We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel stay i can remember!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Yorkshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Best value hotel stay i can remember!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I stayed overnight at the encore as i needed a local place to stay after visiting a friend. I booked via late rooms and paid 25 pounds. Amazing value for a nice, clean, modern hotel. I would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillipt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review

We look forward to seeing you again

New Menu coming soon so hope you will try our food again

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    231
    102
    44
    32
See reviews for
84
229
39
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

upon booking the hotel for business colleagues and myself over 6 nights were spent at this dreadful dull location.

the hotel i can only describle as a soul less effort.

the bar / restaurant has table and table and chairs dumped in it basically.. no thought to decor at all. it feels unwelcoming to say the least.

the food was average and somewhat taste less.

the broadband doesnt work at work nor does the wired connection in the bedroom..
the hotel is fully aware of this issue but in this day and era the hotel shouldnt be advertising boradband as for the past 18 months the hotel has known it doesnt work.. well it does work but it worse than dial up. if you need broadband don't stay here.


the hotel is value for money if you get the price..

the beds are rock hard and not comfotable...

the tv lacks channels and the screen is so small - the red plastic settee is so uncomfortable

its hardly an inviting place to relax and watch the tiny tv.

awful poor bedroom lighting - no thought put into this when the hotel was built.

we had to move rooms as well due to the train line at the back of hotel..

overall a convenient location but poor hotel with soul less appeal to it .

why anybosd would want this as their wedding venue here is beyond me.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegables1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

I am sorry you did not like our hotel during your stay, the brand is designed to have clean lines and be modern in its style, however i appriciate this will not suit all individuals tastes. our hub is designed to be open plan and the setting of our restaurant and bar area makes it convenient
for guests to view the Tv should they wish or have small areas away to have meetings or discussions I am sorry again if this was not to your tast.

All our bedrooms are furnished to our company brand standars, whilst some guests would prefer stronger lighting we have a green policy which we adher to in the hotel.

I have personally discussed the internet problems we have had with our guests and whilst the broadband does work It can be slowed down when guests are downloading films and programes, I appreciate this can be frustrating for all users. Discussions are being carried out with our IT providers to eliviate our problems and improve the service and I will post on Trip Advisor as soon as this has been carried out.


Regarding your comments abou the hotel being an unsuitable wedding venue, I can assure you we have held weddings in the hotel in the last 4 years and they have all been successful however I can apreciate that the modern design would not be to everybodies tast for such an accasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Last minute booking payed £25 for double room, bargain, very impressed with the room for the price, there's a Toby carvery next door which serves lovely food, we went Westfield shopping centre which was about 10 min drive, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kizzyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank You see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Just spent three nights at the Encore in Barnsley. It's a perfectly OK hotel really meant for business people of all kinds but it could be so much better. The reception area is big and bare and the restaurant is totally lacking in character. I'm a big fan of smaller areas with dividers or large plants to make it more user friendly. The staff are good especially the breakfast lady and the poor young night duty manager, Ben. Sadly we had a couple of problems. Firstly, two lights were not working in our room and it was very dark anyway. Very few hotels seem to get the lighting right. The second night however the lights had been fixed so all was looking good UNTIL the sound of water dripping. I wandered into the bathroom thinking it was the shower head but, no such luck. Instead water was pouring through the ceiling around one of the spotlights in the bathroom. Immediate phonecall to reception and Ben duly appeared. He had spoken to people in the room above us and apparently water was not draining away as it should but coming through their floor. He was apologetic and cleaned up the mess but did not seem to realise the danger of mixing water and electrics. When this was pointed out to him, he moved us into another room and, after some discussion and a call to his manager, eventually knocked some money off the bill for the inconvenience. I can't answer for the food other than the breakfast which was excellent. For other meals we crossed the car park to the Toby Carvery which is excellent value and, as a result, always very busy. The hotel does have good double glazing which is just as well since it is bounded by busy roads and a railway line. All in all, an interesting stay but we would have preferred a little less drama.

Room Tip: Good double glazing and soundproofing although there is always some inconsiderate idiot who will sla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boudicca_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your review

Unfortunatley the shower above you was a problem however this has now been fixed and electrical checked

Great to see Ben resolved and moved you

Hope to see you again

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2013

we only booked the 1 night but the staff were very friendly and helpful.
wife said both the mattress and pillows were too hard.
rooms were clean spacious and tidy.
biggest bugbear was the "free" wifi.
i could only get a signal when downstairs, not in my room, and no, it was not my network provider as both the wife and my son were on different networks and also had no signal.
mentioned this to steve (night manager nice bloke) and he said its in the process of being fixed.
apart from this, it wqs a nice pleasant stay in a far superior hotel to premier inn !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeremy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, General Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review

We are as Steve explained, having our internet updated very shortly, hope to see you soon

Regards

Dawne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I arrived later in the evening than originally planned due to traffic. Luckily the hotel is close to the motorway junction. Reception remembered me from previous stays. A table was quickly organised for dinner, the food arrived, as always of a good standard for what you pay. Drinks in the bar still reasonably priced.
Maintained a standard and stayed happy. I will return.
Great value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonymac1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perranporth
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here room only at the moment And the rooms are excellent and clean can hear noise from traffic outside but the glazing is so good you can't hear it when the window is closed our second night so far and having the best nights sleep in ages. looking at past reviews I think some people are being far too hard on this fabulous hotel we are staying at the moment in room 322

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
534 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#5 of 8 in Barnsley
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
5.2 mi away
Bagden Hall Hotel
Bagden Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Scissett
736 reviews
5.8 mi away
Staindrop Lodge
Staindrop Lodge
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Property: Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing