We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Burslem”
Review of George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I went to Burslem for an overnight stay to meet some friends and booked into The George Hotel. The staff were very helpful and the bar area was busy with a wedding in progress and looked quite inviting.
The single room I had was in need of some serious TLC. The furniture was tatty, the décor a bit shabby and my TV didn't work (not a biggie as I was only staying overnight).
Overall, I think the hotel is a bit pricey for it's standard. I've stayed in may cheaper hotels and even B&Bs that offer much better appointed rooms.
I would stay there again though entirely for the location - slap bang in the middle of the town and so very close to a great oatcake shop.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les_Vegas007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 283 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Very poor, Mould in bathroom toilet not flushing urine stained bed throw noisiest heating pipes in the world returned one and only meal taken in hotel it was shocking wouldnt feed it to a homeless person internet (what internet)

Room Tip: Would advise to stay clear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Taffjones118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

well arrived at the George and greeted by a very helpful receptionist, then it went down hill room well not the best and not the worst one poer point hidden behind 2 nd bed and hard to boil kettle.
Bar area good and friendly again very helpful receptionist doubling up, we had bookings for the Theatre at 1930 so wanted a meal at around 1800 so went to the restaurant but...........no chef they had none until at leats 1830-1840 too late for meal so went to the theatre.
Bed comfy..........now breakfast.well well wot a shocker......and me being a chef i would not have plated something up like that it was like a dogs breakfast over cooked eggs, one lousy basic sausage, no mushrooms (sorry didnt have any) tinned tomatoes gone to mush and bacon cooked at least one hour earlier..................and charged £8.00.never again

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glennlevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Bedroom was very clean and tidy. Bathroom a little dated but again very clean and most importantly a good shower. Bar and Dining Rooms of a good standard with lovely plasterwork on walls and ceilings. Corridors leading to rooms in need of slight repair but who spends time in the corridors!
Staff were very friendly but seemed to go missing at times! Covering Bar and Reception?
Overall, good accommodation, well priced and in the centre of Burslem. Would be more than happy to stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Claire N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

An unpretentious traditional hotel with plenty of character. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. My room was clean and spacious but I had to swap rooms initially because the free wi-fi can't reach all the rooms in the hotel. The en suite bathroom was basic. The facilities clearly updating. Nevertheless, I had a pleasant enough stay and, as the Stoke-on-Trent area isn't blessed with a large number of good hotels, I would be happy to stay at the George again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Just returned from staying at the George on a business trip, First impressions are it needs a good upgrade, But apart from that the staff were great and helpful, room was clean and tidy and huge! bed comfy and we had a great steak, Breakfast was good. Overall would we stay again and all three of that stayed said yes we would. I cannot comment on room cost as company paid but I found the drink and food prices ok!

Room Tip: Executive rooms are extremely spacious, get booked in early as carpark fills up quick, and on road p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Garryh92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Hi hotel stayed there two night what a hole wall paper coming off twine room was dated some think from the carry on really bad told them about heating for two day all I got was do you want another blanket keep well away from this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank billbo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burslem
1.5 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke-On-Trent (Hanley) Hotel
2.4 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
578 reviews
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Stoke on Trent Trentham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Swan Square, Burslem, Stoke-on-Trent ST6 2AE, England (Formerly Swallow)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Stoke-on-Trent > Burslem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burslem
Price Range: $53 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Stoke On Trent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing