We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We booked a room here as we were attending one of the Xmas dinner & disco nights. Check in at reception was quick and painless. The room was very modern, spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The walk in shower in the bathroom was great and the glass faced bathroom walls were a bit quirky. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonchild484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

543 - 549 of 653 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

wanted quick night away arrived to find it very clean and lovely check in staff. room was very clean loved it never bothered with breakfast as up and away but enjoyed stay was excellant thanks defo recommend spotless and freindly

Room Tip: round the back overlooking railway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

booked a twin room! a twin room to me is to single beds and has been at other places visited. one double bed which was nt really big enough for two and a really uncomfortable single bed seatee. the quilt was a double folded in half i had to lay on half and try and cover up with the other half. they did offer another room for one of us on another floor which is defeating the point of going away together they should have told us this when booking. i would nt want the lady on reception working for me quite miserable and came across rude. the best thing was breakfast it was ok. if looking to book 'don t bother'

Room Tip: dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Venus31426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your fedback, I would like to apologise if you where missled, we do not have any Twin bedded rooms in our hotel and do not take reservations for this room type.

I have had some issues this month with coach trips arriving at the hotel expecting twin rooms, the travel company who has been selling the trips has not advised its customers and we have had to deal with this when guests arrived. I have passed these comments back to the coach trip providers.

Thank you again for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

One night stay at ramada encore Barnsley. Hotel was busy but check in completed swiftly by obliging staff. Clean functional room at the rear of the property overlooking the railway line. Only disturbed once by a train at 4am but otherwise no problems. Breakfast is good with a selection of cereals, hot buffet yoghurts etc but I would like to see a selection of fresh berries and other fruits rather than tinned grapefruit and oranges. But for the price you can't beat it. No access to wi fi in my room as I was right at the of the corridor so I guess it was in a blackspot.I couldn't get back into my room for some strange reason with key card and neither could the maid, but reception came up quickly and sorted it all out. All in all, I would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JULES1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your review, we do not have WiFi in the guest bedrooms it is hard wired only.

Look forward to seeing you again

Thanks

Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Spent 2 nights at this hotel, as part of Ramada's £20/night promotion. Had a nice room on the 2nd floor - new, clean & pretty spacious (larger than most Premier Inn/ Travelodge rooms). Whilst the hotel is very close to the M1, we didn't really notice any noise. There was a railway line just below the room, but there are only 2 (small trains) an hour - not a problem.

As others have said, the internet is disappointing - can't get wi-fi from the room, & the wired connection proved pretty slow (surprising for what looks primarily a business hotel). There was also a very limited choice of TV channels - not sure why they don't have the normal freeview ones.

Didn't eat at the hotel, but noticed that the pub next door does pretty cheap meals, especially breakfast (& free wi-fi) - so you do have a choice if you're not happy with what the hotel has to offer. Also a nice chip shop about 5 minutes walk away.

Only about 10 minutes away from Barnsley on the bus - but buy a single ticket only - we got a day return only to find that you can't use them on different number buses. Easier to go by car.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lettyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you

See you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed overnight on business. The room was very well laid out and clean. The bed was comfortable. Unfortunately this hotel was very badly let down by it's poor quality, poor selection breakfast.
When we arrived for breakfast, we were pointed into a small corner of the hotel where 2 others were seated and shown a small portable buffet unit. On this buffet unit were 2 sausages, baked beans, 3 rashers of greasy bacon, 2 potato waffles, no mushrooms, no eggs, no fried bread.
Their were 2 small bowls containing tinned grapefruit and that was the extent of the fruit selection. Unfortunately, guests who take the common Simvastatin are unable to eat grapefruit and had no alternative choice. The cereal selection was equally poor. Bread for toast existed which you cook yourself and coffee from the machine wasn't too bad. By the time we had finished our cereal, a 4th & 5th guest had arrived and removed what was left of the cooked breakfast. We had to ask for more to be cooked. The hotel representative at breakfast looked puzzled and asked why. We explained and showed her the empty buffet. 4 greasy sausages and 4 bits of greasy bacon arrived to the buffet but still no eggs or mushrooms or even tomatos. At this point we gave up and made toast.
We felt this hotel was badly let down purely on their breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

This review is not the Ramada Encore Barnsley.

We do not have a portable buffet and we have never served waffles at any time

Sorry you did not have a good breakfast you need to stay with us next time

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Don't stay in room 106. When I opened the room door, there was distinct smell of chip fat. My first instinct was to open the window - big mistake. The smell of burnt old chip fat oil was almost overpowering. I decided to sleep with the window closed. Had to fall asleep with the TV on to drown out the motorway noise. In the morning i had a look to see where the smell came from and discovered 12 Biffa industrial bins just below the window.

No WiFi in the room

On a positive note, room was clean and breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the motorway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EncoreBarnsley, Manager at Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay, the 12 bins below your room ccontained glass not oil however you did have a room overlooking the kitchen vents and the motorway we can allocate you a room away from the motorway on your next stay

Thank you again for your feedback

Regards

Dawne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dodworth
0.8 mi away
The Fairway, Barnsley
The Fairway, Barnsley
#3 of 3 in Dodworth
410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Barnsley
Holiday Inn Barnsley
#2 of 3 in Dodworth
572 reviews
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Barnsley
Travelodge Barnsley
#4 of 8 in Barnsley
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
Best Western Hotel St Pierre
#1 of 1 in Newmillerdam
949 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tankersley Manor Hotel - QHotels
4.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield/Barnsley (M1 Jct36) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel

Address: Whinby Road | Barnsley M1, Dodworth, Barnsley S75 3TX, England (Formerly Ramada Encore Barnsley)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Barnsley > Dodworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dodworth
Price Range: $53 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Styles Barnsley is a newly refurbished hotel with an individual design. Modern and contemporary designs to relax and enjoy. Open plan restaurant and bar area. Rooms include Sweet bed by Ibis styles, together with 32" TV, Tea and coffee making facilities also a wet room shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Styles Barnsley hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Encore Barnsley Hotel Dodworth
Ibis Styles Barnsley Hotel Dodworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing