others. Thankyou Ramada staff for a memorable stay,

Stayed: November 2013
Thank fsnbfwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your review

See you soon

Regards

Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just off the M1 but far enough away that you aren't aware that it's there! 2 minutes off the road and your either "home" or on your way again. Perfect for me as a business traveller.
Bar friendly, food quietly and efficiently served. Generous portion size, good and hot.
Menu nothing exciting but there is another eatery and "pub" next door too.
Rooms clean and functional. Efficient showers rather than relaxing baths.......
Bed seemed a little short for my 6'2" don't understand why, tightly tucked in duvet maybe?
Duvet and the pillows are so soft that they seem to lack "substance" and comfort?
Nice temperature throughout the building on a cool autumn evening.
Generally well done and a budget/convenience recommendation.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thank you for your feedback

See you soon

Regards

Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Cannot complain about this hotel, very clean and well run, excellent breakfast, food really good, room functional and had all amenaties you would expect, beds comfortable, just too utility for more than one night.
Good position for road / motorway network

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Thanks for your feedback

Glad you enjoyed your stay, see you again soon

Regards

Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
542 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
382 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#5 of 8 in Barnsley
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
6.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
911 reviews
5.2 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: $55 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing